Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *nemadeka »

Good day,
I use Lister for viewing saved txt data and copypasting it into other spots, mainly online forms.
Usually a few Lister windows are open, and I switch between them using Alt+Tab.
It would be nice to have a keyboard shortcut which would shuffle between the Lister windows, I suggest Ctrl+F6, because it is already present in MS Word and does exactly the thing I need in Lister.
Thank you.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 15997
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *petermad »

2nemadeka
I suggest Ctrl+F6
Ctrl+F6 is already used for sorting by size - please see keyboard.txt before suggesting new hotkeys (or Main menu -> Help -> Keyboard)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9943
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *Dalai »

2petermad
I guess nemadeka refers to the shortcut while a Lister window is active.
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 15997
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *petermad »

2Dalai
Yea, but can it be made without a System-wide shortcut?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9943
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *Dalai »

I doubt that a Lister has knowledge of other open Lister windows. But TC itself has that knowledge, since TC is able to close all Lister windows belonging to that TC instance when closing TC.

So maybe Lister could, upon receiving this hotkey, send a message to the TC main window so that TC can switch to the next Lister window of the same TC instance. That's just an idea of how it could work in theory. I don't know if it's possible to implement it like this. One thing is certain: It wouldn't work across multiple TC instances, especially ones that run under different user accounts or as administrator.
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups, CertificateInfo, SignatureInfo, LineBreakInfo - Download-Mirror
Fla$her
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2981
Joined: 2020-01-18, 04:03 UTC

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *Fla$her »

2nemadeka
Instead of windows, you can use tabs with the tLister plugin on TC x32.
The keys and modifiers are configured in tlister.ini.
Overquoting is evil! 👎
hi5
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 637
Joined: 2012-11-03, 11:35 UTC
Contact:

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *hi5 »

For those that use AutoHotkey, the following v1 code should do the trick as an intermediate solution, this can be added to your "main" ahk script of course. Ctrl-Tab and Ctrl-Shift-Tab as hotkeys would by my suggestion, but here ctrl-f6 and ctrl-shift-f6:

Code: Select all

GroupAdd, listerWindows, ahk_class TLister ahk_exe TOTALCMD.EXE
GroupAdd, listerWindows, ahk_class TLister ahk_exe TOTALCMD64.EXE

#IfWinActive, ahk_group listerWindows

^F6::    ; Next lister window
WinGetClass, ActiveClass, A
WinSet, Bottom,, A
WinActivate, ahk_class %ActiveClass%
return

+^F6::   ; Previous lister window
WinGetClass, ActiveClass, A
WinActivateBottom, ahk_class %ActiveClass%
return

#IfWinActive
F4MiniMenu (Forum) - Open selected file(s) from TC in defined editor(s) - A (minimalistic) clone of F4Menu
Source at GitHub (AutoHotkey). TCSyncComments (copy file comments)
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *nemadeka »

Dalai wrote: 2024-11-26, 11:29 UTC 2petermad
I guess nemadeka refers to the shortcut while a Lister window is active.
Exactly
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *nemadeka »

Fla$her wrote: 2024-11-29, 05:51 UTC 2nemadeka
Instead of windows, you can use tabs with the tLister plugin on TC x32.
The keys and modifiers are configured in tlister.ini.
Thanks a lot, I will try it.
nemadeka
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: 2009-04-26, 19:44 UTC

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *nemadeka »

Dalai wrote: 2024-11-27, 00:30 UTC<snip>
So maybe Lister could, upon receiving this hotkey, send a message<snip>
Another good option would be to have a tabbed Lister with Ctrl+TAB for switching bteween the tabs, I suggested it approximately 98 years ago.
Fla$her
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2981
Joined: 2020-01-18, 04:03 UTC

Re: Wanted -- lister windows shuffle hotkey

Post by *Fla$her »

2nemadeka
The main problem is that some plugins have their own tabs, which are already switched by Ctrl+Tab, so I've been using Shift+Tab/[`~] in tlister for a long time.

Code: Select all

nexttab=0x09
previoustab=0xC0
nexttabmod=0x4
previoustabmod=0x4
Overquoting is evil! 👎
Post Reply