Jump to file/folder by pressing the first letter in its name

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Tabu
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-07-27, 23:15 UTC

Jump to file/folder by pressing the first letter in its name

Post by *Tabu »

Explorer has this wonderfull feature, that for some reason, TC dosent?
If your browsing files, by pressing a letter on the keyboard, you instantly jump to the first file or folder that starts with that letter, by pressing the same letter on the keyboard again, it will jump to the next file/folder in the row.
Is there a similar function in TC?, im kinda getting tired of having to switch to mouse or holding down the arrow keys when working in directories with many folder.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9810
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Configuration -> Options -> Operation -> Quick search (current dir)

Here you can selet which keyboard combination to use for that function - or choose to disable it.

And note - the function is more advanced than Explorers - You can type the first few characters of a file, not only the first lettter, and you can use wildcards (*?) in your search. Using Arrow-down or Arrow-up wil go to the next/previous match of your search criteria.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (2004) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.988 (x64)
TC 3.10b8 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended TC Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Sir_SiLvA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2003-05-06, 11:46 UTC

Post by *Sir_SiLvA »

Only Letter works like Explorer...
Tabu
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-07-27, 23:15 UTC

Post by *Tabu »

thx a bunch, that really helped me.. There is so many things in this program that are really great, you just gotta know them in order to use them :) Now I know one more great thing
.el3o4l
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-02-10, 16:16 UTC

Quick Search enhancement request

Post by *.el3o4l »

Yes, the Quick Search is very good compared to the Windows Explorer. But I think it would be great if it would be possible to hide the not matching file like for example Opera does it when searching in it's bookmarks.
User avatar
ado
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 444
Joined: 2003-02-18, 13:22 UTC
Location: Slovakia, Pezinok

Post by *ado »

It was already discussed - just search forum.
Anyway, you can press Num+, select files and then in menu Show -> Only selected files.
Also in quick search window you can use Arrow up/down to cycle through all matching files

Ado
User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

ado wrote:Also in quick search window you can use Arrow up/down to cycle through all matching files
Or [Ctrl]+[enter] if this fits your needs better.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams
sacomm
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-12-26, 18:46 UTC
Location: Weggis, Switzerland

Post by *sacomm »

Helped me too thanks!
awa5114
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-07-02, 13:57 UTC

Re: Jump to file/folder by pressing the first letter in its name

Post by *awa5114 »

What about numbers? If I do Ctrl+Alt+Number It won't jump to the right folder!
User avatar
norfie²
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 853
Joined: 2006-02-10, 07:27 UTC

Re: Jump to file/folder by pressing the first letter in its name

Post by *norfie² »

2awa5114
I do not have problems with CTRL+ALT+Number. It jumps to the right folder here.
"War is evil, in so far as it makes more bad people than it takes away."
Immanuel Kant in "Perpetual Peace"
User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 885
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Jump to file/folder by pressing the first letter in its name

Post by *Usher »

It works for numbers on the main keyboard only. Numeric Keypad is useless in this case.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak
Post Reply