How to skip corrupt files during copy and continue copying?

English support forum

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
galia.reznik@gmail.com
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-05-17, 09:30 UTC

How to skip corrupt files during copy and continue copying?

Post by *galia.reznik@gmail.com » 2018-05-17, 09:51 UTC

Hi,

I'm trying to copy many files from my cellular Android to Windows (photos, videos). It seems that some of the files are corrupt (don't know which and how many). When the copy reaches the first corrupt file, it shows the following message and stops the copy:

Error moving file or folder.
Unspecified error.

Can the corrupt files be skipped and the copy continued? I have not found this option... :(

Many thanks!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36425
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-05-17, 10:29 UTC

It's probably just a damaged media database on the phone.

To fix it, you can use Total Commander for Android:
1. Disconnect your phone from Windows
2. Create a button in the lower buttonbar with:
Function type: Internal command
Command: Click >> and pick command nr 130
3. Select the folder(s) with the problematic files
4. Tap on the button created above
5. Reconnect your phone
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

galia.reznik@gmail.com
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-05-17, 09:30 UTC

Post by *galia.reznik@gmail.com » 2018-05-17, 10:59 UTC

Thanks for your reply, however -

1. I initiated Total Commander copy from Windows - I don't have it on Android yet.
2. I do think the files are corrupt - I tries to activate on the phone the video that stopped the copy and at some point it hung. Same happened with the next file that caused the stop. So I assume the files themselves are corrupt. Is there a way to skip them during copy?

Thanks!

Post Reply