[9.0b2] Scroll with middle button works only after F1/Esc

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

[9.0b2] Scroll with middle button works only after F1/Esc

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-19, 09:30 UTC

It is quite strange and I've never seen this behaviour before. Middle click does nothing.. until I press F1 and close help! After closing help it works just as it should.

I can reproduce it in 9.0b2 x86/x64 and also in 8.52a x86/x64,and in 8.01... with clean INI too.

Middle mouse button works fine e.g. in browser.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-06-19, 15:21 UTC

I guess that the MS HTML viewer calls a function which enables this middle button scrolling method, since it does work in the help. So far I couldn't find a system call which does this. Any ideas?

Btw, this must have been caused by a Windows update - middle button scrolling worked out of the box in earlier versions of Windows 7 and 10 here...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-19, 17:44 UTC

I guess that the MS HTML viewer calls a function which enables this middle button scrolling method, since it does work in the help. So far I couldn't find a system call which does this. Any ideas?
I have no ideas too... And I remember that it have worked in the past (I don't use such scrolling often so don't know when it become broken). If I find some details, I'll report here.
Btw, this must have been caused by a Windows update - middle button scrolling worked out of the box in earlier versions of Windows 7 and 10 here...
I haven't mentioned it: Win7x64 SP1, updates are disabled.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2016-06-19, 19:20 UTC

Bug confirmed under Win 7 and 10 64bit
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2016-06-22, 23:06 UTC

Not fixed yet in TC9b3...
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-06-23, 07:34 UTC

petermad,
We still don't know how to fix it and what causes it so it is not so easy to fix...

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-07-21, 15:56 UTC

Unfortunately I couldn't find any function to handle this, so I'm moving it to "will not be changed" for now, sorry.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2017-10-11, 23:52 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Why you decided not to use auto open/close of invisible CHM help on TC start?
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-12, 09:39 UTC

You can't open it hidden in the context of Total Commander. The help is opened with the HtmlHelp function. It doesn't have a parameter to open it hidden or minimized.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply