Non-modal search window

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Non-modal search window

Yes
124
91%
No
13
9%
 
Total votes: 137

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9432
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2012-08-08, 09:50 UTC

This has been discussed many times but it seems the discussion always starts over. Anyway, this is how it could work in TC 8.5:
  • Search is a separate process
  • Communication between search and main process must be performed. This could done through named pipes or another kind of IPC.
  • If the parent process has been terminated a new instance of the main program must be opened to display the results ('feed to listbox' or similar). If there is exactly on main instance open which is not the parent use it to display the results. If there is more than one main program opened but none is the parent process select a random instance or ask the user (should be a really rare case).

vladputin
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-08-07, 12:05 UTC

Post by *vladputin » 2012-08-08, 12:12 UTC

Lefteous wrote: (...) Anyway, this is how it could work in TC 8.5: (...)
Very good. What chances to you think this has to be there in 8.5?

glebsts
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2012-10-09, 07:37 UTC

Post by *glebsts » 2012-10-09, 07:45 UTC

Hi,
may be we could somehow motivate the author? Donations or smth similar.
I'm just asking:) I have two instances opened now, and it is not good. And I'm ready to donate for having it.
BR anyway.

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1856
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Samuel » 2012-10-09, 10:19 UTC

It should be the only feature for TC 8.1 / 8.5.

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom » 2012-10-17, 22:50 UTC

It can already be done with AHK, and a few hotkeys --- making the Find Dialog temporarily NON-MODAL, but we shouldn't really need to work-around something like that.
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.

donector
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: 2005-09-08, 22:07 UTC

Post by *donector » 2017-02-23, 17:30 UTC

this is effing great! I have just learnt by accident (inv9) that standalone search has been implemente since v8.5 it seems

thanks a lot


(so it seems that it was possible eventually) :)

Post Reply