[Help] How to disable parent dir [..] in ALL folders?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

lostcpu
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2006-11-19, 04:55 UTC

[Help] How to disable parent dir [..] in ALL folders?

Post by *lostcpu » 2009-04-19, 13:47 UTC

IMO the parent DIR [..] is useless after TC7.50 with Breadcrumb Bar.
So I just want to Disable it.
Single is simple;Double is trouble.

jjk
Member
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: 2003-07-03, 10:41 UTC

Post by *jjk » 2009-04-19, 15:48 UTC

Configuration > Display uncheck the 4th box.


Edit : oops. Works only for drive root.

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2009-04-19, 15:51 UTC

jjk wrote:Configuration > Display uncheck the 4th box.
No. This disables .. only in the HDD root.
I don't think TC lets you do this currently.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38408
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-04-19, 17:23 UTC

Indeed it doesn't, sorry!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

lostcpu
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2006-11-19, 04:55 UTC

Post by *lostcpu » 2009-04-20, 02:08 UTC

Please make an option to do that,
thx ghisler!
Single is simple;Double is trouble.

User avatar
Sticky
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: 2004-03-11, 23:29 UTC
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Post by *Sticky » 2009-04-20, 03:37 UTC

Keep it so that you can still use home > shift + F6 :-)

User avatar
sidefx88
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: 2007-04-11, 17:07 UTC
Location: Argentina

Post by *sidefx88 » 2009-04-20, 16:32 UTC

I've tried to add the ".." dir to the exclusion list in Options (or tcignore.txt) but it didn't work :(
I Love Total Commander!

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2009-04-20, 21:31 UTC

sidefx88 wrote:I've tried to add the ".." dir to the exclusion list in Options (or tcignore.txt) but it didn't work :(
Yes, and Christian said he's not willing to fix it.

User avatar
sidefx88
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 241
Joined: 2007-04-11, 17:07 UTC
Location: Argentina

Post by *sidefx88 » 2009-04-20, 21:38 UTC

really?

Maybe he may add this as an option...

I didn't use the ".." since years... I prefer the Backspace key to go to the parent directory faster.
I Love Total Commander!

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2009-04-20, 21:48 UTC

Search "behaviour which will not be changed" for the topic and present your opinion in there.

I also use backspace only and when I read lostcpu question it was "how came I never thought about it?". Would be nice but...

VicTiger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-04-28, 10:39 UTC

Post by *VicTiger » 2009-04-28, 10:54 UTC

m^2 wrote:Search "behaviour which will not be changed" for the topic and present your opinion in there.

I also use backspace only and when I read lostcpu question it was "how came I never thought about it?". Would be nice but...
I can't find the related topic in "behaviour which will not be changed", so I reply it on here.

TC is excellent, no doubt. But I'm a Java Progarmmer, so I have a lot of com/oo/xx/aa/bb/cc directory hierarchy. when I have to quickly switch to some specific deepest dir, TC is really annoy me. Let's image it, with the [..] in every directory, I have to press down and enter (I'm a lazy man, lazy to move my hand on mouse, so I always use hotkey, that's why I love TC...), if I do the down/enter key press cycle too fast, I'll back to parent directory again, it's really sxxk.

I was try to walk-around it, I'm trying to find a solution to set the default cursor position on first director/file, but, it's a dead end.

So, if Ghisler read this post, I asking you to reconsider about it, at least, give us a walk-around solution...

User avatar
MS.Blueberry
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: 2008-05-29, 12:47 UTC
Location: France

Post by *MS.Blueberry » 2009-04-28, 16:44 UTC

For me, ".." is very usefull because I use mainly TC with keyboard only so my way to change dir is to stike HOME and RETURN. I know, DEL is also avalaible but I'd like to keep it.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11398
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2009-04-28, 18:16 UTC

MS.Blueberry,
...Backspace, Ctrl-PageUp...

HTH
Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

VicTiger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-04-28, 10:39 UTC

Post by *VicTiger » 2009-04-29, 02:04 UTC

I said I'm a lazy man, so backspace is my favroite when I have to back to parent dir, sometimes, the Home key is too far for me... (I have a HHKB Pro 2, the Home key is a compund key).

If TC has plug-in to support VI's moving way, that would be more better...

shawn
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2007-04-05, 17:30 UTC

Re: [Help] How to disable parent dir [..] in ALL folders?

Post by *shawn » 2019-09-09, 20:12 UTC

I know this is an old post and ghisler already reply that it cannot be done.
But I hope this option (display or hide ".." for ALL folders) can be added or at least considered in the future. Thanks!

Post Reply