After mouse over on FDD drive icon, drive trying read data

Bug reports will be moved here when the described bug has been fixed

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
BORG52
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2011-04-23, 16:16 UTC

After mouse over on FDD drive icon, drive trying read data

Post by *BORG52 » 2017-02-05, 21:06 UTC

Hi,
after each mouse move over physical FDD drive icon(expanded drives bar), drive automaticaly trying read data (mechanics clicks,buzzes - It is annoying)

This behavior can not be changed by program menu(wincmd.ini)
Previous version of TCMD work correctly - FDD is quiet, after mouse over.

Image: http://img143.imagevenue.com/loc598/th_20785_tcmdfdda_122_598lo.jpg

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8145
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2017-02-05, 21:21 UTC

Hm, I can guess that TC tries to read volume label to show tooltip... So it is strange that it haven't do so in previous versions (you can extract and rename TOTALCMD.exe from older installer for test BTW).

But I can't test it because no FDD is installed into my PC.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6312
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2017-02-06, 00:18 UTC

I can confirm the bug, and that it's annoying. TC 8.52a uses the same label for floppy drives as in the drive list, TC9 tries to retrieve the label instead. The bug is already present in 9.0 beta4 (didn't test previous betas).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36554
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-02-06, 15:35 UTC

You can turn off labels in Configuration - Options - Display. TC only gets the label when it hasn't been loaded yet.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6312
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2017-02-06, 18:13 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
That's not a solution to the problem. TC8 shows the labels just fine and uses 3½" as label for my floppy drive (the same text as in drive list), so everything works as expected: labels for regular drives and a placeholder for floppies.

TC9 tries to retrieve the label, which fails for empty drives. TC shouldn't try to get labels for floppy drives, because they're either empty or slow.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36554
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2017-10-02, 09:16 UTC

This should be fixed in TC 9.10 beta, please test it!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
BORG52
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2011-04-23, 16:16 UTC

Post by *BORG52 » 2018-01-09, 14:11 UTC

OK, this bug has been fixed. Thank

Post Reply