[WFX] Android ADB 8.8

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-10-09, 21:32 UTC

Post by *Orochi »

I can't seem to make this plugin work.
Do I have to have wireless network card in order to use this plugin?

Thanks.
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

Orochi wrote:I can't seem to make this plugin work.
Do I have to have wireless network card in order to use this plugin?

Thanks.
These are the requirements you need to meet.

- Enabled "Android debugging" on your device
- Device connected to USB with proper drivers (an ADB device must be listed in Windows Devices)
- WiFi ADB (a rooted device with the "WiFi ADB" app downloaded from Google Play)

You need to be on your LAN (WiFi or Ethernet cable) with your computer if you want to use the WiFi ADB. You should look it up on Google how to do that with your phone.
User avatar
BudCord
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: 2003-02-25, 08:18 UTC

Post by *BudCord »

I have a rooted LG Optimus 3x HD / P880 with Stock-ROM (locked bootloader).
The phone does not have a UMS-mode, so the access to the internal memory runs through Andoid ADB.

Yesterday I added a 32GB SD card. Total Commander for Android shows it as "SD card (2)."
With the Android APK x32 under Windows 7 x64 this card appears nowhere.
Is there any solution for this problem?

Android APK is the way my current favorite plugin for Total Commander. Thanks for that! :D
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

BudCord wrote:I have a rooted LG Optimus 3x HD / P880 with Stock-ROM (locked bootloader).
The phone does not have a UMS-mode, so the access to the internal memory runs through Andoid ADB.

Yesterday I added a 32GB SD card. Total Commander for Android shows it as "SD card (2)."
With the Android APK x32 under Windows 7 x64 this card appears nowhere.
Is there any solution for this problem?

Android APK is the way my current favorite plugin for Total Commander. Thanks for that! :D
If you can access the files and directories with the ADB plugin and the sdcard works in the phone itself it must be accessible via the ADB plugin too. It is only a matter of finding where where it was mounted.

Usually it is all under
/mnt/
or
/storage/
User avatar
BudCord
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: 2003-02-25, 08:18 UTC

Post by *BudCord »

jakubklos wrote:... It is only a matter of finding where where it was mounted.
After pointing out that the card must be found, I searched via Alt + F7 for a known file on the second SD-Card.
The internal, fixed SD-Card shows up 3 times in system.

:idea: Very tricky: It has a mount point in the first SD-Card:

Code: Select all

Internal SD-Card:
\\\ADB\LG-P880\data\media\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\

2. SD-Card:
\\\ADB\LG-P880\data\media\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\external_sd\
By the way:
When I start the search with Alt + F7, fill in a search term and click on Start, the backup dialog from the Android ADB opens.
I click on "Close", the floating menu with "Reboot, ..." and a CMD shell with "shell@android :/ $" appear.
After a mouse click beside these windows the search starts.
A second search in any window can't be carried out before TotalCommander is restarted.
Bug or feature?
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

BudCord wrote:
jakubklos wrote:... It is only a matter of finding where where it was mounted.
After pointing out that the card must be found, I searched via Alt + F7 for a known file on the second SD-Card.
The internal, fixed SD-Card shows up 3 times in system.

:idea: Very tricky: It has a mount point in the first SD-Card:

Code: Select all

Internal SD-Card:
\\\ADB\LG-P880\data\media\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\

2. SD-Card:
\\\ADB\LG-P880\data\media\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\external_sd\
By the way:
When I start the search with Alt + F7, fill in a search term and click on Start, the backup dialog from the Android ADB opens.
I click on "Close", the floating menu with "Reboot, ..." and a CMD shell with "shell@android :/ $" appear.
After a mouse click beside these windows the search starts.
A second search in any window can't be carried out before TotalCommander is restarted.
Bug or feature?
Hm... that is not intentional for sure. I will try to find a workaround to this. It is caused by entering the ".*" folders which show the dialogs when opened. I will see what I can do but I am afraid I have tried to solve this in the past but could not.
User avatar
BudCord
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: 2003-02-25, 08:18 UTC

Post by *BudCord »

The problem with the wildcard search is solved in version 4.6! :D
Search results on the external SD card are found twice in the pathes:

Code: Select all

\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\external_sd\
Thank you!
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

BudCord wrote:The problem with the wildcard search is solved in version 4.6! :D
Search results on the external SD card are found twice in the pathes:

Code: Select all

\\\ADB\LG-P880\mnt\sdcard\external_sd\
\\\ADB\LG-P880\sdcard\external_sd\
Thank you!
Ok, good. Regarding the paths it is simply symlinks on your device. Not related to the plugin
User avatar
BudCord
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: 2003-02-25, 08:18 UTC

Post by *BudCord »

jakubklos wrote:... Not related to the plugin
That was more of a note for others who seek their second memory card as I did.
Make it idiotproof and someone will make a better idiot.
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-10-09, 21:32 UTC

Post by *Orochi »

jakubklos wrote: These are the requirements you need to meet.

- Enabled "Android debugging" on your device
- Device connected to USB with proper drivers (an ADB device must be listed in Windows Devices)
- WiFi ADB (a rooted device with the "WiFi ADB" app downloaded from Google Play)

You need to be on your LAN (WiFi or Ethernet cable) with your computer if you want to use the WiFi ADB. You should look it up on Google how to do that with your phone.
I read the requirements before in the readme file.
I have all the required conditions satisfied and yet I can't seem to make the plugin work.

Is there step by step guide?
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

Orochi wrote:
jakubklos wrote: These are the requirements you need to meet.

- Enabled "Android debugging" on your device
- Device connected to USB with proper drivers (an ADB device must be listed in Windows Devices)
- WiFi ADB (a rooted device with the "WiFi ADB" app downloaded from Google Play)

You need to be on your LAN (WiFi or Ethernet cable) with your computer if you want to use the WiFi ADB. You should look it up on Google how to do that with your phone.
I read the requirements before in the readme file.
I have all the required conditions satisfied and yet I can't seem to make the plugin work.

Is there step by step guide?
Still not sure if you want to use WiFi ADB or USB ADB but since you asked about the Wireless card I assume it is WiFi ADB.

1. Your device must be rooted
2. You must have the WiFi ADB app
3. Start the app and click [Start] it will display an IP and port
4. Start TC and click Alt+F1 then "" (Backslash)
5. You will see the ADB plugin there so enter the plugin
6. Now you can use the Connect To Device item and enter the IP:port
or F7 (to make a bookmark)

It should work. The rest is up to you.
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-10-09, 21:32 UTC

Post by *Orochi »

jakubklos

I appreciate you taking the time to explain the step by step process.

Like before I am stuck at step # 5 (5. You will see the ADB plugin there so enter the plugin )
I can't enter the plugin. Nothing happens.

EDIT: I tried the same steps in TCx64 bit and it worked right away.
The question is why doesn't it work on 32bit commander.
jakubklos
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: 2012-07-11, 14:48 UTC

Post by *jakubklos »

Orochi wrote:jakubklos

I appreciate you taking the time to explain the step by step process.

Like before I am stuck at step # 5 (5. You will see the ADB plugin there so enter the plugin )
I can't enter the plugin. Nothing happens.

EDIT: I tried the same steps in TCx64 bit and it worked right away.
The question is why doesn't it work on 32bit commander.
Not sure, I am myself using TC 32bit version on Win6 x64. So it is the scenario that does not work for you. You could enable the debug logging and see what happens there.
Orochi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-10-09, 21:32 UTC

Post by *Orochi »

jakubklos wrote: Not sure, I am myself using TC 32bit version on Win6 x64. So it is the scenario that does not work for you. You could enable the debug logging and see what happens there.
Problem solved. I installed Universal naked driver (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1766220) and now it works on 32bit commander as well.

Thank you again for your help and your wonderful plugin. :)
baturin
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2006-03-28, 09:22 UTC

Post by *baturin »

jakubklos wrote:
baturin wrote:Hello!

I have installed ADB plugin (different versions, 32 bit TC now on win8 x64, but some time ago on win7 x64 wit the same problem), it can see the android device connected via usb (SGSII), but I am not able to upload, rename, create folders anywhere (through ADB plugin). The device should be rooted properly (apps which require root are working smoothly).

What can be a reason of such behavior?
Thanks in advance!
Hi,
frankly I don't know. You should be able to make any changes on your sdcard.
It would be best if you send me your debug logs. That will tell me exactly what is going on there. Either it is permission based or there is some other problem...
Let me know
Sorry for a long reply.

Deleting a file:

Code: Select all

ADB Write: host:transport:192.168.1.5:5555
ADB Read: OKAY
ADB Write: shell:busybox rm -f "/mnt/sdcard/foursquare_photo_tmp_camera.jpg"
ADB Read: OKAY
ADB Read Data: rm: can't stat '/mnt/sdcard/foursquare_photo_tmp_camera.jpg': Value too large for defined data type
Creating a dir:

Code: Select all

ADB Write: host:transport:192.168.1.5:5555
ADB Read: OKAY
ADB Write: shell:busybox mkdir -p "/mnt/sdcard/1"
ADB Read: OKAY
ADB Read Data: mkdir: can't create directory '/mnt/sdcard/': Value too large for defined data type
and dir listing:

Code: Select all

ADB Write: shell:ls -l "/mnt/sdcard/"
ADB Read: OKAY
ADB Read Data: -rwxrwxr-x system   sdcard_rw        1 2012-11-01 22:34 1.txt
etc
I am not able to create or copy any fine by TC interface. But I am able to create a file by using shell commands and modify created file.
Plugin is just updated to 4.6. Wifi ADB. Same with USB ADB.
[/code]
Post Reply