Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

The behaviour described in the bug report is either by design, or would be far too complex/time-consuming to be changed

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1438
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *Usher »

There is no option for configuring 64-bit IrfanView in 64-bit TC. "Configure Lister" dialog hints i_view32.exe name for path search.
There is only one option in wincmd.ini for that path: IViewPath, so it's impossible to use both i_view32 in 32-bit TC and i_view64in 64-bit TC with the same wincmd.ini. Or maybe I am missing something?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *tuska »

wincmd.ini - example:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
Viewer=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe "%1"

[Lister]
IViewPath=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe
... works for me in TC 10.50RC4 x86, x64.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 43464
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Since you can call both 32-bit and 64-bit Irfanview from 64-bit TC, but on 32-bit only systems only call 32-bit Irfanview from 32-bit TC, I prefer to let the user configure 32-bit Irfanview. They are free to manually choose 64-bit Irfanview, though. When you click >> it looks for *.exe so you can also pick 64-bit Irfanview.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1438
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *Usher »

tuska wrote: 2022-07-02, 21:31 UTC wincmd.ini - example:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
Viewer=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe "%1"

[Lister]
IViewPath=%COMMANDER_PATH%\Tools\IrfanView-portable-64bit\IrfanView\i_view64.exe
... works for me in TC 10.50RC4 x86, x64.
You can't do it when you want to run portable TC in Windows XP.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *tuska »

2Usher
Sorry, I forgot to mention that I use this in
Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 21H2 (OS build 22000.778).
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1438
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *Usher »

And some IV plugins works better in 64-bit, so 64-bit IrfanView is sometimes also needed.
That way I have to play more with different ini files and redirected sections and it slowly goes Art for art's sake.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 43464
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Missing options for configuring 64-bit IrfanView

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sorry, I don't have any plans to change this for the above reason.

Moderator message

Moved to "will not be changed"
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply