New Total Commander 9 icons available for testing!

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka »

2petermad
I do not even know what info should be. If I made it from scratch, then maybe I would think about adding supporting documentation, but it's just a remake of someone else's work so I made as the original, without description.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

See: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=310398#310398 (second posting):
add a a versioninfo resource with the description field set to something unique.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

phantom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 558
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Post by *phantom »

Hello petermad,

it sounds really interesting. Can you please resume the informations from your link in german?

I suppose follow link: New Total Commander 9-Symbole verfügbar zum Testen!

Thank you.

User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka »

petermad wrote:See: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=310398#310398 (second posting):
add a a versioninfo resource with the description field set to something unique.
It seems, realized what was the matter - set English language in .rc, then the library has become displayed here: http://s1.bild.me/bilder/240416/70368072016-10-31_153954.png
But anyway I do not see much sense in this - WCMICONEX.INC is not picked up, if is necessary to replace the original WCMICONS.INC it makes little sense of a fuss with WCMICONEX.DLL - it is easier replace both files - .dll and .inc?
Or is there a way to use WCMICONEX.INC separately (I never used WCMICONEX, always replace both WCMICONS.*, so in this area of knowledge no)?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Or is there a way to use WCMICONEX.INC separately
No, the only way to use wciconex.inc is the same way as always. Just place both wcmiconex.dll and wciconex.inc in TC's program directory - and now i TC9 select wcmicons.dll as the default icon library - then TC will automatically use wciconex.dll and .inc

But my idea by providing your icon library with a versioninfo is that it could the also be used as an alternative to wcmicons.dll, that could be selected directly from the GUI. It would work for the first 87 icons in the library but it will then use wcmicons.inc.
Last edited by petermad on 2016-10-31, 17:20 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka »

petermad wrote:use wciconex.inc
That is the point - should be the names WCICONEX.* instead WCMICONEX.* (my longstanding confusion), then everything is picked up.
But my idea by providing your icon library with a versioninfo is that it could the also be used as an alternative to wcmicons.dll, that could be selected directly from the GUI. It would work for the first 87 icons in the library but it will then use wcmicons.inc.
Seems so should work (I tried to put WCMICONS.DLL with name WCMICON3.DLL - selection from the GUI working (in prev. version did not worked)).
https://www.upload.ee/files/6312198/flat_wcmicons_1.0.2_mod.rar.html

edit. Correct few icons, update description, reupload.
Last edited by addhaloka on 2016-11-03, 02:48 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Currently the new icon library functions work like this: If the user has chosen e.g. wcmicon2.dll and picks a command for a button, TC looks in wcmicons.inc whether there is a corresponding icon. If yes, TC sets wcmicons.dll (NOT wcmicon2.dll!!!) and the icon number for this button. So now the user can switch between multiple icon libraries, and the button bar will automatically use the correct icon from that library!

What I could change now: If there is a wcmicon2.inc file, TC will look there and in wcmicons.inc for an icon when the user chooses a command. If the two are the same, TC will put wcmicons.dll on the button. Otherwise it will put wcmicon2.dll on the button. This way, the icon library can have additional buttons, but they will not change automatically when switching between icon libraries.

What do you think?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

What I could change now: If there is a wcmicon2.inc file, TC will look there and in wcmicons.inc for an icon when the user chooses a command. If the two are the same, TC will put wcmicons.dll on the button. Otherwise it will put wcmicon2.dll on the button. This way, the icon library can have additional buttons, but they will not change automatically when switching between icon libraries.
It sounds like a step in the right direction, but apart from supporting additional icons for additional commands in wcmicon2.inc can it also support the situation where you want to assign a different icon to a command that is already indexed in wcmicons.inc?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

can it also support the situation where you want to assign a different icon to a command that is already indexed in wcmicons.inc?
Yes, as I explained: If the index in wcmicons.inc and the other inc file is different, then TC will put the other dll name and its index on the button.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

How about icons in the menu - here you cannot assign a specific .dll file. Will you just use wcmicon2.inc and wcmicon2.dll as if they were wcmicons.inc and wcmicons.dll but using the index and icons as defined in wcmicon2.inc (that's what I hope for).
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

history.txt
01.11.16 Fixed: Main menu: When additional icon dlls have their own inc file, it will be used instead of wcmicons.inc for the entire main menu (32/64)
This works perfectly for the 32bit version of TC9rc4 - Thanks :-) - But unfortunately in the 64bit version wcmicons.inc is still used no matter what :-(
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Ah, sorry, I must have forgotten to port it over to 64-bit. I will do that in the next beta.

Do you have any dll with considerably different separate inc file for me to try?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
addhaloka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2016-03-06, 07:19 UTC

Post by *addhaloka »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Do you have any dll with considerably different separate inc file for me to try?
Maybe try original flat_wcmicons? Here it with the added VersionInfo: https://www.upload.ee/files/6313425/WCMICON3.7z.html

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9387
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Do you have any dll with considerably different separate inc file for me to try?
I recommend this: https://www.upload.ee/files/6312198/flat_wcmicons_1.0.2_mod.rar.html
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

VSB
Member
Member
Posts: 136
Joined: 2006-12-12, 12:02 UTC
Location: Russia

Post by *VSB »

2addhaloka

What about changing file name and adding pluginst.inf?

Post Reply