Button to change file timestamp to current (touch a file)

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath »

Hi, I solved the whole thing in this way

1. got the free touch utility from http://www.helge.mynetcologne.de
2. packed it with UPX to gain some disk space (optional)
3. Created a button using lst2multi program http://clubtotal.free.fr/tc_tools.html

Code: Select all

Command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\lst2mlt.exe
Parameters: /X:"d:\wincmd\Tools\Touch.exe" /L:%L /P
Start Path: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\
Icon: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Icons\IconsST.dll
Customize paths it as you like
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

2Nigurrath
Thank you for the solution. At the beginning of this thread you can read about a similar solution, but yours could be slightly better.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!
User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9536
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2Nigurrath

What about this:

Code: Select all

Command: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\lst2mlt.exe /X:"%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\Touch.exe"
Parameters: /L:%L /P
Start Path: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\
Icon: %COMMANDER_PATH%\Icons\IconsST.dll
User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath »

2Lefteous
Humm,
I remember that I tried to do like you're proposing, but the list2multi doesn't expand the environment variables, or at least the latest version I had when did this trick..
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13142
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

TC itself should expand the variable...

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
User avatar
Nigurrath
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:41 UTC

Post by *Nigurrath »

Ok..I haven't realized it. It effectively works!
TAL
always latest 32b TC on a WIN10 64b
IGL
Member
Member
Posts: 179
Joined: 2004-02-26, 10:47 UTC
Location: Poland

Alternative solution for changing file stamp to current

Post by *IGL »

Going back to first question:
Can I achive this? I want to have a button to change the date/time of a file to current (touch the file), as if I edited and saved it.
If you do not use it VERY frequently you may ignore those plugin and try the following:

Select all files that you want to change (you can even use "Find Files" and then "feed to listbox" and mark files) Then press:
Alt, F, C, U, Enter = menu File/Change attributes/ press "Current" button, OK.
It takes about 1 or 2 seconds to do that (if you like to use keyboard).

It works with files and directories.
It can be applied to subdirectories too (select "Recursive subdirectories")

I guess it might be faster than running an external program to change timestamp, but I haven't tested it.
Last edited by IGL on 2004-02-27, 07:33 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
:-)
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Alternative solution for changing file stamp to current

Post by *Sheepdog »

IGL wrote: Then press:
Alt, F, C, U, Enter = menu File/Change attributes/ press "Current" button, OK.
The trick is to do it with one click.

sheepdog
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13142
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

That's what Aezay's TC Script Editor has been made for, I guess...

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
IGL
Member
Member
Posts: 179
Joined: 2004-02-26, 10:47 UTC
Location: Poland

I admit script is the best!

Post by *IGL »

Hacker wrote:That's what Aezay's TC Script Editor has been made for, I guess...
Indeed,
I admit you are right. The script is the best solution.

I just provided this alternative as a hint for those who would like to achieve similiar effect but do not need to do it with one click only (if you don't use it too frequently it might be enough).
Forgive me :oops: I do not say that script is worse. It' s best if you want to do it quickly with just one click ! :)
:-)
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13142
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

Nobody said your idea was bad... I just enhanced it in a way to be usable by one click. :)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
IGL
Member
Member
Posts: 179
Joined: 2004-02-26, 10:47 UTC
Location: Poland

Thanks, I like this forum

Post by *IGL »

Thanks,

//I like this forum :D
:-)
Post Reply