This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Support for \\?\Volume{GUID}\
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Support for \\?\Volume{GUID}\ Reply with quote

While browsing the web for solutions for the problem that my USB Drive changes its drive letter, i found out the following:

you can address media in Windows (similar to Linux /media/medianame) by addressing it using the GUID (which is of course different for each media on every system/installation).

That means if you execute "mountvol.exe" it will show you all connected Medias GUID.

Then you can access this path in Windows Explorer by pasting

\\?\Volume{GUID}\

and it will open the root of the drive.


For me this seems very practical, because i do not have Administrative privileges to change the Drive letter once it is (by accident or by random...) changed again.

I always have to adjust my totalCommander-Synctool presets then - or change it manually each time.

Its very frustrating.

However if pasting that GUID-based path into Totalcommander, TC does not understand it.

Is it easy to make TC support these kind of "hardlinks" to Removeable media?

Then i could simply store the path in the Sync Preset and hopefully would never ever again need to adjust it either in the wincmd.ini or manually in the sync window.

- I know its some weird workaround for a totally different root cause (drive letter changes), but as i cant change the drive letter easily (or is there a way that does not require Admin privileges or additional 3rd party software that i have not yet found?) it seeems a viable option to me.

What do you think about this?

br
seb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seb-,
Actually you can make a mount point to your USB volume, and it will look just like a regular folder located in a place you like. Once created, such mount point will show volume contents to your USB volume regardless of drive letter assigned to it. So you can create such mount point in the same place for all your computers and refer your USB volume by path to such mount point.

Such mount point may be created via disk management console (where you change volume drive letter), or via console tool mountvol, also you can create an empty folder and set its target path attribute via NTLinks plugin, it supports volume GUIDs.

Please keep in mind that volume GUIDs for the same volume are different in different Windows installations (they are assigned by Windows somehow and are not stored in volume) so it has no sense to sync such setting between multiple computers.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply MVV!

MVV wrote:
seb-,
Such mount point may be created via disk management console

Yeah i read about this, but disk management console seems to require admin privileges. Symlinks also require Admin rights Sad

I'll try it tomorrow.

MVV wrote:

Please keep in mind that volume GUIDs for the same volume are different in different Windows installations (...)


I also found this out already Wink

would be easier if it worked similar to linux Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if symlinks support volume GUIDs, but mount point (or junction with GUID path) may be created using NTLinks w/o admin rights.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a lot of tries with mountvol and guid path i realized it does not work Wink

But

mklink /j junction guid_path

indeed works without admin privileges. So that helps for the moment. Thanks for that good hint!






But anyway i'd still appreciate to hear if it is easy to implement into TC that GUID Paths are directly supported? Smile





brs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, actually mountvol only supports just GUIDs, w/o subpaths, and it not only creates a junction, it also stores information about it somewhere in registry (that's why it requires admin rights).

BTW I just tested TC with volume GUID: cd \\?\Volume{b88f9aff-6b87-11e2-9279-806e6f6e6963}\ doesn't work but cd \\?\Volume{b88f9aff-6b87-11e2-9279-806e6f6e6963}\Docs\ does! And I can go up and see root items, but Ctrl+R causes error. I think it should be easy to fix since Windows itself supports such paths.
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats nice to hear, i'm using a subpath anyway.

But still i'm now served with the junction that your hint gave me Smile

Lets see wether CD to root \\?\Volume\{GUID}\ is fixed soon Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seb- wrote:
Lets see wether CD to root \\?\Volume\{GUID}\ is fixed soon Smile

I think you should report it as a bug.

BTW I've found funny thing: cd \\?\Volume{b88f9aff-6b87-11e2-9279-806e6f6e6963}\Docs\..\ opens drive root. Very Happy
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
seb-
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Location: DE\BN

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:

I think you should report it as a bug.



done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guRed
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 16 May 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 3:09 am    Post subject: Any news on this topic? Reply with quote

I vote for implementing support for \\?\Volume{GUID}\ in TC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MVV
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2008
Posts: 8010
Location: Russian Federation

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works for me here (9.20b2):
Quote:
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\Docs\

It is funny that autocomplete works when I type just path with volume GUID and doesn't work when I type cd with path with volume GUID (but works with paths w/o GUIDs).
_________________
TCFS2 + TCFS2Tools: Full-screen mode for TC etc (forum)
TOTALCMD.NET: AskParam, CopyTree, NTLinks, Sudo, VirtualPanel…
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:
Works for me here (9.20b2)
Tried on Vista 32-bit in the command line of TC 9.20 beta 3: cd \\?\Volume{GUID_by_mountvol}\ - doesn't work. However, \\?\Volume{GUID_by_mountvol}\ opens the location in Explorer.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guRed
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 16 May 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MVV wrote:
Works for me here (9.20b2):
Quote:
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\Docs\

It is funny that autocomplete works when I type just path with volume GUID and doesn't work when I type cd with path with volume GUID (but works with paths w/o GUIDs).


I use 9.12 (latest non-beta) and neither command works. So there must be some changes in the latest 9.20b2
When will 9.20 be released?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2869
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

guRed wrote:
MVV wrote:
Works for me here (9.20b2):
Quote:
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\
cd \\?\Volume{1d819ae2-ff62-11e7-89b2-005056c00008}\Docs\

It is funny that autocomplete works when I type just path with volume GUID and doesn't work when I type cd with path with volume GUID (but works with paths w/o GUIDs).


I use 9.12 (latest non-beta) and neither command works. So there must be some changes in the latest 9.20b2
When will 9.20 be released?

The newest is 9.20b3 and there is no problem using TC betas.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.81)
TC 9.20b4 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's interesting: on Vista 32-bit TC 9.20 beta 3 opens such paths if used as a parameter to %COMMANDER_EXE%:
%COMMANDER_EXE% /L=\\?\Volume{GUID_by_mountvol}\
TC also opens shortcuts (LNKs) created by Explorer for such paths.
But it doesn't work if used with cd command from a command line or a button bar.

Also, TC only shows internal context menu for files there, while Explorer shows full own menu even with items from shell extensions.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group