Root (backslash) button

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
ClintE
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-05-08, 01:33 UTC

Root (backslash) button

Post by *ClintE »

Hello All,

I was wondering if there is (maybe ini file?) setting that can make the root button (\) act like it used to do, which was when button pressed, the user would be taken back to root folder, and cursor would be placed at top of folder list. As of latest release, button takes user to root folder, but stays on folder name. Any help / suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Root (backslash) button

Post by *Usher »

You can click breadcrumb with drive letter or add a button to toolbar for obvious command

Code: Select all

cd \
However, I think it's time to add Ctrl+Home as a separate shortcut for this action. Now Ctrl+Home duplicates Home key action.
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Polish subforum moderator
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14792
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Root (backslash) button

Post by *petermad »

Until it is made optional by tyhe author to go to first entry when going to root, you can use this button in stead:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_GoToRoot,cm_GoToFirstEntry

wcmicons.dll,15
Go to root


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".

If you also want the Ctrl+\ keyboard shortcut to do the same, you first have to put this command in your usercmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

[em_gotoroot]
cmd=cm_GoToRoot,cm_GoToFirstEntry
and then put this entry in the [Shortcuts] section of your wincmd.ini file:

Code: Select all

C+OEM_<\>=em_gotoroot

Or if you prefer Ctrl+Home as a shortcut as suggested by Usher, you can use this in your [Shortcuts] section:

Code: Select all

C+HOME=em_gotoroot
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Root (backslash) button

Post by *Usher »

petermad wrote: 2019-08-23, 10:33 UTC Until it is made optional by tyhe author to go to first entry when going to root, you can use this button instead:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_GoToRoot,cm_GoToFirstEntry

wcmicons.dll,15
Go to root


-1
If you prefer association with Home, replace line wcmicons.dll,15 with

Code: Select all

%ProgramFiles%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe,8
or in Windows XP

Code: Select all

%ProgramFiles%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe,6
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Polish subforum moderator
Post Reply