Would you like to see macros for Total Commander?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: white, Hacker, Stefan2, sheep

Would you like to see macros for Total Commander?

Yes I would like to see macros as part of the core of TC.
112
57%
I would like macros but I prefer a plug-in approach.
31
16%
I need macros and I don’t really care about the method of implementation. Any will do!
34
17%
My external macro application does the job for me although with an added cost!
2
1%
I’m using a freeware macro tool that integrates fine with TC.
4
2%
I’m satisfied with my external macro tool but the integration with TC isn’t ideal!
1
1%
I find macros useless.
11
6%
 
Total votes: 195

User avatar
pdavit
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: 2003-02-05, 21:41 UTC
Location: Kavala -> Greece -> Europe -> Earth -> Solar System -> Milky Way -> Space
Contact:

Post by *pdavit » 2003-04-06, 09:58 UTC

"My only reason for still using M$ Window$ as an OS is the existence of Total Commander!"
Christian Ghisler Rules!!!

User avatar
pdavit
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: 2003-02-05, 21:41 UTC
Location: Kavala -> Greece -> Europe -> Earth -> Solar System -> Milky Way -> Space
Contact:

Post by *pdavit » 2003-12-11, 10:33 UTC

Heh! The first step is done!!! :D

Check this out: http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=2499

Thanx Aezay! ;)
"My only reason for still using M$ Window$ as an OS is the existence of Total Commander!"
Christian Ghisler Rules!!!

XelaRellum
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-10-14, 06:22 UTC

Macros? Python scriptable!

Post by *XelaRellum » 2004-10-14, 06:29 UTC

I would really like macros, but I hope there wont be YASL (yet another scripting language). So why not use Python? I believe people would love this!

Xela

User avatar
Francesco
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:58 UTC
Location: Austria, Upper Austria

Re: Macros? Python scriptable!

Post by *Francesco » 2005-05-10, 11:31 UTC

XelaRellum wrote:I would really like macros, but I hope there wont be YASL (yet another scripting language). So why not use Python? I believe people would love this!

Xela
YES! Python would be cool!
It should be the first choice.
Francesco

User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz » 2005-05-10, 11:57 UTC

I think exporting all functions to a COM model would be sufficient. This way all scripting languages could call TC functions, if they support COM or at least DLL late binding.
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *MPS » 2006-01-25, 13:28 UTC

batch files still work for me :]

Juglator
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-09-06, 07:40 UTC

Post by *Juglator » 2007-05-19, 03:10 UTC

I'd really like to see macros, and I think it's a feature suitable for the TC core. That might help for a cleaner, more flexible design.

A design I'd like to see is to keep pretty much the entire UI intact with the Preferences dialog, *but* with a new feature under the "Misc." options where you define hotkeys. Instead of just adding one command like those built-in cm_* commands, let a user call a custom function. It could use the very same text field.

Next, have a button there for a function/script designer (or it could just open something like Notepad, hehe), and what you add into that Command text field could now be not just the cm_* commands, but also the same as a function that's called in a script.

As for which language -- oh I don't really care much... I'd like to be able to call cm_* commands from within the script though, and have functions with parameters, to for example set pane widths from a script.

That was actually what brought me here -- I'd like one key in TC to expand the thumbnail view to give it a bit extra room at the cost of the other panel, and restore it again once I return to the regular list view. :) That's an example of a macro that would ideally only need two lines -- one to call a function to set pane widths, and another to switch view mode in the focused list.

User avatar
dott
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: 2007-03-04, 00:58 UTC
Location: La Plata, Argentina

Post by *dott » 2011-02-10, 18:15 UTC

How So?

Post Reply