Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-09, 10:55 UTC

Hi

The company bought a 200 user license years ago and until now we have always been able to upgrade to newest version (from ver. 353).

After upgrade to Windows 10, this is no longer possible since the installation apparently tries to open /program files/keyboard.txt for writing, which is not allowed. How can we work-around this issue? Alternative, how can we get a new key for our purchased license?

BR Søren

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2626
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-01-09, 11:07 UTC

Hi!

Solutions:
- don't install into /program files
- or give write access on /program files/TC-subfolder for group USERS


 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37766
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-01-09, 11:27 UTC

No, you just need to run the installer with full admin rights (elevated), so it can write to "program files".
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-09, 13:22 UTC

Sadly, this is not possible; new company policy (when upgraded to Windows 10) is that no user has administrative rights anymore. There is a possibility to elevate for two minutes (enough to start installation) but it doesn't give full admin rights (group policy blocked I guess).

We need to install in /program files to keep license intact.

Other alternatives?

User avatar
DarkRuleR
Member
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: 2003-02-20, 22:23 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *DarkRuleR » 2019-01-09, 14:53 UTC

TC is fully portable, and I run TC at work on an Network share where I store my personal files (H:).
I also don't have admin rights on Windows 10 at work.
You have to tweak your TC shortcut and possible wincmd.ini a bit.

This is my shortcut:

Code: Select all

H:\_tools\totalcmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE /i=H:\_tools\totalcmd\config\wincmd.ini /f=H:\_tools\totalcmd\config\wcx_ftp.ini
(I could not use the installer to install TC on my Network share, so I installed it on my laptop first and copied the folder to USB and used it to copy the files to my share)
#106383 Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-09, 15:17 UTC

Problem solved; user rights elevated by company app AND upgrade Run As Administrator. Thanks for your help.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6705
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *Dalai » 2019-01-09, 15:19 UTC

Well, if it's a company license, the company's IT department/administrator should be able to install TC to the clients, so the workers can use it.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-10, 14:55 UTC

They probably won't for 0.2% of employees!

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6705
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *Dalai » 2019-01-10, 15:12 UTC

Then that's a really strange company policy. Buy licenses for a software that won't be installed by IT. Missing the logic there, sorry.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11281
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *Hacker » 2019-01-10, 18:42 UTC

Dalai,
Well, to be fair, the company policy might have changed in those 20 years.

sblar,
Can't you simply unpack TC and overwrite the existing installation? Or alternatively create your own installer from the installation files?

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37766
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-01-11, 08:59 UTC

You don't need to install it to program files. Just create a second installation elsewhere, where you have write rights.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-11, 22:22 UTC

The point is that the original purchased version on WinCmd installs in program files (no option to install elsewhere).
In order to keep the license, TC needs to be installed in the same directory = problem!
But, as I wrote, the problem was solved by elevation of rights AND running upgrade as administrator.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6705
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *Dalai » 2019-01-11, 22:48 UTC

sblar wrote:
2019-01-11, 22:22 UTC
The point is that the original purchased version on WinCmd installs in program files (no option to install elsewhere).
In order to keep the license, TC needs to be installed in the same directory = problem!
You can install TC to any directory you want (provided you can write to it). And as long as you can read the original license file you can copy it to the new install directory. Only a tiny "drawback" with this approach: more than one existing TC installation.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11281
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *Hacker » 2019-01-11, 23:18 UTC

sblar,
The point is that the original purchased version on WinCmd installs in program files (no option to install elsewhere).
In order to keep the license, TC needs to be installed in the same directory = problem!
As Dalai said, you only need the wincmd.key file, that is your licence. Wherever you install TC, when you put this file there, it's registered.

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

sblar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: 2003-03-10, 14:27 UTC

Re: Upgrade from older licensed version not possible anymore?

Post by *sblar » 2019-01-13, 11:49 UTC

Noted, thanks.

Post Reply