Msi-plus plugin, version 0.6.0.1

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Jojo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2003-02-24, 10:31 UTC

Msi-plus plugin, version 0.6.0.1

Post by *Jojo »

A new version 0.6 of the msi-plus plugin is available, download here: http://www.volny.cz/bembela/files/download/msi-pluswcx.zip.

Added files listing, you can now browse and extract files using their real names and folders as installed on a client machine. See the readme file for more info.

Let me know, if it works for you and please report any problematic msi files.
Note, that it is not always possible to extract files, in this case files with 0 byte size are created.
Last edited by Jojo on 2006-11-12, 15:09 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Ok, some remarks:
1. pluginst.inf is missing, something like that:

Code: Select all

[plugininstall]
description=msi-plus: Unpacker plugin for MSI files
descriptiondeu=msi-plus: Entpacker-Plugin für MSI-Dateien
type=wcx
file=msi-plus.wcx
defaultdir=msi-plus
defaultextension=msi
2. INI file should be autocreated on first plugin usage and not be included in the zip, because otherwise the config will be overwritten in the future.
3. Do not show packer icon please, otherwise installations cannot be started anymore by doubleclicking. Manual tweaking is rather annoying. It looks like you haven't adjusted the flags at all, your plugin is even registered to be able to pack MSI...

After a few test files I can report that it's working better than Install Explorer. Good job! :)

Icfu
This account is for sale

TW
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 342
Joined: 2005-01-19, 13:35 UTC

Post by *TW »

great, works fine on a few .msi i tested so far. :)

thnx, very usefull.
licenced and happy TC user since 1994 (#11xx)

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

@Jojo:
I am not sure if you are *really* interested in feedback regarding your silence, but as you have asked for it...

This file is extracted with 0 bytes, InstallExplorer extracts correctly:
kav6.de.msi\SourceDir\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 6.0\kav60.bav

ftp://kav2006:Fynb02dbhec60@data.kaspersky.ru/6.0.1.401%20pre%20TR/German/2006_10_04_16_48/kav6.de.msi

@Moderators:
The username and password are public, so don't delete please. ;)

Icfu
This account is for sale

Jojo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2003-02-24, 10:31 UTC

Post by *Jojo »

Ah thanks, sorry for the delay...

I don't like the autoinstall feature myself and that is the reason I didn't include it in the zip. But I will add it soon...

Ini file is actually not needed at all, feel free to remove it from if you don't set the listFiles and resolveDirs values to false.

As for the packer icon - I didn't even know I could do that, as my header file didn't have the variable specified. But I won't probably change this one unless there is a strong push from others. When I work with MSI files I usually need to browse them not install. When I need to install I just press CTRL + ENTER and then ENTER to execute the installation package.

And yes, the flags are registered to be able to pack MSI, because you can update and add tables and update streams. I don't like it either, but without the PK_CAPS_NEW TC didn't let me update files in archive. Any ideas from others? Is this as designed?

I will take a look at the MSI file and try to find what is wrong.

Thanks a lot for the feedback!

Jojo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2003-02-24, 10:31 UTC

Post by *Jojo »

icfu wrote: This file is extracted with 0 bytes, InstallExplorer extracts correctly:
kav6.de.msi\SourceDir\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 6.0\kav60.bav
This works Ok for me. Can you check the cab gets extracted to your %temp%\_tc\msi-plus folder? The name should be kis2006.cab.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Maybe that's a hint for you:
Your plugin only works if the %temp%\_tc\ directory exists, it is not autocreated like when using other packer plugins.

If the _tc directory is missing, you get a 0 byte file.

Icfu
This account is for sale

User avatar
XPEHOPE3KA
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 849
Joined: 2006-03-03, 18:23 UTC
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Post by *XPEHOPE3KA »

When I need to install I just press CTRL + ENTER and then ENTER to execute the installation package.
You can just press Shift+Enter ;)
F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab, F6, Enter, Tab... - I like to move IT, move IT!..

TychoBarfy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 271
Joined: 2005-08-13, 15:13 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *TychoBarfy »

MSI Plus 0.6 only extracts 0 byte files.
Think it has something to do with TC version 7 public beta 1.

MSI Plus 0.5 is not as convenient but it still works.

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Have you checked if _tc directory exists in %tmp%? See my bug report above!

Ah well, another month has passed meanwhile without a notice from Jojo...

Icfu
This account is for sale

TychoBarfy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 271
Joined: 2005-08-13, 15:13 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *TychoBarfy »

2icfu, thanks that was it :roll: :D
Sorry, I should read the posts before I post.

I wonder why my _tc directory is suddenly missing in my %temp% dir :?:

icfu
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6052
Joined: 2003-09-10, 18:33 UTC

Post by *icfu »

Directory cleaner maybe. Also TC cleans up itself when everything works alright – but – in TC 7 the %tmp% cleanup doesn't really work. Often 0 byte files are left in _tc which issue strange overwrite warnings with "user aborted" messages. No idea what happens here, very confusing.

Icfu
This account is for sale

TychoBarfy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 271
Joined: 2005-08-13, 15:13 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *TychoBarfy »

I have no cleaner, then it must be TC itself.

Jojo
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 2003-02-24, 10:31 UTC

Post by *Jojo »

Sorry guys for the delay. Please find an updated version here: http://www.volny.cz/bembela/files/download/msi-pluswcx.zip

This should fix the issue with missing _tc folder.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

0 byte files are left in _tc
Can you give me more details, please? Sounds like some function or plugin failed in the middle. What are the names of these files?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply