Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Ovg
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 718
Joined: 2014-01-06, 16:26 UTC
Location: MOW

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Ovg »

2tuska
Happy to help! :-)
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
#259941, TC 10.00 x64, Windows 7 SP1 x64
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4490
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Horst.Epp »

tuska wrote: 2021-10-13, 00:15 UTC 2Ovg
I would also like to mention that the use of a button with command: cm_ToggleAutoViewModeSwitch
(cm_ToggleAutoViewModeSwitch 2947 Turn automatic view mode switching on/off)
is recommended before entering this directory: c:\tools\wincmd\scripts\ (only example!) - line in the AHK script:

Code: Select all

DestinationFile=c:\tools\wincmd\scripts\Everything.txt
2tuska
That is not needed at all.
The idea is that this dir triggers the loading of the results and is only used for this purpose.
So its empty and there is never a need to enter it.
You should not make things overcomplicated :)
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.258)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64)
User avatar
Ovg
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 718
Joined: 2014-01-06, 16:26 UTC
Location: MOW

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Ovg »

I use temp dir for this :mrgreen:
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
#259941, TC 10.00 x64, Windows 7 SP1 x64
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Horst.Epp wrote: 2021-10-13, 06:18 UTC
tuska wrote: 2021-10-13, 00:15 UTC 2Ovg
I would also like to mention that the use of a button with command: cm_ToggleAutoViewModeSwitch
(cm_ToggleAutoViewModeSwitch 2947 Turn automatic view mode switching on/off)
is recommended before entering this directory: c:\tools\wincmd\scripts\ (only example!) - line in the AHK script:

Code: Select all

DestinationFile=c:\tools\wincmd\scripts\Everything.txt
2tuska
That is not needed at all.
The idea is that this dir triggers the loading of the results and is only used for this purpose.
So its empty and there is never a need to enter it.
You should not make things overcomplicated :)
Well, at the moment I still like to have control over whether the transfer of the search result in Everything
also arrives completely in Total Commander. :)

Example

Code: Select all

Everything search:  ext:bmp
- Everything ....:  5 431 objects
- EV-Results.txt :  5 431 objects
- Error message after execution of the AHK script: "File not found! (17x)"
- Total Commander:  5 409 files
Difference ......:     22 files
I am interested to know which files Total Commander did not show in the search result.

A further check showed that of the 22 missing files, 5 files were no longer available in Everything.
As a result, 17 files were no longer listed in the search result in Total Commander, although they were still present in Everything.

A random check of the 17 files has shown that these files are found during a search in Total Commander
- with or without Everything - but presumably the LOADLIST command did not take them into account.
These were files with attribute "Hidden" and "Admin permission for read access".
Displaying hidden files (cm_SwitchHidSys) before executing the AHK script did not help here.

In order to perform a file comparison in Total Commander, I need to access the file "EV-Results.txt".
Since the 'Auto Switch Mode' "prevents" this -> "Branch View", I switch it off with the command cm_ToggleAutoViewModeSwitch.

Precisely for this reason - at present still possible different numbers of files -
I would also like to keep the Everything window open with the search result.
Because then, with the TC window in the foreground, I can read the search results in the status lines at a glance.
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4490
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Horst.Epp »

2tuska
Of course you are free to modify the ahk script and the whole process around
according to your very specfic needs. :wink:

My intention for the whole game was to get a hotkey solution from the Everything GUI.
I guess this will also be the solution for the majority of TCs Everything user.

An additional benefit is that I can use this with TC, XYplorer and Free Commander as target.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.258)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64)
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Don't get me wrong.
As you can see, I'm just struggling through the issue. :)


Thanks for this tip, by the way: Quick Access Popup (QAP) - Shortcuts
After starting the portable version for the first time, I confirmed the selection item "TC integration".

I managed to set up system-wide shortcuts with this tool and I find them very practical.

Example:

Code: Select all

|  Instance				     |  AltGr+S     (QAP must be open!) **   |  AltGr+D     (QAP must be open!) ***  |
|  					     |  [Ctrl+Alt+S on German keyboard]      |  [Ctrl+Alt+D on German keyboard]      |
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|  Everything ("Main instance")		     |  Open TC and show search results *    |  Open TC and show search results *    |
|  (Toggle window Hotkey: F11)		     |  Everything window stays open         |  Everything window will be closed     |
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|  Everything 1.5.0.1279a (x64) - (PRIVATE)  |  Open TC and show search results *    |  Open TC and show search results *    |
|  (Toggle window Hotkey: SHIFT+F11)   ****  |  Everything window will be closed     |  Everything window stays open         |
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      *  Transferred search results from Everything on tab "Search result:" in Total Commander in "Branch View"
     **  QAP: AltGr+S -> Path\To\Open_Everything_GUI_results_with_TC LOADLIST.exe
    ***  QAP: AltGr+D -> Path\To\Open_Everything_GUI_results_with_TC LOADLIST_instances.exe
   ****  C:\Tools\Everything\Everything_PRIVATE\Everything64.exe -instance "PRIVATE" -startup

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Add trailing backslash to name for folders wrote: Everything 1.5.0.1280a - Oct 14, 2021 adds a folder_append_path_separator ini setting.
...
/folder_append_path_separator=1
...
Everything.ini

Code: Select all

folder_append_path_separator=1
This currently leads to the following results after execution of the AHK script, eg:
D:\Daten\WINWORD\WINWORD_VORLAGEN\\Briefe\
D:\Daten\WINWORD\\Makros\

-> Double backslash before the last folder, instead of just one backslash <-

Since one can now also set a backslash for folders in Everything, I suggest adapting the AHK script again.

Without this new setting in Everything, everything worked perfectly for me before.
However, I would like to use this new setting in Everything.

@Ovg
Can you please adapt the script again?
User avatar
Ovg
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 718
Joined: 2014-01-06, 16:26 UTC
Location: MOW

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Ovg »

2tuska
II'll see today evening, now I'm busy at work, Ok?
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
#259941, TC 10.00 x64, Windows 7 SP1 x64
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Ovg wrote: 2021-10-14, 10:21 UTC 2tuska
II'll see today evening, now I'm busy at work, Ok?
No problem, whenever your time allows.

I noticed another problem with the script anyway:
I have set up these columns in Everything in addition to the standard ones, namely Title, Subject, Tags, Comment, Authors.

When I run the script I get an error message (which is self-explanatory afterwards, i.e. it is OK)
AND
- Partial ... name of authors and contents of column "Comment" in separate lines (!)
- empty lines (!)
in file "EV-Results.txt".

These errors do NOT exist when using only the standard columns, namely Date Modified, Date Created, Date Accessed.

In both cases, I can create, for example, the query: authors:karl.
- Default columns: OK
- Additional columns available: Error message, but the number of files is correct.

Maybe you can also check this on this occasion.
Thanks in advance for your efforts.


Windows 10 Pro (x64) Version 21H1 (OS build 19043.1288)
TC 10.00 x64/x86 | 'Everything' 1.5.0.1280a (x64)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.4OGHz, 16 GB RAM
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4490
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Horst.Epp »

2tuska
My tests with 3 file managers Total Commander (TC), XYplorer (XY) and Free Commander (FC) shows some problems.
The display of a path is showing \\ at the end in TC and XY (this is mostly cosmetic).
Free commander can't handle dir names with \ at the end.

With this test results I will stay with the new option disabled.
It has no advantage for normal usage and the modified TC script will no longer work for Everything 1.4 users.

For TC we already have the script which adds the \ where necessary.
XY runs without any changes.
FC runs with almost the same script as TC.

If you want to have the new option enabled just comment out (add a ; before each line)
the following 2 lines in the script:

If InStr(FileExist(full), "D")
full := full . "\"
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.258)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64)
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Horst.Epp wrote: 2021-10-14, 12:38 UTC 2tuska
If you want to have the new option enabled just comment out (add a ; before each line)
the following 2 lines in the script:

If InStr(FileExist(full), "D")
full := full . "\"
Done. Thanks!

Everything:

Code: Select all

/folder_append_path_separator=1 ... <enter>
Done.

-> Double backslash before the last folder, instead of only one backslash is still present <-

Tested with:
- Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64) ................. instance "Main"
- Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64) - (PRIVATE) ... instance "PRIVATE"

PS:
@Horst.Epp
@Ovg
If it is too much work to adjust the script to the new Everything option,
we can leave it at that and I'll use the working AHK script.

However, the problem with the columns and comments still exists as described above.
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4490
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Horst.Epp »

tuska wrote: 2021-10-14, 13:40 UTC
-> Double backslash before the last folder, instead of only one backslash is still present <-

/viewtopic.php?p=406254#p406254]above[/url].
I don't see any double backslashes.

If you have a non standard coulumn layout
you have to define the correct numbers for the Name and Path columns in the AHK script in the line
EverythingColumnPositions=2,1
Delete the ExportEverythingWindow.ini once before the next run.

Alternativ you can provide the other column layout by editing the ExportEverythingWindow.ini.

The script only reads 2 columns of the Everything results.
I have an additional Tags column for example but this doesn't hurt the script in any way.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.258)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64)
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Horst.Epp wrote: 2021-10-14, 15:29 UTCI don't see any double backslashes.
Yes, because you probably don't have this entry in your Everything.ini:

Code: Select all

folder_append_path_separator=1
I have described above your last post exactly when this effect occurs:
1. AHK script -> 2 lines commented out
2. Everything.ini -> folder_append_path_separator=1 (here is a colour representation)
Horst.Epp wrote: 2021-10-14, 15:29 UTCIf you have a non standard coulumn layout
you have to define the correct numbers for the Name and Path columns in the AHK script in the line
EverythingColumnPositions=2,1
Delete the ExportEverythingWindow.ini once before the next run.

Alternativ you can provide the other column layout by editing the ExportEverythingWindow.ini.

The script only reads 2 columns of the Everything results.
I have an additional Tags column for example but this doesn't hurt the script in any way.
In my case, the "ExportEverythingWindow.ini" is set to
a) Open_Everything_GUI_results_with_TC LOADLIST.ini respectively
b) Open_Everything_GUI_results_with_TC LOADLIST_instances.ini

Content of both .ini files (identical)

Code: Select all

[General]
; Where to save the output (full path)
DestinationFile=D:\Daten\Programme\TotalCommander\TCD_USB-Stick\TC32-64USB\EV-Results\EV-Results.txt

; The columns 'Name' and 'Path' must be visible in the Everything
; window. The first value is the position of the 'Path', the second
; value is the position of the 'Name' column
; Default: 2,1
EverythingColumnPositions=2,1
For example, if I make a change to this value: EverythingColumnPositions=1,2 I get an error message.

My column arrangement is currently as follows for "Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64)":

Code: Select all

Name|Path|Extension|Size|Date Modified|Date Created|Date Accessed|Title|Subject|Tags|Comment|Authors|  --> 12 columns
  2    1
My column arrangement is currently as follows for the further instance: "Everything 1.5.0.1280a (x64) - (PRIVATE)":

Code: Select all

Name|Path|Extension|Size|Date Modified|Date Created|Date Accessed|	--> 7 columns
  2    1
As already mentioned here, the script only works for me without an error message and ***as a rule***
with the instance: "PRIVATE", which has the 7 columns above.

The reason for this is that
- comments (from column 11) and
- authors (from column 12)
are sometimes used when transferring the search result,
and these can then understandably not be processed further in TC.

If I only use the 7 columns mentioned for the main instance (without the "Comment" and "Author" columns),
then I usually do not have any errors in the main instance too. (Search query: D:\Daten\WINWORD\)
User avatar
Ovg
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 718
Joined: 2014-01-06, 16:26 UTC
Location: MOW

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *Ovg »

I rewrote the script and will upload it soon. I added another parameter which overrides EV folder_append_path_separator
Last edited by Ovg on 2021-10-14, 19:13 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
#259941, TC 10.00 x64, Windows 7 SP1 x64
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2559
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Open Everything GUI results with TC LOADLIST

Post by *tuska »

Ovg wrote: 2021-10-14, 19:10 UTC I rewrote the script and will upload it soon.
Nice to hear. :)
Post Reply