Smooth scrolling sometime is on

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
vassapup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-02-12, 21:50 UTC

Smooth scrolling sometime is on

Post by *vassapup » 2016-03-14, 15:17 UTC

Hello!
There is rare bug that occurs from 10-20 times per day to 1 per week.
The system performance options "smooth scrolling" is off, but it rarely turns on only for a Total Commander window (so, there's no smooth scrolling i.e. for IE simultaneously!) when I just switch between applications.
If there several TC windows are opened and the bug occured, I've even seen that sometimes there is the bag in one TC window and no bug in others TC instances!
When the bug is happened I must turn smooth scrolling on and then off in system settings (OS is Windows XP sp3 x86), this is very annoying.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3058
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-03-14, 17:26 UTC

To my knowledge the is no Smooth scrolling setting in TC.
So you may better search for mouse driver and related tools updates.

vassapup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-02-12, 21:50 UTC

Post by *vassapup » 2016-03-14, 18:01 UTC

the is no Smooth scrolling setting in TC
Yes, Total Commander uses system setting "Smooth scrolling".
So you may better search for mouse driver and related tools updates.
No. I've had this bug many times on different computers for several years. It is started somewhere in 8.5+.
All this time I thought that other programs are to blame, but now I can definitely say that the TC is to blame because
1) The system setting "smooth scrolling" stays turned off.
2) I've never seen the bug in any other application.
3) Once occured, the bug subjected only TC (and only one window if there are many TC windows) but no other programs.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11022
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2016-03-14, 20:49 UTC

vassapup,
now I can definitely say that the TC is to blame because
1) The system setting "smooth scrolling" stays turned off.
2) I've never seen the bug in any other application.
3) Once occured, the bug subjected only TC (and only one window if there are many TC windows) but no other programs.
Does not necessarily mean the bug is in TC.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-03-14, 21:04 UTC

I can confirm a similar behavior which I've had for over a year now. Smooth scrolling (aka listbox animation) enables itself while using TC. However, on my system it is enabled for ALL windows, not just TC.

So far I've tracked it down to the Lister plugins, though I don't know which one it really is. I played a little bit with their priority (and temporarily disabled some of them using TC Plugins Manager), and the issue hasn't been reoccuring so far. So, I suggest to do the same.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

vassapup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-02-12, 21:50 UTC

Post by *vassapup » 2016-03-18, 12:54 UTC

Dalai wrote:So far I've tracked it down to the Lister plugins, though I don't know which one it really is.
Thanks!

I disabled this plugins in [ListerPlugins] section:
MKInfoLS.wlx
APK.wdx
TCMediaInfo.wdx

and up to now I haven't seen this bug. I suspect TCMediaInfo as a source of the bug.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-03-18, 13:14 UTC

2vassapup
Interesting. I've suspected a different plugin as the culprit: LinkInfo. Anyway, here's my list of Lister plugins (_detect lines removed):

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\LinkInfo\LinkInfo.wlx
1=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\SynWrite\Syn2.wlx
2=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\PEViewer\PEViewer.wlx
3=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\FileInfo\FileInfo.wlx
4=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\Imagine\Imagine.wlx
5=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\VisualDirSize\visualdirsize.wlx
6=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\EventLog\EventLog.wlx
Maybe you use/have some of them as well, so we might be able to track it down further.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

vassapup
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2015-02-12, 21:50 UTC

Post by *vassapup » 2016-03-18, 14:00 UTC

My plugins list is:
0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\doc-office\office.wlx
0_detect="EXT="DOC" | "XLS""
1=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\doc\listdoc.wlx
1_detect="EXT="DOC""
2=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\xls\excellence.wlx
2_detect="EXT="XLS""
3=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\Aml\AmlView.wlx
3_detect="EXT="APD""
4=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\iclview\iclview.wlx
4_detect="EXT="EXE" | "DLL""
5=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\docOffice2007\Office2007.wlx
5_detect="ext="DOCX" | ext="PPTX" | ext="XLSX"| ext="PPSX""
6=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\SQLiteViewer\SQLiteViewer.wlx
6_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="DB" | ext="DB3" | ext="SQLITE" | ext="SQLITE3" | ext="FOSSIL""
;7=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wlx\MKInfo\MKInfoLS.wlx
;7_detect="MULTIMEDIA & (EXT="MKV" | EXT="MKA" | EXT="WEBM" | EXT="3GP" | EXT="ASF" | EXT="WMV" | EXT="FLV" | EXT="M2TS" | EXT="MOV" | EXT="MP4" | EXT="MPEG" | EXT="MPG" | EXT="QT" | EXT="RM" | EXT="TP" | EXT="TS" | EXT="VOB" | EXT="AVI")"
;8=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wdx\APK-wdx\APK.wdx
;8_detect="EXT="APK""
;9=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Plugins\wdx\TCMediaInfo\TCMediaInfo.wdx
;9_detect="MULTIMEDIA | FORCE"

I will enable disabled items one by one to check which one is buggy. But it will take days to weeks to test them because I have no idea which exact action cause the bug (it occurs spontaneously).

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8032
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2016-03-18, 16:59 UTC

Here are my Lister plugins - and I have never experienced this bug:

0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\jpegthumbs\jpegthumbs.wlx
1=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ICLView\ICLView.wlx
2=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\imagine\Imagine.wlx
3=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\SGViewer\SGViewer.wlx
4=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ImgView\ImgView.wlx
5=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\DirSizeCalc Charts\DirSizeCalcCharts.wlx
6=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\VisualDirSize\visualdirsize.wlx
7=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\mmedia\mmedia.wlx
8=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\SWFView\SWFView.wlx
9=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\FlashView\FlashView.wlx
10=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\swfListerLite\swfll.wlx
11=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\swfLister\swflst.wlx
12=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\tcCalendar\tcCld.wlx
13=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Font\Font.wlx
14=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\TTFViewer\TTFViewer.wlx
15=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\fileinfo\fileinfo.wlx
16=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\EML\wlx_eml.wlx
17=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Excellence\excellence.wlx
18=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\RedCell\RedCell.wlx
19=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Office\office.wlx
20=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Office2007\Office2007.wlx
21=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\HTMLView\HTMLView.wlx
22=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\IEView\ieview.wlx
23=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ListDoc\listdoc.wlx
24=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Syn2\Syn2.wlx
25=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\URLView\urlview.wlx
26=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WCX\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
27=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\slister\slister.wlx

This if my 32-bit plugins - my 64-bit plugins is a subset uf these.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-03-18, 17:35 UTC

The plugin priority/order has something to do with it. Normally I list specialized plugins first (SynWrite, LinkInfo etc) so the other plugins only get loaded when necessary. Since I have this issue I've changed the plugin order - the issue might occur more often or never, depending on it.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8032
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2016-03-18, 19:23 UTC

A lot of my plugins are set up to only load when forced (id_detect="force"), this way they are only loaded after pressing "4" one or more times.

0=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\jpegthumbs\jpegthumbs.wlx
0_detect="ext="THM""
1=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ICLView\ICLView.wlx
1_detect="MULTIMEDIA & (ext="DLL" | ext="EXE" | ext="ICL" | ext="ICL32" | ext="ICO" | size=0 | force)"
2=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\imagine\Imagine.wlx
2_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
3=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\SGViewer\SGViewer.wlx
3_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="BMP"|ext="JPG"|ext="JPE"|ext="JPEG"|ext="PNG"|ext="GIF"|ext="TIF"|ext="TIFF"|ext="PSD"|ext="TGA"|ext="PCX"|ext="PCD"|ext="PSP"|ext="WMF"|ext="EMF""
4=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ImgView\ImgView.wlx
4_detect="MULTIMEDIA & (EXT="BMP" | EXT="EMF" | EXT="EPS" | EXT="GIF" | EXT="ICO" | EXT="JPG" | EXT="PCX" | EXT="PIC" | EXT="PNG" | EXT="PSD" | EXT="PSP" | EXT="SCR" | EXT="SGI" | EXT="TGA" | EXT="TIF" | EXT="WMF")"
5=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\DirSizeCalc Charts\DirSizeCalcCharts.wlx
6=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\VisualDirSize\visualdirsize.wlx
6_detect="EXT="""
7=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\mmedia\mmedia.wlx
7_detect="MULTIMEDIA & EXT!="DAT""
8=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\SWFView\SWFView.wlx
8_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | (force & ext="EXE")"
9=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\FlashView\FlashView.wlx
9_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | (([0]="F" & [1]="W" & [2]="S")|([0]="C" & [1]="W" & [2]="S") & force)"
10=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\swfListerLite\swfll.wlx
10_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | (([0]="F" & [1]="W" & [2]="S")|([0]="C" & [1]="W" & [2]="S") & FORCE)"
11=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\swfLister\swflst.wlx
11_detect="MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | ([0]="F" | [1]="L" | [2]="V") | ([0]="M" | [1]="Z" | [2]="P") | (([0]="F" & [1]="W" & [2]="S")|([0]="C" & [1]="W" & [2]="S") & FORCE)"
12=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\tcCalendar\tcCld.wlx
12_detect="EXT="TCCALENDAR" & SIZE=3 & [0]="C" & [1]="L" & [2]="D""
13=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Font\Font.wlx
13_detect="ext="TTF"|ext="TTC"|ext="OTF"|ext="FON"|ext="PFM""
14=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\TTFViewer\TTFViewer.wlx
14_detect="EXT="TTF" | EXT="OTF""
15=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\fileinfo\fileinfo.wlx
15_detect="FORCE"
16=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\EML\wlx_eml.wlx
17=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Excellence\excellence.wlx
17_detect="ext="XLS""
18=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\RedCell\RedCell.wlx
18_detect="EXT="XLS" | EXT="XLSX""
19=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Office\office.wlx
19_detect="force"
20=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Office2007\Office2007.wlx
20_detect="ext="DOCX" | ext="PPTX" | ext="XLSX"| ext="PPSX""
21=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\HTMLView\HTMLView.wlx
21_detect="ext="PDF" | force"
22=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\IEView\ieview.wlx
22_detect="ext="PDF" | force"
23=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\ListDoc\listdoc.wlx
23_detect="force"
24=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\URLView\urlview.wlx
24_detect="EXT="URL""
25=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WCX\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
25_detect="force"
26=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\slister\slister.wlx
26_detect="MULTIMEDIA& (EXT="PDF" | EXT="DJVU" | EXT="DJV"| EXT="XPS" | EXT="CBZ" | EXT="CBR" )"
27=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\WLX\Syn2\Syn2.wlx
27_detect="force"
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-06-22, 17:49 UTC

After enabling TCMediaInfo plugin today to check something, smooth scrolling almost immediately enabled itself. So, I suspect vassapup is right, TCMediaInfo might be the culprit. However, I've had this issue on TC installations that use a different set of plugins where TCMediaInfo is only used as content plugin. Perhaps the plugin messes with the system in that case, too.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36425
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-06-23, 09:42 UTC

Maybe it's caused by a specific Windows control, e.g. like the HTML viewer of the help system causing middle mouse button scrolling to be turned on?

Anyway, I only found a global setting to enable/disable smooth scrolling system-wide...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-06-23, 11:42 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Wrong thread? I don't see where the HTML viewer is involved here.
Anyway, I only found a global setting to enable/disable smooth scrolling system-wide...
Yes, it's enabled system-wide on my systems.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6249
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2016-06-25, 18:43 UTC

I can now confirm that it is TCMediaInfo plugin that's causing the smooth scrolling/listbox anmiation to be enabled :!: Yesterday I did some tests by renaming all existing plugin sections in wincmd.ini and copying the relevant entries of TCMediaInfo plugin. I loaded a custom columns view which uses some fields of this plugin, and smooth scrolling was enabled immediately upon closing TC. Globally enabled, mind you, which can be checked in any listbox like the list of fonts in Notepad's font configuration, or the list of saved sessions in PuTTY.

The plugin does this when it is unloaded, either by closing TC or executing cm_UnloadPlugins command in TC. It doesn't matter if the plugin is used as Content or Lister plugin. Version 0.7.1 is the last version that doesn't cause the issue at all, 0.7.2 causes the issue only when used as Lister plugin, 0.7.3 and later cause the issue regardless of the plugin type.

I'm going to write a bug report in the according thread in the Russian forum if it hasn't been already reported; currently I'm reading the thread translated by Google Translate, so it may take a while.

To work around the issue without replacing the plugin with another, you can downgrade to version 0.7.2 or even version 0.7.1 for now.

-----

[ADD]
A couple of hours later.

I was about to write my bug report and booted an English language Win7 system, mainly to be able to look up the correct terms in Windows. I tried to reproduce the issue on this system - with no luck. I tried another Win7 VM, but that didn't change anything.

Interestingly, while I was trying to reproduce the issue, it happened twice that the window animation on maximize/minimize (which I have disabled as well) enabled itself. This didn't happen every time the plugin was unloaded, but rather rarely. But it's quite obvious that the plugin has something to do with this, too. So the question remains: Is it worth the effort when XP is affected but Win7 is not? Even more when the issue can worked around by using an older plugin version.
[/ADD]

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Post Reply