FavMenu 2.0

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Thx, I will fix it.
Habemus majkam!
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Some new screenshots of the feauture of the Favmenu.



www.r-moth.com/_/menu/_clip1.png
www.r-moth.com/_/menu/_clip2.png
Habemus majkam!
User avatar
Stitscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1058
Joined: 2004-02-17, 12:34 UTC
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by *Stitscher »

majkinetor ! wrote:Some new screenshots of the feauture of the Favmenu.



www.r-moth.com/_/menu/_clip1.png
www.r-moth.com/_/menu/_clip2.png
Nice screenshot, Luke majkam! :)

When we can expect a beta?

Stitscher
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Well.... there is one problem, and I don't know if it can be solved. There is an error while using submenus of the main menu with the keyboard (with the mouse it works OK). Randomly it doesn't draw anything but the first item. Windows is sending some messages to the script but script isn't receiving them. It is probably some AHK bug or I am pusing the limits of AHK hard as it is not designed for low level operations (menu is programmed using WIN SDK Specs) and lets hope that it can be solved. If it makes sense to use menus without the keybord, it doesn't in this case (I use FM mainly with keyboard).

So, if we solve this problem soon, menu command is over and I can integrate it into FM. If not, there is nothing I can do except to try to fix refreshing in current setup.

In second case, I am thinking of rewriting FM in C. It is pretty much entirley in API calls already.

I will let you know what is going to be as soon as I find out.


Thx for patience and feedback.
Habemus majkam!
User avatar
gbo
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: 2005-03-31, 19:58 UTC
Location: Lausanne (Switzerland)

Post by *gbo »

Hi,

I use InplaceRenamePath=2 in wincmd.ini the consequence is that sometimes I want to go to the clicked folder and instead favmenu popup.

To solve the problem I modified the file tc_hook.ahk and added
[global clkTime] otherwise the [if (A_TickCount - clkTime < 300)] was not working all the other changes (put in comments) are only for testing purpose.

Code: Select all

	if !Favmenu_TCFlag
	{
		global clkTime
		Favmenu_TCFlag := true
		clkTime := A_TickCount
		;msgbox, %clkTime%
		Click down
	}
	else 
		if (A_TickCount - clkTime < 300)
		{
			
			;ElapsedTime := A_TickCount - clkTime
			;MsgBox,  %ElapsedTime% milliseconds have elapsed.
				
			Favmenu_TCFlag := false

			t := Favmenu_Options_MenuPos
			Favmenu_Options_MenuPos := 1
			FavMenu_Create()
			Favmenu_Options_MenuPos := t
		}
		else {
			clkTime := A_TickCount
			Click down
		}
}
HTH
Gil
Licence #17346

90% of coding is debugging. The other 10% is writing bugs.
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Well, this part indeed needed changes.

I am not going to change anything in favmenu for now as some "negotiations" are in place with AHK author to fix bugs related to visual updates to the menu. New menu is not released yet as of some serious AHK limiatations of windows message handling. Chris today send me the test version of AHK that partialy fixes this problem with light visuals using algorythm as done by Leftious. My extended menu above that has everything customizable wasn't fixed, and Chris told me that it is low priority bug as not many users will ever encounter it (well, nobody do low level programming in AHK).

So, new version of Favmenu with above visuals will probably not see the Sun as Chris will probably not fix this AHK bug. So, remains one possiblity - to change the menu to be simple with icons as in Leftious demo work or to entirly drop AHK and switch to C. In latter case Favmenu will be redesigned completely to support per application favorites, new fancy menu, possible plugins etc... but that is big job to do and I don't know when/if I am going to start it.

This is the relevant part of the mail from the Chris:
The problem is that AutoHotkey checks messages even during a critical
script-thread because otherwise, the script would hang if the thread takes a
long time to finish (or never finishes). When checking messages, AutoHotkey
must respond to system messages immediately because there's no way for it to
return control to the underlying critical thread until all new messages have
been processed (this is because AutoHotkey has only one true thread to
handle all script threads). But if during this time a monitored message
arrives whose subroutine is already running, that subroutine is not launched
again (by design) because that would create a thread safety issue
(reentrancy) that few scripts are designed to deal with. Instead, such
messages are treated as unmonitored and so the script never sees them.



There is no easy way to re-queue or buffer such messages because that would
result in complications such as messages being processed out of the order in
which they were originally posted, which in addition to being improper could
lead to side-effects. In addition, if AutoHotkey does not regularly process
messages during a critical thread, painting, redrawing, and other
time-critical events would be delayed, which might cause GUI windows to
misbehave (or at least show visual lag).
majkinetor wrote:I told you I have very good API people around me and I can broadcast call for help. Also, good programers from forum might be able to help. You must be aware that this is very serious limitation - I encounter it in some form in almost every script I wrote dealing with messages less then 0x312 (and they will most probably fell into this range).

There have been few if any other reports about this issue. Even so, I hope
you see that I do take it seriously since I did make a change the program to
try to address it. I'm willing to make further changes, but only when I'm
convinced they actually help in practice vs. theory.
Habemus majkam!
rolandd
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 313
Joined: 2003-06-26, 09:02 UTC
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Post by *rolandd »

Been using Favmenu for a while now and find 2 issues.
1. When I choose an option to change drives, it doesn't always pass on the last Enter. So have to do it manually. This is very random.

2. Tried to add My Computer to the hotlist but it doesn't work. In TC, I enabled the option to show parent in root and from there I went to My Computer and then did a Add current dir but without success.

Any pointers as to how I can resolve these issues?

Thanks,

RolandD
Registered user #92105
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Hej rolandd

1. This will be fixed as TC introduced new APIs to change the diretories so it will never drop now.

2. Must check this out, I am not sure now.

As you maybe glanced above future of Favmenu is not predictible so far. Some good moves are made by AHK author to correct flaws in AutoHotkey that prevents some nice additions to the favmenu (large icons, smart refreshing etc) but I may rewrite entire thing in c.

We will see.
Habemus majkam!
User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

2m

Does Ghisler plan to give you a license for this thing?
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50421
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I'm still offering a free lifetime registration to anyone who writes a useful plugin.
http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=199

This is also valid for addons. Any author who wants to get a free licence needs to contact me by e-mail, with full name and postal address (for the key).
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Valentino
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 709
Joined: 2003-02-07, 00:21 UTC
Location: Ukraine

Post by *Valentino »

ghisler(Author) wrote:I'm still offering a free lifetime registration to anyone who writes a useful plugin.
How to determine if a plugin is useful and deserves a free licence? :)
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 50421
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

If a plugin makes it to totalcmd.net, it can usually be considered as being useful. I just want to avoid that someone recompiles one of my sample plugins to get a free registration. :)
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
SQUIRE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 373
Joined: 2005-06-16, 18:07 UTC

Post by *SQUIRE »

[b]ghisler(Author)[/b] wrote:I'm still offering a free lifetime registration to anyone who writes a useful plugin.
Hooray! I think majki truly deserves the recognition for FavMenu. I can honestly say with my hand on my heart that it is the one plugin that I use globally everyday. It's indispensible.

Step up and claim your prize majki. Don't be shy - do it for your carpal tunnel syndrome! :mrgreen:
User avatar
Alextp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2321
Joined: 2004-08-16, 22:35 UTC
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Post by *Alextp »

2majk
claim your prize majki. Don't be shy - do it for your carpal tunnel syndrome!
That's the reason I refreshed this topic here.

I was surprised why you don't receive free license for this ahk thing, during that "[OT] Hide 123 Screen" topic...
User avatar
majkinetor !
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: 2006-01-18, 07:56 UTC
Contact:

Post by *majkinetor ! »

Thx guys for this. I really appreciate it.

I might ask for free lic one day....
Currently I want to make Favmenu better. Much better.

Don't be shy - do it for your carpal tunnel syndrome!
LOL

Funy thing, I was tested on carpal tunnel syndrome yesterday and they said I don't have it!!!. I said, how come that my hands hurt so much then. They told me to use computer less..... :(
BTW, don't ever do test for this... they stick you needles half cm into the hands on various places and put high voltage into, and ask you to play with your fingers while needle is killin ya. Most of all, U need to be perfectly relaxed... I felt like I am in "Hostel" movie. After all that pain they told me everything appears to be noraml and that I should use computer less .....


... tomorrow I go to kill them all.
Habemus majkam!
Post Reply