Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Yes
359
63%
No
144
25%
I don't care
70
12%
 
Total votes: 573

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8647
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *MVV »

I suspect he uses F1 and F2 for cm_FocusLeft and cm_FocusRight.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 10996
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *petermad »

MVV wrote: 2020-07-17, 06:52 UTC I suspect he uses F1 and F2 for cm_FocusLeft and cm_FocusRight.
And that he doesn't need to use the Help :shock:
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 10.00 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (21H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.1015 (x64)
TC 3.30b5 on Android 6 & 12
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
cyberzip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: 2003-10-10, 09:18 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *cyberzip »

F2 should absolutely be the default for renaming.

I must have changed it 100s of times in all temporary installations I've made during the years in virtual machines.
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2640
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *tuska »

cyberzip wrote: 2020-11-29, 19:36 UTC F2 should absolutely be the default for renaming.
Yes, but unfortunately 75% (63% Yes, 12% I don't care) are still not enough after 17 years.
I doubt whether further voting registrations make any sense here.
cyberzip
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: 2003-10-10, 09:18 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *cyberzip »

tuska wrote: 2020-11-29, 22:09 UTC Yes, but unfortunately 75% (63% Yes, 12% I don't care) are still not enough after 17 years.
I doubt whether further voting registrations make any sense here.
I think 75% is the best reason we can ever get, just let's do it. :)
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3409
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *Stefan2 »

cyberzip wrote: 2020-11-29, 19:36 UTC ...
I must have changed it 100s of times in all temporary installations I've made during the years in virtual machines.

With the setup or the xcopy-deploy you can also just copy a prepared WINCMD.INI to your VMs


WINCMD.INI
[Configuration]
..
..
[Shortcuts]
;Enable 'F2'-key to start inline-rename mode, additional to origin 'Shift+F6'
F2=cm_RenameOnly
;Enable 'Ctrl+F' to start find-files, additional to origin 'Alt+F7'
C+F=cm_SearchFor
;Use 'Ctrl+O' to launch DOS-Box in current path
C+o=cm_ExecuteDOS
;Ctrl+0 (zero) to execute user defined command to launch PoSh in current path
C+0=em_LaunchPowerShell
....
...
.






 
pplupo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: 2019-12-02, 16:26 UTC
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *pplupo »

I so wanted f2 to become the default for renaming!!! I also miss F5 for refresh, but this is matter for another post.
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *Usher »

2pplupo
You shouldn't mix hotkey layout for Windows with layout for orthodox file managers. It would be better to change the whole layout, otherwise you may lose all your data.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
pplupo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: 2019-12-02, 16:26 UTC
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *pplupo »

Usher wrote: 2021-06-18, 23:59 UTC 2pplupo
You shouldn't mix hotkey layout for Windows with layout for orthodox file managers. It would be better to change the whole layout, otherwise you may lose all your data.
I'm sorry, I don't quite follow. Can you elaborate? How changing hotkeys on TC would cause data loss?
pto2k
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2022-01-09, 06:59 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *pto2k »

Hi

It seems many people are in favor of F2 for renaming over these years. Sadly it is still not implemented.
Seriously, what's the point of the poll then?

My guess is, many of the yes voters are new users like me, who start to use the software and had to googled here looking for solution.
For me, actually, I googled a couple of other issues and questions on how to use TC.
I learned some tips and tricks and maybe keep using it.
But, my guess again, many others with less patience will fail to climb the learning curve and just come to a conclusion that this is not for them.

It's a loss to TC I think. It deserved to be used by more people.

Thank you.
User avatar
solid
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 606
Joined: 2004-08-09, 11:20 UTC

Re: Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *solid »

The pool was started almost two decades ago. I doubt that it will make any difference now.

But as a compromise, some 'wizard on the first run' can be added, which will allow to new users to choose some default settings, and selecting keyboard shortcut for renaming should be definitely there.
Along with 'sorting directories' and 'square brackets' and some other most asked options from new users.
Post Reply