TC doesn't recognize sd card

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Post Reply
eriksnoey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-05-10, 17:28 UTC

TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *eriksnoey »

On my old tablet, TC recognizes an SD card plugged in via cable. I recently bought a new tablet but I can't see the card. This concerns Samsung A9+ that supports OTG. I can't get it added either. Must be something simple. Who can help me?
By the way, it doesn't work on my phone either.
User avatar
HerbieH
Member
Member
Posts: 148
Joined: 2003-02-11, 10:04 UTC

Re: TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *HerbieH »

There can be lots of reasons for, what you describe, and I can only tell you, what I would do, if I was you.
- In the following order:

1) Make some tests with another SD card in both your phone and tablet.
2) test your possible faulty SD card on a computer with a good virus checker running (Guess why.)
3) Seek help from a reliable adult person.

PS. I'm not a newbie, but still benefits from help and advice from other people that I trust. (Google 'the synergy effect'.)
HerbieH*
-Keep on makin' music!
User avatar
nsp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1823
Joined: 2005-12-04, 08:39 UTC
Location: Lyon (FRANCE)
Contact:

Re: TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *nsp »

Moderator message from: nsp » 2024-05-11, 16:33 UTC

moved to TC 4 android topics
In new Android OS, you need to have a user defined place Big + on home screen.
eriksnoey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-05-10, 17:28 UTC

Re: TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *eriksnoey »

I have the blue + on the home screen, but there is no sd card to be seen even when I use another one
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48187
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Do you see the SD card in the file picker, e.g. when you go to the home folder and then click on "User-defined location"? It should be listed when clicking on the "hamburger menu", the 3 horizontal lines in the top left of the dialog.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
eriksnoey
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-05-10, 17:28 UTC

Re: TC doesn't recognize sd card

Post by *eriksnoey »

It appeared to be simple: I bought a new cardreader and it works!!
Post Reply