This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tabs lose settings

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.0x bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:42 am    Post subject: Tabs lose settings Reply with quote

My tabs are continuously broken. The main issue is that I lock the tab as "locked, but directory changes allowed" But after several sessions the tab keeps the name but send me to a different folder. This mean the next time I close and open TC and click the tab, it is broken. Also in meantime I didn't change the settings or configuration.

This was not happening in older versions. I typically open several instances of TC at same time. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IF that makes any sense this is the INI of the tabs. I see a different pattern in the tab that has problems in this case, called Composition. It doesn't follow the structure of the other tabs. By the way that is also the third tab but that number doesn't appear there or the path. The section of rightabs finish there
[righttabs]
0_path=f:\___Screen_Captures\
0_caption=Scre
0_options=1|3|1|0|0|2|0|
1_path=g:\2017\Streets \
1_caption=StVe
1_options=1|0|0|0|0|2|0|
2_path=f:\_Tin\
2_caption=Tiny
2_options=1|3|1|0|0|2|0|
3_path=i:\_Programs\
3_caption=Prog
3_options=1|0|0|0|0|2|0|
4_path=i:\___Downloads\
4_caption=Dowi
4_options=1|3|1|0|0|2|0|
activetab=2
activelocked=2
activecaption=Compositions
[RightHistory]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use "Locked but directory changes allowed", TC will normally show the name of the locked dir as the tab title. But you can change the name via right click on the tab - rename/lock tab. Then this name will be stored in the tabs section in wincmd.ini.

If you encounter a case where the title is lost, then please send step by step instructions how to reproduce it.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The title is kept but the path changes over time. Normally in a couple of days some of my paths are changed involuntarily and after a week half of them.
Not sure how this happen except the fact I have lots of Total commanders open simultaneously, 3 or 4. But I'm user of this programs since the 90s and this is the first time it happens. It only appeared in the last months, perhaps since last version.
My only workaround is to save the ini and overwrite it periodically with the no corrupted one.
If nobody has this issue, perhaps it is a problem of my installation? A clean install would help? It is possible to install another instance of Total commander that uses a different configuration?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Difficult to say what you are doing to cause this. Maybe the path becomes invalid, e.g. a directory being deleted, or a network drive which is temporarily inaccessible?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vicsha
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of them are deleted and all are local folders, no network. Also it happens in a systematic way. A couple of days and tabs start to fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34649
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, I've been using "locked, but directory changes allowed" daily for many years without having this problem.

Please let me know if you (or anyone else) finds reliable steps to reproduce the problem. Maybe it only happens after using certain functions, e.g. disconnecting from an FTP server on such a locked tab or something similar?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC9.0x bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group