[Old] Context menu on 'F8 Delete', close - selection cleared

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3159
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

[Old] Context menu on 'F8 Delete', close - selection cleared

Post by *Flint » 2017-11-07, 22:31 UTC

1. Select some files in the left panel.
2. Right-click on the "F8 Delete" button to call the Recycle Bin context menu.
3. Press Esc or click anywhere to close the menu.
4. Selection is cleared.

Reproduced only with left panel, in right panel selection remains.

P. S. Although this bug was discovered and reported on Russian forum just now, it is present in older TC versions as well.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21rc1 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7980
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-11-08, 03:59 UTC

Confirmed.
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21rc3a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-08, 11:33 UTC

This is intentional, there is a call to remove the selection in my code.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3159
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-11-08, 13:04 UTC

ghisler(Author)
1. Why is it there?
2. Why does it happen to the left panel only?
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21rc1 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8087
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2017-11-08, 15:26 UTC

I confirm this with left panel only and also consider this as a bug because I don't see any sense in such inconsistent behaviour.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7980
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-11-08, 21:31 UTC

I confirm this with left panel only and also consider this as a bug because I don't see any sense in such inconsistent behaviour.
I agree...
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21rc3a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36255
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-11-09, 11:42 UTC

In the meantime, I found out why this is happening: The used function to show the context menu also shows the context menu for other places like the file list. It should clear the selection if no file was selected when right clicking in the list. I can try to avoid this when the context menu is called for other locations.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7980
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2017-11-09, 16:04 UTC

Confirmed fixed in TC 9.12rc3 :-)
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21rc3a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3159
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2017-11-09, 16:36 UTC

Yes, confirm fixed.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21rc1 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

Post Reply