This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Copying to Sd card or Deleting from SD card not working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander for Android Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:58 am    Post subject: Copying to Sd card or Deleting from SD card not working Reply with quote

I have a RCA Voyager tablet.

When I try to copy a file to the SD card I get a message "Write Protected!" asking me to select the root of the SD card. When I select it I get a message that its the wrong folder. I tried this a few times with the same results.

The same thing happens when I try to delete a file from the SD card. I guess its the same problem that its seeing the card as write protected.

I also have a RCA Galileo Pro tablet and there the selecting of the root of the SD card works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gmb
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to get back write access to SD-Card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have gone thru that topic, but nothing there worked for me. I do get the message to select the SD card root but when I select I get a message that its the wrong Folder (which its not).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35077
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to pick the root directory of the SD card, not the directory to which you want to copy the file.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do select the root of the SD card.

After trying this with other apps I find I have the same problem with other apps as well. To me it seems that the tablet doesn't recognize my selection to be the root of the card.

If there anything you can help me with it would be greatly appreciated. Now I'm stuck I have no use of the card. Only with the built in file explorer am I able to copy and delete on the card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35077
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, try adding the card as a virtual folder via the entry "User-defined location" with the blue "+" in th home folder. It has some limitations compared to the real directory, but writing should work this way.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see any blue + in the home folder. I do remember seeing it at one point but its not there now.

Another thing I just realized is that when I select the SD card in the dialog, In the place where it should show the name of the SD card I get a jumble of letters instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35077
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you perhaps hide it? Please long tap on the first entry (internal memory) and choose "Show all hidden".

Quote:
Another thing I just realized is that when I select the SD card in the dialog, In the place where it should show the name of the SD card I get a jumble of letters instead.

That could be a problem - some devices have troubles accessing cards with no volume label.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that info. i got it back.

Now I added the card through that + symbol, but when I copy to the card through that option I get a message "Error writing to target file!".

It does make a file on the card but the file is empty. If I open the file and write to it it gets saved to the file. This doesn't work if I open the file from the regular way of accessing the card.

Thank You,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35077
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From where are you trying to write? It sounds like TC can create the target file, but cannot get any data from the source to write there.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to copy from Documents in internal memory to the SD card.

I have no problem copying the same file to somewhere else in the internal file system.

Thank You,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35077
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try whether it works with a different file manager from the play store, like Astro. If no, then there is a bug in TC which I need to investigate further. If no, then third party apps cannot write to the card on your device (yes, unfortunately there are such devices where this is restricted).
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
isrgish
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work with other File Managers as well. As far as I tested it only works with the File manager that came pre installed on the device.

What I found interesting was that I was able to save files on the card with different apps just not with File managers.

Anyways, I finally rooted my device and now am able to write to the card.

Thank you for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander for Android All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklńrung

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group