"Compare by content" - hotkeys for text selecting

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 626
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

"Compare by content" - hotkeys for text selecting

Post by *Gral » 2018-05-13, 16:01 UTC

In "Compare by content" window you can choose "Copy as text" for selection, but there is no working shortcut keys for select - doesn't works any standard combination: CTRL+A, Shift+Arrows, Shift+Page(Up/DowN), Shift+(HomeEnd)- only mouse drag. It's no problem for e.g. 30 lines but try this with 10000 lines or more!
Please allow these standard shortcut keys and context menu entry "Select All" for text selecting on "Compare by content" window.
May be especially useful with "Show only differences".

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-14, 09:47 UTC

You can use Ctrl+Shift+End and Shift+Arrows in edit mode.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8007
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2018-05-14, 15:18 UTC

You can mark one line in view mode by pressing Space.

If you want to mark a lot of lines in view mode, without mouse scrolling you can do this:

1. Mark the first line line (just click on it) in the source panel (first panel)
2. Click on the opposite panel (second panel)
3. Move down with PgDn, or End until you se the last line in the first panel
4. Shift+click on the last line in the first panel - this will mark everytning from the first to the last clicked line.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.91b4 on Android 6.0
Get Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 626
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

Post by *Gral » 2018-05-14, 22:25 UTC

OMG :roll:
This is request/sugesting, not question thread "how can i do this".
I know how do this already.
Compare this:
1. Mark the first line line (just click on it) in the source panel (first panel)
2. Click on the opposite panel (second panel)
3. Move down with PgDn, or End until you se the last line in the first panel
4. Shift+click on the last line in the first panel - this will mark everytning from the first to the last clicked line.
With this

Code: Select all

CTRL+A, CTRL+C
Exactly same way as in Lister!
Make life easier, not more complicated!

User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 626
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

Post by *Gral » 2018-05-16, 17:39 UTC

"CTRL+A" works now in TC 9.20ß3
Thank you!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-17, 10:16 UTC

There is just one problem: You cannot easily remove the selection while not in edit mode. Any suggestions?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
MarcinW
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 852
Joined: 2012-01-23, 15:58 UTC
Location: Poland

Post by *MarcinW » 2018-05-17, 13:59 UTC

Press Ctrl+A once again?

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2087
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Post by *Stefan2 » 2018-05-17, 14:37 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:There is just one problem: You cannot easily remove the selection while not in edit mode. Any suggestions?
To "remove the selection" of a partly or a Ctrl+A selection, just left click at one of the lines.

Then that line only is selected (only in "not in edit mode").

Works at least for me on W7/64 with "tc920x32_64_b3_(2018-05-16)"




 

User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 626
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

Post by *Gral » 2018-05-17, 14:54 UTC

Stefan2 wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:There is just one problem: You cannot easily remove the selection while not in edit mode. Any suggestions?
To "remove the selection" of a partly or a Ctrl+A selection, just left click at one of the lines.

Then that line only is selected (only in "not in edit mode").

...
 
Exactly!
This is default in Windows programs, obvious and expected behaviour.
If you think about new additional hotkey for keyboard deselection it should be "CTRL+ Num -" as in files panels (cm_Clearall)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-18, 09:44 UTC

Sorry, I prefer not to remove the selection on a single click. I would have to add many selection methods (Ctrl+Click, Shift+Click, etc) which would take many weeks to get right. Maybe in a later version.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply