Your name on the title bar!

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: white, Hacker, Stefan2, sheep

What's your thought over having your name displayed on TC's title bar?

- I like it and I don't want to see any change whatsoever!
47
16%
- I don't like it at all; get rid of it!
45
15%
- The best approach is to make it optional/configurable.
136
45%
- I'm not a fan but I respect and understand the licensing implications.
29
10%
- I don't really care to be honest!
42
14%
- Other (please make a post)
3
1%
 
Total votes: 302

sekular
Member
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: 2009-07-02, 19:39 UTC

Remove real name from title bar

Post by *sekular » 2016-02-24, 21:32 UTC

Seriously.

I have brought this up before and so have many people before me. It is simply not acceptable to have such a massive data leak in the OS that you are using. I do not use my real name anywhere, but if i want to use totalcmd legitimately i am forced to have my real name in the title bar. For so many reasons this is a massive security problem.

I request that you remove the real name in the title bar at the next update.

There is no rational reason to have such a big data leak.

Why not replace it with the word "registered"?

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2973
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Remove real name from title bar

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2016-02-25, 07:30 UTC

I would call this as a liitle bit paranoid :D
I'm shure that your real name is stored on many places of your PC.

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Remove real name from title bar

Post by *Stefan2 » 2016-02-25, 07:51 UTC

sekular wrote:Why not replace it with the word "registered"?
Please search the forum. There is the answer already posted often.




 
The destination is one thing. Getting there is everything.

User avatar
Ghost Dog
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016-03-16, 16:32 UTC

Post by *Ghost Dog » 2016-03-16, 16:45 UTC

I vote for having an option to not have your name displayed all the time in the title bar.

I didn't think it would bother me, but it does. It is very annoying.

(Not to mention the fact that I have a "non-ASCII"/"UNICODE" name, so, technically, it isn't even my name I'm looking at right now, but hopefully Christian is working on it.)


Cheers!

User avatar
Guillaume
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: 2003-04-08, 16:51 UTC
Contact:

Post by *Guillaume » 2016-06-11, 13:57 UTC

Just imagine the possibilities improving functionality if it could be customized 8) :oops:
TC^ - LeftPaneFolder | RightPaneFolder
(^ = running as Administrator, is is the case right now)

giulia
Member
Member
Posts: 139
Joined: 2013-09-14, 05:33 UTC

Post by *giulia » 2016-09-29, 17:59 UTC

hi
i voted yes , but can i add my name only or another title to the in the title bar?
thanks
Total Commander 's lover

Twilight
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2016-11-25, 18:50 UTC

Post by *Twilight » 2016-11-25, 19:02 UTC

I just made an account to share this.

The name in the title bar is the only reason I haven't registered Total Commander yet. It's just not an option having my real name on the screen.

Sob
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 908
Joined: 2005-01-19, 17:33 UTC

Post by *Sob » 2016-11-25, 23:07 UTC

If you otherwise like and use the program, you can still do the right thing, send author some money, and then not use the licence key, if you hate seeing your name that much. ;)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36004
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2016-11-27, 10:01 UTC

You can also register to the name of your company, institution, University etc. where you work or study...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

rilley
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2008-08-24, 16:42 UTC

Post by *rilley » 2018-04-02, 20:08 UTC

Hello,

Can I buy the license on company and the license to be registered as company but in the title bar to show different name?

Thank you

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36004
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-04-03, 13:34 UTC

Yes, just use the reseller/gift order page:
https://www.ghisler.com/resellkey.htm

Enter the end user in the fields at the bottom ,"Additional Information ", and the reseller address in the fields at the top, "Billing Information".
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

rilley
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2008-08-24, 16:42 UTC

Post by *rilley » 2018-04-15, 15:31 UTC

Hello,

Thank you for your response.

I also want to ask, if I buy the license, it will also work with older versions of TC?

For example for 32bit Total commander versions:

8.52
7.04a

?

EDIT: After some research I found https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=49147&highlight=licence+license but I want to confirm

Thank you

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7871
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-04-15, 17:48 UTC

2rilley
The licence key was changed from 128 bytes to 1024 bytes in january 1997 from TC 3.01, but since then it has been unchanged.
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus

Post Reply