This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

9.20b4 - SHIFT+F7

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1254
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 12:54 am    Post subject: 9.20b4 - SHIFT+F7 Reply with quote

Quote:
21.05.18 Added: Use Shift+F7 to create directory in target panel, using the name under the cursor from the source panel as the default (32/64)


Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile Smile
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Latest TC / Mainly Win7x64 SP1, WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OUrm7Vo2
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope that this addition is also added to F5 or is this a compromise solution!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1254
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happy to see this feature, two things though:

1. There is no difference between the windows of F7 and SHIFT+F7. For SHIFT+F7 i would expect the prompt of the dialog to be something like "New folder in other panel", so the user could be certain he pressed the right key combination.

2. It would be nice if there was a way (perhaps an extra checkbox on the dialog which should be saved in the INI as a new setting) for the focus to remain in the source panel. That way, one could SHIFT+F7 2 or 3 folders in a row and then move to the destination panel to use them.

The selected folder in the destination panel becomes the newly created folder after SHIFT+F7, that's nicely done. Just add a way for the focus to remain in the source panel.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Latest TC / Mainly Win7x64 SP1, WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35745
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TC sets the focus to the other panel before opening the F7 dialog, so it would be confusing if the title would show "other panel"...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nsp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 1174
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ghisler(Author) wrote:
TC sets the focus to the other panel before opening the F7 dialog, so it would be confusing if the title would show "other panel"...

@Ghisler The definition is quite confusing as "create directory in target panel" means for me that no panel switching is involved as source/target panel should remain !

Even if internally you do as described (which is good for refreshing), you should add an option to focus on newly created folder and/or be back to current file/folder. By default fulfill the definition without unwanted panel switching. It should behave like F5 or F6 doing operation in target panel staying on source panel. (it seems more natural for me)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
jberry910
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with nsp
_________________
Joe
Central Illinois, USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2918
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nsp wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:
TC sets the focus to the other panel before opening the F7 dialog, so it would be confusing if the title would show "other panel"...

@Ghisler The definition is quite confusing as "create directory in target panel" means for me that no panel switching is involved as source/target panel should remain !

Even if internally you do as described (which is good for refreshing), you should add an option to focus on newly created folder and/or be back to current file/folder. By default fulfill the definition without unwanted panel switching. It should behave like F5 or F6 doing operation in target panel staying on source panel. (it seems more natural for me)

I'm not against a new option but I like the current behaviour as default.
But having a option satisfies all.
_________________
Windows 10 x64 Version 1803
April 2018 Update (OS Build 17134.112)
TC 9.20rc2 x64 and x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35745
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I will change it as follows:
1. Show the F7/Shift+F7 dialog over the panel where the directory will be created, like the "volume label" dialog.
2. Return to the previous panel when the user cancels Shift+F7, but not when directory creation fails.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1254
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Christian.

I don't remember getting a notification from the forum for an answer to this thread, so sorry for the late reply.

Quote:
2. It would be nice if there was a way (perhaps an extra checkbox on the dialog which should be saved in the INI as a new setting) for the focus to remain in the source panel. That way, one could SHIFT+F7 2 or 3 folders in a row and then move to the destination panel to use them.


As far as this is concerned, i would still like to see an option for the focus to remain in the source panel after the successful creation of the folder. That way, one could create several folders from the source panel to the destination one easily.

After some thought, IMHO the best way to achieve that would be to have a checkbox on the F7 dialog which when checked, it would keep the focus on the source panel after the dialog closes. The value of this checkbox could be remembered in memory by TC for as long as the TC instance is running. When TC is restarted, it should be reset to Unchecked but if the user Checks it, the next time SHIFT+F7 dialog is shown, it should be checked. If the user again unchecks it, it should remain unchecked the next time SHIFT+F7 dialog is shown.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Latest TC / Mainly Win7x64 SP1, WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6049
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2wanderer
You can already create multiple directories in one go - by separating them via the pipe. Example:
Code:
dir1|dir2|dir3|dirX
creates 4 directories. This should also work in conjunction with Shift+F7 (haven't tested it).

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
Posts: 1254
Location: Sol

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, it does! Smile Forgotten about that, thanks Dalai...

Now that i think of it, instead of my previous proposal, it would be nicer (and probably simpler) to be able to select multiple folders in the source window and have SHIFT+F7 add them as "dir1|dir2|dir3|dirX" in the F7 dialog textbox.

P.S.: The multiple-folders creation function should freeze the window, create all folders and then refresh it. The creation of many folders may be much faster like this.
_________________

- - - Wanderer - - -


¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Latest TC / Mainly Win7x64 SP1, WinXPx32 SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3351
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
... select multiple folders in the source window and have SHIFT+F7 add them as "dir1|dir2|dir3|dirX" in the F7 dialog textbox

Nice idea. would help me too to create the same folders at the opposite panel again.
Support ++
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7791
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
...select multiple folders in the source window and have SHIFT+F7 add them as "dir1|dir2|dir3|dirX" in the F7 dialog textbox

Support++ too.

In the meantime this button can be helpful:
Code:
TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
%COMSPEC% /C
chcp 65001 && %%COMSPEC%% /C for /F "usebackq delims=" %%n in (`type %WF`) do if not exist "%T%%n" md "%T%%n"
%COMMANDER_PATH%\wcmicons.dll,29
Make directories in opposite panel with same name as marked files/folders

1
-1

Quote:
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (including TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA in the first line and -1 in the last line).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".

_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus


Last edited by petermad on Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jberry910
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
In the meantime this button can be helpfull:


Thank you for posting this - it works perfectly for the way I work.
_________________
Joe
Central Illinois, USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group