Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
selevo
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-11-14, 03:48 UTC

Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *selevo » 2018-11-14, 04:32 UTC

Transferred some folders to RAM disk with Junction symbolic links.
But the place is not the disk is not free, began to find out. and...

Why show link size?
Symbolic link does not take up disk space!
It is annoying when calculating free space.
Is it being treated?
Image: http://pp.userapi.com/c846018/v846018131/12ea83/NiJNuCwxkyc.jpg
Image: http://pp.userapi.com/c846018/v846018131/12ea8c/5glxVItIt4c.jpg

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8286
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *MVV » 2018-11-14, 06:38 UTC

Use IgnoreLinks INI option as I've suggested on Russian board.

zmaxic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-05-05, 19:39 UTC

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *zmaxic » 2019-05-05, 19:46 UTC

I didn't find how to use IgnoreLinks in INI.
Problem is still actual. Version 9.21a.
TC really sucks and fucks my brain, when i try to understand how many free space the drive "C" has.
Because "C" is the system disk, there are a lot of junction links or directory symbolic links.

Does anyone know solution or that's a time to replace TC by modern software?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8427
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *petermad » 2019-05-06, 02:04 UTC

zmaxic wrote:
2019-05-05, 19:46 UTC
I didn't find how to use IgnoreLinks in INI.
Help -> Section 4 b. INI-File settings: wincmd.ini
search for IgnoreLinks:
IgnoreLinks=0 Allows to ignore hard links (junctions, reparse points) to directories in various functions. Note: The function "Synchronize dirs" uses a separate option "SyncIgnoreJunctions".
Sum of:
1: copy/move/calculate occupied space
2: internal packers (zip, tar)
4: branch view
8: find files (except when using Everything), re-scan tree
16: ignore links even when they are selected in the current directory. Otherwise only links in selected subdirectories are ignored.
So if you for example want to ignore links both for copy/move/calculate space operations AND for find files operations you set IgnoreLinks=9 (1+8)

Also notice:
CopyLinks=0 Copy file system links (junctions) as links and not as directories:
0: Copy links as dirs or ignore them (if IgnoreLinks has been set)
1: Copy links without changing the target path of the links
2: Copy links and change the target path to the target drive if the link points to the same drive on which the link itself is located.
Example:
c:\path1\link, pointing to c:\path1\path2\linktarget
Copied to d:\trgpath1\trgpath2\link
-> Link now points to d:\trgpath1\trgpath2\path2\linktarget
Note: The function does NOT check whether the target of the link exists or not.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

zmaxic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-05-05, 19:39 UTC

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *zmaxic » 2019-05-06, 03:54 UTC

No, it doesn't work for me.
In .ini file i set IgnoreLinks=1 (i tried 9 and 16 too).
But the result is the same. Some (system) links have no size, but user's link still have size.
How it can be?

Image: https://i.ibb.co/d4FN694/image.jpg
Image: https://i.ibb.co/jh78DqZ/2.jpg

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8427
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *petermad » 2019-05-06, 09:34 UTC

2zmaxic
Did you restart TC after the change?
Are you using 'Everything' for calculating dir sizes?
Do you have any files or folders in that path in your Ignore list?

Also you need to set IgnoreLinks=17 - not 16 if you don't want links in the current dir calculated.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

zmaxic
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-05-05, 19:39 UTC

Re: Why does the TC show the size of symbolic (Junction) links?

Post by *zmaxic » 2019-05-06, 14:49 UTC

I set 31. After it the sizes started to calculate as i expected. :wink:
Before i set 1, 8, 9 = 8 + 1, 16 - no effect. :?
And ofcoz i restarted TC after every changing of settings.

Post Reply