Windows 10 Mobile - FTP

Currently in public beta: Windows Phone version

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Windows 10 Mobile - FTP

Post by *aleunge » 2016-01-19, 19:53 UTC

Hi guys, anyone else run into issues using FTP in Total Commander under W10M? I can make connections and the connection pop up window shows it's being connected and all is well. It's just after it's connected, I'm still left at the same screen (with all the connection shortcuts). I don't get to see a list of folders/files... often it even becomes unresponsive after.

Anyone got FTP working?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-01-21, 11:01 UTC

What type of server are you trying to connect to? TC for Windows Phone should be able to access the same servers as the Android and Windows versions.

Maybe you can see something in the log. To create a log, please do the following:
1. Go to the folder/library "Video"
2. Create a new folder named: totalcommanderlog
3. Open the task list by long tapping on "<-"
4. Close Total Commander
5. Start Total Commander and try to log in
-> a file log.txt should be created in the above folder.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-01-21, 22:27 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:What type of server are you trying to connect to? TC for Windows Phone should be able to access the same servers as the Android and Windows versions.

Maybe you can see something in the log. To create a log, please do the following:
1. Go to the folder/library "Video"
2. Create a new folder named: totalcommanderlog
3. Open the task list by long tapping on "<-"
4. Close Total Commander
5. Start Total Commander and try to log in
-> a file log.txt should be created in the above folder.
Thanks for your reply. Appreciate it :)

It's just a pretty run of the mill FTP server. I've tried a few with the same results (works fine everywhere else, including another FTP client in the Windows Phone/10M store). Here's also the log (I connected to the server and like I said before, I don't get a directory list as it just stays at the FTP shortcut screen even after I've connected. You can see I tapped the shortcut a couple of times more. Last time freezes the app):

2016-01-21 14:15:24 Get directory: / 2016-01-21 14:15:27 Get directory: /xxxx
2016-01-21 14:15:27 Connecting...
2016-01-21 14:15:27 Connect, waiting for login...
2016-01-21 14:15:27 220 ProFTPD 1.3.3g Server (Main FTP Server) [xx.xx.xx.xx]
2016-01-21 14:15:28 USER xxxxx
2016-01-21 14:15:28 Logging in...
2016-01-21 14:15:28 331 Password required for xxxxx
2016-01-21 14:15:35 PASS *****
2016-01-21 14:15:36 230 User xxxxx logged in
2016-01-21 14:15:36 OPTS UTF8 ON
2016-01-21 14:15:37 500 OPTS UTF8 not understood
2016-01-21 14:15:37 SYST
2016-01-21 14:15:38 215 UNIX Type: L8
2016-01-21 14:15:38 CWD /
2016-01-21 14:15:38 Connect OK!
2016-01-21 14:15:38 250 CWD command successful
2016-01-21 14:15:38 Get directory...
2016-01-21 14:15:39 TYPE A
2016-01-21 14:15:39 200 Type set to A
2016-01-21 14:15:39 PASV
2016-01-21 14:15:39 227 Entering Passive Mode (xx,xx,xx,xx,xx,xx).
2016-01-21 14:15:39 LIST
2016-01-21 14:15:39 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
2016-01-21 14:15:39 Get directory...
2016-01-21 14:15:44 Get directory: /xxxx
2016-01-21 14:15:44 Get directory... 2016-01-21 14:15:45 PASV
2016-01-21 14:16:10 226 Transfer complete
2016-01-21 14:16:16 Get directory: /xxxx
2016-01-21 14:16:16 Get directory...
2016-01-21 14:16:16 Flush:227 Entering Passive Mode (xx,xx,xx,xx,xx,xx).
2016-01-21 14:16:16 PASV
2016-01-21 14:16:16 227 Entering Passive Mode (xx,xx,xx,xx,xx,xx).
2016-01-21 14:16:16 LIST
2016-01-21 14:16:16 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
2016-01-21 14:16:16 Get directory...

Thanks again guys.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-01-25, 09:55 UTC

Is the address shown in the line "227 Entering Passive Mode" the same as the one shown in this line:
220 ProFTPD 1.3.3g Server (Main FTP Server) [xx.xx.xx.xx]

I ask because it seems that the control connection works, but the data connections to get the actual directory list fails.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-01-25, 10:25 UTC

Yes, it is the same IP. The later lines do have the the exact same IP but with two extra numbers following them (E.g. Xx, xx, xx, xx, 196, 104 where the xs indicate the IP). Not sure if that is important.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-01-28, 10:07 UTC

The two extra numbers are the port: FTP uses port 21 for the control connections (to send commands to the server), and random ports between 1024 and 65535 for the actual data transfers.

It looks like you only opened port 21 in your firewall. You will need to do the following:
1. In the server settings, set a fixed range of at least 1000 ports for passive mode, e.g. 30000-31000.
2. Allow and forward these ports in addition to port 21 from the firewall to your server.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-02-11, 10:45 UTC

Thanks for that. I did some more testing but don't think it's a firewall issue. I found that it's only with one FTP server that I'm running into issues (another one I tested is a go :D ). Strange thing is that the issue with no directory listing/stuck screen only exists when I log into the server without a folder option (i.e. root). When I specify a folder, it logs on and lists files just fine. It's a bummer though since accessing root can be important. I've yet to run into this issue with every FTP client I've used (mFTP 2 on Windows Phone/W10M works fine, on other platforms WinSCP/Filezilla/Cyberduck/Fetch/etc.) Any other ideas?

Thanks again.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-02-11, 10:49 UTC

You probably don't have the necessary user rights to access the root on this server.

You can set a directory in the FTP settings too (after the host name): servername.com/directory
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-02-11, 10:58 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:You probably don't have the necessary user rights to access the root on this server.

You can set a directory in the FTP settings too (after the host name): servername.com/directory
I do have complete user rights to access the root on this server. Like I said, mFTP works fine on my W10M and all clients I've used works accessing root. It's only Total Commander that somehow can not list files after logging in. But when I do specify a folder, no problem.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-02-11, 11:17 UTC

According to the log, the server goes to the root when TC sends
CWD /
but the LIST command then tries to get the directory for folder /xxxx:

Get directory: /xxxx
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-02-11, 11:27 UTC

Sorry I may have censored the wrong part. The first set of xxxx you see was just the name of the shortcut. I just ran another test (short is named "Test") and here is what the log says:

2016-02-11 03:20:33 LIST 2016-02-11 03:20:33 SYST
2016-02-11 03:20:35 Get directory: /Test
2016-02-11 03:20:35 Get directory...
2016-02-11 03:20:35 PASV
2016-02-11 03:21:01 226 Transfer complete

Does this say anything? It was still stuck at the FTP shortcut screen.

aleunge
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2016-01-19, 19:50 UTC

Post by *aleunge » 2016-04-28, 18:24 UTC

Fixed after the update out today! Thanks guys... Ftp working great now.

Post Reply