Window size changes when toggling between monitors

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
fkroon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-06-01, 19:20 UTC
Location: Auburn, NY

Window size changes when toggling between monitors

Post by *fkroon » 2018-06-01, 19:32 UTC

When toggling between monitors (Shift+Win+arrow L/R), the tcmd window size becomes progressively smaller.

Previous released versions occasionally exhibited issues with being able to remember the previously stored size, but with 9.20ß5 it just isn't workable anymore. Every toggle makes the window about half of the correct size and it needs to then be manually adjusted.

I suspect this has something to do with different dpi sizes or associated font scaling settings - my main display is at 200%, the other two at 100%.

Windows 10, 1803.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36226
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-03, 10:34 UTC

Not confirmed. I tried with Windows 10 1803 with TC 32-bit and 64-bit.

1. Do you get this with TC 32-bit or 64-bit, or both?
2. Can you check please with which beta this started?
You can get older beta versions here:
https://www.ghisler.com/920_b1.htm
https://www.ghisler.com/920_b2.htm
https://www.ghisler.com/920_b3.htm
https://www.ghisler.com/920_b4.htm
https://www.ghisler.com/920_b5.htm

You can simply install the older versions as an update, shouldn't take more than 10 seconds to install.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

fkroon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-06-01, 19:20 UTC
Location: Auburn, NY

Post by *fkroon » 2018-06-11, 21:14 UTC

1. It happens on both.
2:

B1: initially looked strange, but I resized and saved position, and at that point the size is properly maintained across screens.
B2: moving from hi-dpi screen to lower now makes window size very large. Moving back to hi-dpi makes window smaller than original.

Probably because I went through some cycles of saving position, restarting, re-installing, I now have the following behavior:
- window maintains configured size on hi-dpi main screen.
- window becomes too small on low-dpi secondary screens, but otherwise size is maintained.
- apparently no difference between B2 and B6 anymore, but B1 stays the same as before.

Very strange. I've also seen different behavior between cycling left through the monitors vs cycling right. Close tcmd, opens back up to the main screen at the correct size.
As I can get "out of trouble" by closing and re-opening tcmd, I'm at least confident that my settings are not mangled. But the behavior is very strange.

Note that my main screen is a Surface Pro 2736x1824, scaling set to 200%. The other two are 1920x1200 @ 100%.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36226
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-12, 14:21 UTC

OK, I will add some code to let the user save the position separately on multiple monitors. Currently you can only save the position on ONE monitor, and moving to another monitor will resize the window according to the DPI difference.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36226
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-13, 17:58 UTC

Total Commander 9.20 release candidate 1 now allows to save the position on each monitor separately. The last saved position is still used when starting Total Commander.

When you use Shift+Win+Cursor left/right, that position and size will be retored. When you move the window with the mouse to another screen, just the size will be restored.

Can you test it please?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

fkroon
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-06-01, 19:20 UTC
Location: Auburn, NY

Post by *fkroon » 2018-06-13, 20:04 UTC

It is now closer, and good enough for me.

I'm still seeing a difference depending which way I go initially. My monitors are set up as main in the bottom center, and #2 and #3 centered above #1 with 2 on the left and 3 on the right. Screens #2 and #3 are identical at lower resolution than 1.

When I move tcmd up and to the left to screen #2 the first time after starting, it becomes much larger than normal. Doesn't matter if I use the mouse or Shift+Win+arrow. At this point, when I move it with mouse to the right onto #3 the size goes back to normal. Also happens if I Shift+Win+Left from #2 to wrap around from #2 to #3. Once it is at correct size on monitor #3, I can move back and forth between any of the screens and the size on 2 and 3 is maintained at the correct dimensions. Move back to screen #1 and the size is too small again. But moving to either 2 or 3 makes it go back to correct size.
If I start this sequence off by starting tcmd and then going from #1 to #3, it is immediately at the correct size and stays correct on 2 and 3 while being too small on 1.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36226
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-14, 07:58 UTC

Please move TC to each screen, resize it to the size you want, and then choose "Save position". Now go to the screen you want as the default with Win+Shift+Cursor key, and choose again "Save position".

This is necessary because TC 9.20 RC1 uses a new mechanism to save the position separately for each screen. Afterwards, moving TC between the 3 screens should resize it to the size you set on that screen. Additionally, when you use Win+Shift+Cursor key, it should also restore the position you set for that screen.

If it doesn't work, please open the wincmd.ini via configuration - change settings files directly, and send me all lines starting with
monitor(

Thanks!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36226
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-06-20, 18:32 UTC

Can you give some feedback, please?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply