UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
Ahu_Lee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: 2016-08-09, 19:34 UTC
Location: Russia

UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Post by *Ahu_Lee »

I'm on Windows 10 and I'm using TC 10.00 (x64)

I get some weird mouse drag issue when I have UseRightButton=0 and UseRubberBandSelection=1 in my configuration and do the following:
  1. Choose at least one path in TC with double backslash (Is it called a virtual directory/folder?). E.g. "cd ::" (but not %UserProfile%\Desktop\)
  2. Do whatever for TC to lose the focus (Clicking somewhere outside the window, using Alt+Tab etc.)
  3. Get the focus back by clicking inside a panel (any panel, it doesn't matter if it has "\" or "\\" in the address bar)
  4. Now if I move the mouse it creates a selection box as if I were holding the left-click. It stops when I double click. I can go back to #2 and repeat it as many times as I want.
Here's the gif:
Image: https://i.imgur.com/MYJENu2.gif
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10828
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Post by *petermad »

2Ahu_Lee
I can confirm this, but only if I in step 3 make a very fast click - if I hold down the mouse-button just a few milliseconds, then the file cursor gets reenabled and it does not occur.

It only seem to occur when there is no visible file cursor in the active panel, and for some reason that is possible to obtain with a very brief mouse click in the file panel when one of the panels is showing a virtual folder, wheras I can not click in a file panel without getting a file cursor when both panels are showing physical folders.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.24b1 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Ahu_Lee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: 2016-08-09, 19:34 UTC
Location: Russia

Re: UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Post by *Ahu_Lee »

petermad,
Thank you, I'm glad to know that it's not just me.

Yes, if I hold down the mouse-button a little longer the problem does not occur. Only in my case it's more like a few hundred milliseconds. A few ms would be way to fast for me :)
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10828
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Post by *petermad »

To Moderators - maybe this should be moved to the bug section?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H1) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1009 (x64)
TC 3.24b1 on Android 6 & 11
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41622
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: UseRubberBandSelection=1 and \\ path in a panel produces mouse drag

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I can reproduce the problem, thanks.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply