How to set default settings for 'Copy' dialog?

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
kkimber
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-05-30, 05:08 UTC

How to set default settings for 'Copy' dialog?

Post by *kkimber » 2011-01-29, 08:14 UTC

how can I copy settings default.
I always use the "skip all" but its not a save settings.
and copy/move window (progress bar), can't the settings..

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2011-01-31, 14:49 UTC

It's a two step process to always use "Skip all". You need TC 7.56a to use it:

1. Please add the following string to the file wincmd.ini, section [Configuration]:
CopyOverwriteDefault=3
You can edit the wincmd.ini via Configuration - Change settings files directly.

2. Press F5, click on "Options", then on the little pin button to pin the extended dialog to the open position.

Now after restarting TC, F5 will always default to "Skip all". The value of 3 in CopyOverwriteDefault is the same as the value shown on the extended copy dialog, so other defaults can be chosen too.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Christo
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-10-25, 11:30 UTC

Default or Save copy settings

Post by *Christo » 2017-07-29, 13:43 UTC

I would like to default the available advance options under Copy/Move please.

I use the Copy/Move by Queue feature quote a bit and having to tick the verification an other choices every time is a bit tedious.

Ideally I would have liked it if it remembered my last choices.

CopyOverwriteDefault=2 (found this one in help and can now use it)

I would like the wincmd.ini setting for the other 2 remaining settings

[] Skip all which cannot be opened for reading
[] Overwrite/Delete read only/hidden/system

I could not find this in the help but maybe they are just called something I did not expect, or understand.

I have found the below and are currently playing with them but I would like the 2 above if possible please.

SkippedFileCopy=1
OverwriteFiles=1
OverwriteHidSys=1
OverwriteReadonly=1
SyncConfirmOverwrite=1

thepearlsmaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-07-21, 11:01 UTC

Default copy settings

Post by *thepearlsmaster » 2017-10-11, 19:32 UTC

Hello,

I was looking for an option to set "skip all which cannot be opened for reading" and "overwrite/delete read only/hidden/system" active by default, too...

Thank you for your help

thepearlsmaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-07-21, 11:01 UTC

Post by *thepearlsmaster » 2017-10-18, 07:26 UTC

Hello,

Nobody know how to set "skip all which cannot be opened for reading" and "overwrite/delete read only/hidden/system" active by default?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-10-18, 22:41 UTC

2thepearlsmaster
"overwrite/delete read only/hidden/system"
This can be set permanently by removing BOTH checkmarks at "Configuration" -> "Options..." -> "Misc." -> "Overwriting/Deleting read-only files" AND "Overwriting/Deleting hidden/system files".
"skip all which cannot be opened for reading"
This cannot de set as default - but with SkippedFileCopy=1 you almost get the same - TC skips files with errors and ask at the end of the copy process what to do with them. If files with errors are found witing the first few seconds - the question is asked immediately. SkippedFileCopy=1 is the default setting
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply