How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

English support forum

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

2Peter18
If you open the pack dialog (Alt+F5) and click on the button above "* needs external packer" do you then see 7zip-zip in the dropdown list - like here:
https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/7zip-zip.png ?

You can NOT use

Code: Select all

[Packer]
UnZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe""
It will NOT work, because TC passes parameters to the UnZip program that is not supported by 7-Zip

Also you should not use:

Code: Select all

ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe""
but:

Code: Select all

ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
AntonyD
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1554
Joined: 2006-11-04, 15:30 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *AntonyD »

2petermad
You are certainly doing a great educational job, introducing to the masses the correct use of Total as an almost “omnipotent utility”
BUT! Isn’t it true, a more correct answer to this question (on the topic of this topic) would be the following phrase:

There is currently no built-in ability to simply and intuitively replace pure-ZIP support with 7-zip in the TC.
Any actions you take will only work under certain circumstances. Like any workarounds.
Moreover, you will not be able to drag FULL support for the 7-zip command line functionality inside Total.

In addition, we already need to take into account the new Windows 11 native 7-Zip support!
#146217 personal license
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

petermad wrote: 2024-07-17, 10:26 UTC 2Peter18
If you open the pack dialog (Alt+F5) and click on the button above "* needs external packer" do you then see 7zip-zip in the dropdown list - like here:
https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/7zip-zip.png ?

You can NOT use

Code: Select all

[Packer]
UnZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe""
It will NOT work, because TC passes parameters to the UnZip program that is not supported by 7-Zip

Also you should not use:

Code: Select all

ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe""
but:

Code: Select all

ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
Yes I see the 7zip_zip option:
Image: https://imgur.com/P5fBrIk
And it makes a regular zip file as result. With same size as if just simply the "zip" option is selected. Not sure if 7-Zip is really working in this case or just the internal TC packer...??

I have edited the code and changed the path to 7zG.exe.

So how to make 7-Zip also work for unpacking with TC?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

Not sure if 7-Zip is really working in this case or just the internal TC packer...??
It is 7-zip that works if you see this kind of progress dialog: https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/7zip_zip_progress.png
It is the internal zip that works if you see this kind of progress dialog: https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/zip_progress.png

With same size as if just simply the "zip" option is selected
Well if you have:

Code: Select all

[Packer]
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
InternalZip=0
zip7z=1
then either selecting ZIP or 7zip_zip both uses 7-zip for the packing, so off course the file is the same size.

If you enable "Use internal Zip packer":

Code: Select all

[Packer]
InternalZip=1
then you wil probably get a little bigger file when you use the ZIP option.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

petermad wrote: 2024-07-17, 19:07 UTC
Not sure if 7-Zip is really working in this case or just the internal TC packer...??
It is 7-zip that works if you see this kind of progress dialog: https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/7zip_zip_progress.png
It is the internal zip that works if you see this kind of progress dialog: https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/zip_progress.png

With same size as if just simply the "zip" option is selected
Well if you have:

Code: Select all

[Packer]
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
InternalZip=0
zip7z=1
then either selecting ZIP or 7zip_zip both uses 7-zip for the packing, so off course the file is the same size.

If you enable "Use internal Zip packer":

Code: Select all

[Packer]
InternalZip=1
then you wil probably get a little bigger file when you use the ZIP option.
Yes both in the case of zip and 7zip packing I get the pup-up with the 7-Zip logo as on your picture.

But not for unpacking! With both zip and 7zip files unpacking I get this "regular" TC progression pop-up:
Image: https://imgur.com/EX9HkEN

All this with the option "Always use internal unzipping (if possible)" selected in the Packer options in TC.
If I "dis-select" this option, the unpacking of a 7zip file still works, but doesn't work with zip files. In the case of zip files I get the following error pop-up: Image: https://i.imgur.com/EBLQueh.jpeg

But I have already mentioned this before...

So I guess it still doesn't work at all for unpacking... Any words on this?
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6954
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Peter18 wrote: 2024-07-18, 04:05 UTC But not for unpacking! With both zip and 7zip files unpacking I get this "regular" TC progression pop-up:
Image: https://imgur.com/EX9HkEN

All this with the option "Always use internal unpacker if possible" selected in the Packer options in TC.
If I "dis-select" this option I get the following error pop-up: Image: https://i.imgur.com/EBLQueh.jpeg

But I have already mentioned this before...

So I guess it still doesn't work at all for unpacking... Any words on this?
To solve that, I have assigned zip to the Total7zip plugin like this
zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
This way it definitely uses the installed 7z for unpacking.

To just uncompress any archive type fully into the target, I have the following button

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
"C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe"
x  %P%N -o"%T"
C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zFM.exe,1
Uncompress to Target

0
-1
Windows 11 Home, Version 24H2 (OS Build 26100.3915)
TC 11.51 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1391a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.5.2.0, Listary Pro 6.3.2.88
QAP 11.6.4.2.1 x64
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

Horst.Epp wrote: 2024-07-18, 06:48 UTC
Peter18 wrote: 2024-07-18, 04:05 UTC But not for unpacking! With both zip and 7zip files unpacking I get this "regular" TC progression pop-up:
Image: https://imgur.com/EX9HkEN

All this with the option "Always use internal unpacker if possible" selected in the Packer options in TC.
If I "dis-select" this option I get the following error pop-up: Image: https://i.imgur.com/EBLQueh.jpeg

But I have already mentioned this before...

So I guess it still doesn't work at all for unpacking... Any words on this?
To solve that, I have assigned zip to the Total7zip plugin like this
zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
This way it definitely uses the installed 7z for unpacking.

To just uncompress any archive type fully into the target, I have the following button

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
"C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe"
x  %P%N -o"%T"
C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zFM.exe,1
Uncompress to Target

0
-1
I have already added this line to the config file and mentioned before, that it still doesn't work for me with zip files and still getting this error pop-up: Image: https://i.imgur.com/EBLQueh.jpeg

Code: Select all

[PackerPlugins]
7zip_zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
TotalObserver=68,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\TotalObserver\TotalObserver.wcx
zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
[Packer]
RememberLastPassword=1
InternalZip=0
InternalUnzip=0
zipnt=0
zip7z=1
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
InternalZipRate=9
Zip83Name=0
ZipSetDateToNewest=0
nodelete=0
OpenPartial=0
LastUsedPacker64=10003
LastUsedPacker=1
DefPlugin=7zip
ZIPRecurseSubdirs=1
[SearchText]
0=40A4BG
1=A220341
2=V0000
3=V0004
4=30I.N1027
5=30I
6=V0004.06
7=N1027
8=V0004.06.30I.N1027
9=Errno
10=Errno 22
11=Errno 13
12=Timeout
13=Getaddrinfo
14=Gaierror
15=decryption
16=Connection
17=Socket
18=Invalid argument
19=Permission denied
[PackerPlugins64]
$checksum$=3133654233
exts=7zip_zip*TotalObserver*zip*zip*7zip*
So if it works for you this way, what could be the problem with mine?

(And as I wrote before, I have made your buttons for "full" packing and unpacking and they work fine, but I also would like to get it working with specific files/diectories unpacking with zip files...)
User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5753
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *white »

Moderator message from: white » 2024-07-18, 08:11 UTC

Peter18 wrote: 2024-07-18, 04:18 UTC
Deleted the post before this post for the following reason
» duplicate post, the user posted an improved version of this post below it
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

2Peter18
in you wincmd.ini you have:

Code: Select all

UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
But do you have a pkunzip.exe file in your system? If you do, it will work with if you add the path to pkunzip.exe - but then it will be pkunzip that unpacks the zip file, not 7-zip.

As said before you can you can NOT make TC use 7zG.exe for unpacking zip files by using the UNZIP parameter.

You can make TC use 7-zip for unpacking 7z (not -zip) files by removing or renaming the file Tc7z64.dll in TC's program directory - then it will use the Total7zip plugin.

But TC's internal 7z unpacker (Tc7z64.dll) is based on the official standalone unpacker from 7-zip, so there is no reason to believe that it should be slower.


You should not have:

Code: Select all

zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
in your ini file - at best it will not work, and it could give problems.
___________________________________

But now that we have made it work for the 7zip_zip extension for you, then we can go further.

You can configure TC to OPEN a zip file with the Total7zip plugin by making an internal association to *.zip files using this for the Open action: **7zip_zip - see: https://tcmd.madsenworld.dk/7zipassociation.png
in wincmd.ini the code would be:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
Where you would have to change the 1's if you already have other internal associations.

Then when you press Enter or Ctrl+PgDn, or Double-click a .zip file, it will now use 7-zip to open it and ALSO for copying files from the opened zip file. It will still be TC's unpacking dialog that is shown though.

You can check whether the zip file is opened with Total7zip: Highlight a file inside the zip-file and press Alt+Enter - if the properties dialog show:
Packer: 7zip_zip
then it is opened with the plugin.

If You press Alt+F9 on the zip file, it will still use the standard method of unpacking the entire file.

So to summarize - use:

Code: Select all

[PackerPlugins]
7zip_zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx

[Packer]
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
InternalZip=0
zip7z=1
InternalUnzip=1

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
___________________________________

I recommend that you use %COMMANDER_PATH% instead of "C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed" - then it will also work if you use it with a TC installed elsewhere.

You can use:

Code: Select all

pluginbasedir=%COMMANDER_PATH%\PLUGINS
in the [Configuration] section of your wincmd.ini - then TC will use that for future plugin installations.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

petermad wrote: 2024-07-18, 11:50 UTC 2Peter18
in you wincmd.ini you have:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

- - - - Modified by Moderator: Peter18, please do no such big full quoting, thank you - - - -


I have renamed the Tc7z64.dll file and modified the wincmd.ini and now the correspondent part looks like this:

Code: Select all

[PackerPlugins]
7zip_zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
TotalObserver=68,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\TotalObserver\TotalObserver.wcx
7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
[Packer]
RememberLastPassword=1
InternalZip=0
InternalUnzip=1
zipnt=0
zip7z=1
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
InternalZipRate=9
Zip83Name=0
ZipSetDateToNewest=0
nodelete=0
OpenPartial=0
LastUsedPacker64=10003
LastUsedPacker=1
DefPlugin=7zip
ZIPRecurseSubdirs=1
[SearchText]
0=40A4BG
1=A220341
2=V0000
3=V0004
4=30I.N1027
5=30I
6=V0004.06
7=N1027
8=V0004.06.30I.N1027
9=Errno
10=Errno 22
11=Errno 13
12=Timeout
13=Getaddrinfo
14=Gaierror
15=decryption
16=Connection
17=Socket
18=Invalid argument
19=Permission denied
[PackerPlugins64]
$checksum$=3785590797
exts=7zip_zip*TotalObserver*7zip*
[Associations]
Filter0=*.zip
Filter0_open=**7zip_zip
But now it doesn't even "open" a 7zip file and just gives the "Error in packed file..." pop-up. And for the zip files it seems it still uses the internal unpacker as the Alt+Enter dialog pop-up still shows "Pakcer: zip".
So something still needs to be refined here...

Edit: I have now changed back the Tc7z64.dll file to it's original name and opening and unpacking 7zip files is working again, but with the Alt+Enter checking it shows "Packer =7zip (zip)" rather than that you've mentioned "Packer= 7Zip_zip"). Tho' I'm not sure if this makes any difference..? :?: But I guess it does, so now it's still (again) using the TC's own Tc7z64.dll method rather than the "installed" 7-zip. So There's still no stepping forward in this...
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

2Peter18
But now it doesn't even "open" a 7zip file
When you write a 7zip file do you mean a file with the extension .7zip or with the extension .7z - or both.

Do you remember to restart your TC each time you have made changes in the wincmd.ini file?

You should change:

Code: Select all

7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
to:

Code: Select all

7z=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
or add:

Code: Select all

7z=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx


I have now changed back the Tc7z64.dll file to it's original name and opening and unpacking 7zip files is working again
if you want to use the plugin to open .7zip and .7z files you need to add it to the internal association to:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
Also - make sure that you don't have two [Associations] sections in your wincmd.ini
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

petermad wrote: 2024-07-19, 10:00 UTC 2Peter18
But now it doesn't even "open" a 7zip file
When you write a 7zip file do you mean a file with the extension .7zip or with the extension .7z - or both.

Do you remember to restart your TC each time you have made changes in the wincmd.ini file?

You should change:

Code: Select all

7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
to:

Code: Select all

7z=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
or add:

Code: Select all

7z=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx


I have now changed back the Tc7z64.dll file to it's original name and opening and unpacking 7zip files is working again
if you want to use the plugin to open .7zip and .7z files you need to add it to the internal association to:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter0=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter0_open=**7zip_zip
Also - make sure that you don't have two [Associations] sections in your wincmd.ini
Ok, now after these few changes it looks like this:

Code: Select all

[PackerPlugins]
7zip_zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
TotalObserver=68,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\TotalObserver\TotalObserver.wcx
7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7z=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
[Packer]
RememberLastPassword=1
InternalZip=0
InternalUnzip=1
zipnt=0
zip7z=1
ZIP=""C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7zG.exe""
UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
InternalZipRate=9
Zip83Name=0
ZipSetDateToNewest=0
nodelete=0
OpenPartial=0
LastUsedPacker64=10002
LastUsedPacker=1
DefPlugin=7zip
ZIPRecurseSubdirs=1
[SearchText]
0=40A4BG
1=A220341
2=V0000
3=V0004
4=30I.N1027
5=30I
6=V0004.06
7=N1027
8=V0004.06.30I.N1027
9=Errno
10=Errno 22
11=Errno 13
12=Timeout
13=Getaddrinfo
14=Gaierror
15=decryption
16=Connection
17=Socket
18=Invalid argument
19=Permission denied
[PackerPlugins64]
$checksum$=3785590797
exts=7zip_zip*TotalObserver*7zip*
[Associations]
Filter0=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter0_open=**7zip_zip
I have checked and there's no other "Associations" section within the file. (And of course I do restart TC after every wincmd modification...)

What have changed: With Alt+Enter checking of 7z files inside it now shows: "Packer: 7z". Guest that's right now? Or it still has to be something else? Like precisely "Packer= 7Zip_zip"? Unpacking of 7zip files working fine.

Alt+Enter checking of a zip file inside still shows: "Packer: zip". So we are being still get stuck with this part. When "Use internal unzipper..." is unchecked in the "Zip Packer" settings the unpacking of zip files doesn't even work at all (error message as I wrote before)...

Edit: Does now TC7Z64.DLL still matter? Should I rename it, or can I left it as it is?
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

2Peter18
Please - don't quote the entire previous message when you answer.

With Alt+Enter checking of 7z files inside it now shows: "Packer: 7z"
with: Filter0=*.zip *.7z *.7zip it should show 7zip_zip

Does now TC7Z64.DLL still matter?
Leave it as TC7Z64.DLL.

Could you please try and remove:

Code: Select all

7zip=735,C:\NEW Desktop PC - MyFiles\Utils and Drivers\Total Commander - Installed\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16009
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *petermad »

2Peter18

It is my bad - so sorry! - the associations has to start with Filter1 - so use:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
I have now tested it with a new wincmd.ini file only containing this:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
FirstTimeIconLib=0
UseNewDefFont=1
SetEncoding=äö.do.not.remove
firstmnu=2938
SeparateTree=0
PanelsVertical=0
FirstTimeUnpack=0
FirstTimeZIP=0
test=176

[PackerPlugins]
7z=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7zip_zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
TotalObserver=68,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\TotalObserver\TotalObserver.wcx

[Packer]
RememberLastPassword=1
InternalZip=0
InternalUnzip=1
zipnt=0
zip7z=1
ZIP=%ProgramFiles%\7-Zip\7zG.exe
UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
InternalZipRate=9
Zip83Name=0
ZipSetDateToNewest=1
nodelete=0
OpenPartial=0
LastUsedPacker=1
ZIPRecurseSubdirs=1
DefPlugin=7zip_zip
LastUsedPacker64=10002

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
I have changed Filter0 to Filter1 in my previous posts

___________________________

BTW 7-zip itself (7zFM.exe) does NOT offer to pack .7zip files, only .7z files so I would remove:

Code: Select all

7zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
Peter18
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: 2020-09-17, 04:58 UTC

Re: How to make 7-Zip as default .zip and .7z packer/unpacker in TC?

Post by *Peter18 »

petermad wrote: 2024-07-19, 11:55 UTC 2Peter18

It is my bad - so sorry! - the associations has to start with Filter1 - so use:

Code: Select all

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
I have now tested it with a new wincmd.ini file only containing this:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
FirstTimeIconLib=0
UseNewDefFont=1
SetEncoding=äö.do.not.remove
firstmnu=2938
SeparateTree=0
PanelsVertical=0
FirstTimeUnpack=0
FirstTimeZIP=0
test=176

[PackerPlugins]
7z=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
7zip_zip=735,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\Total7zip\Total7zip.wcx
TotalObserver=68,%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins\wcx\TotalObserver\TotalObserver.wcx

[Packer]
RememberLastPassword=1
InternalZip=0
InternalUnzip=1
zipnt=0
zip7z=1
ZIP=%ProgramFiles%\7-Zip\7zG.exe
UnZIP=pkunzip.exe
InternalZipRate=9
Zip83Name=0
ZipSetDateToNewest=1
nodelete=0
OpenPartial=0
LastUsedPacker=1
ZIPRecurseSubdirs=1
DefPlugin=7zip_zip
LastUsedPacker64=10002

[Associations]
Filter1=*.zip *.7z *.7zip
Filter1_open=**7zip_zip
I have changed Filter0 to Filter1 in my previous posts
Ok, now with Alt+Enter it shows "Packer: Zip_zip" for both 7-Zip and zip files. Unpacking woks fine and if it's sure this way now, that it uses the "installed" 7-Zip for unpacking both 7-zip and zip files, than I guess it's all fine now...

Thank you for the help here once again! :)
Post Reply