This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Missing 'Paste' Context menu item

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NewUser
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 3:06 pm    Post subject: Missing 'Paste' Context menu item Reply with quote

Problem: When the user cuts (or copies) a file using the context menu, and attempts to paste it (in any column), 'Paste' is missing from the context menu. The only way to paste is to use 'Ctrl+V'

Expected action: 'Paste' is available in the context menu after 'Copy' or 'Cut' command.

Actual result: 'Paste' is missing from the context menu.

Notes:
1. The only way to paste is to use 'Ctrl+V'.
2. Ideally, the context menu items should always include at least those available in Windows XP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8025
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW I see 'Paste' menu item when I do a right click on free space of any panel (and even on file) after copying a file.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2148

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't get Paste (context menu) if a file is selected. If you are using NC Mouse Mode it can make getting the Paste on the context menu a bit tricky at times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8025
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really in any mouse mode I don't see 'Paste' if I'm clicking on file, only when I'm clicking on empty panel space (just like in Windows Explorer) or folder (in this case file(s) will be pasted to this folder).

BTW I found interesting thing - if I copy file(s) and then use right-click on executable, LNK or BAT file, I see 'Paste' and when I paste file(s), Windows just passes names as parameters.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35712
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also right click on the panel title showing the current path to choose "Paste2.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2148

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting thing I just found with Explorer, you can drag files onto a binary or .cmd

ie:TestDropCopy.cmd
Code:
@ECHO OFF
:LOOP
FOR /F "usebackq delims=?" %%L IN ('%1') DO (
   COPY "%%L" "%%L".bak
)
SHIFT
IF "%~1" NEQ "" GOTO:LOOP

Dragging any selection of files onto that .cmd file will use those files as input. Be cool if TC could do this as well.

It's also easier to get the Paste context menu in Explorer as the only place a file will get selected from right click is when the mouse is directly over the file, as opposed to the Whole Line in TC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8025
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Balderstrom wrote:
Interesting thing I just found with Explorer, you can drag files onto a binary or .cmd

I knew it, filenames are passed as parameters. But I didn't know that it is possible to paste copied files 'into' executables or batch files as I wrote two-three posts above. Very Happy
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.5x(a) final bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group