This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

String 1537 not displayed correct under Windows 7 (64bit)
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7184
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can still reproduce it with TC 8.52b1 64bit under Windows 7 with Arial as tool-tip font with both internal English and using external wcmd_eng.lng file.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34310
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like it depends on the configured font size - if I set it to Arial 10 it works, if I set it to Arial 8, the text is cut.

Since this isn't a critical error, I will remove the fix from the history and postpone it to TC 9.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7184
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using Arial 9, so you are probably right about the font size being the culprit for this bug.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.10b1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.81b8 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34310
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is that this is a Lazarus tooltip, not a TC tooltip. It seems to use a different font for measuring than for displaying. I will check this in more detail after the release of TC 8.52.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5597
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This bug is still present in TC9 beta3. I can still reproduce it with Microsoft Sans Serif font. TC9 beta3 x64 behaves a little differently than TC 8.52a x64 with Arial font; there're not as much characters cut off in TC9.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34310
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, cannot reproduce. Maybe it deopends on DPI settings.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 5597
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use 96dpi (100%), Microsoft Sans Serif size 9 or 10 (don't remember right now) in the display settings described by Peter here.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34310
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I couldn't find the bug in the Lazarus code, so I simply added a few spaces to the string to make the box a bit larger. But I can't stretch it to infinity...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC8.5x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group