Page 1 of 1

[REQ] Choose Command box: Home/End key in filter box...

Posted: 2006-11-03, 06:41 UTC
by icfu
...doesn't work. Instead it is executed in command list which is very confusing.

Home/End should always be executed in the box which has the focus!

Icfu

Posted: 2006-11-03, 07:47 UTC
by Flint
It's intentional that the cursor moving keys are redirected to the list. Else you would have to switch to the command list to move the cursor up/down.

Posted: 2006-11-03, 08:02 UTC
by icfu
It's intentional that the cursor moving keys are redirected to the list.
Not exactly. The present behaviour is like that, if filter box has focus:
Up/Down moves cursor in command list.
Left/Right moves cursor in filter box.

This behaviour is great, I like it.

But without Home/End in filter box it's not possible to quickly jump to the end or to the beginnig to add a * or whatever, that's very annoying.

I would enhance it like that:
1. Left/Right always sets focus to filter box!
2. Up/Down moves cursor in command list (no change)
3. Home/End key is executed in same location.

AHK needed again? I don't hope so...

Icfu

Posted: 2006-11-03, 08:54 UTC
by Sir_SiLvA
the Bug is that the Focus is set on the CommandBox instead of the Category-Box.
Hope this gets fixed in next beta :D

Posted: 2006-11-03, 14:17 UTC
by Flint
icfu wrote:Not exactly. The present behaviour is like that, if filter box has focus:
Up/Down moves cursor in command list.
Left/Right moves cursor in filter box.
Sorry, I meant not all cursor movement keys but ones that have any meaning in application to the command list. Left/Right could do nothing useful there.

What about Home/End... Well, I would suggest another solution: Home/End move cursor in the command list while Alt+Home/Alt+End move it in the filter editbox. Or Ctrl+Home/Ctrl+End.

Posted: 2006-11-03, 17:03 UTC
by icfu
That's an option too, ok.

In this case I would prefer Ctrl modifier because Shift is needed too for marking complete content and Ctrl+Shift is more comfortable than Alt+Shift combination.

Alternative:
Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list? In there no Shift is needed, so it's the more natural solution I think because Ctrl+Home/End is used in text editors for example to jump to top/bottom anyway.

I just can't get used to have standard edit boxes not work with Home/End and would prefer them work "as usual", also because I regard the filter box as most important element here. It decides what content is listed in command list, not vice versa, and should therefore not be limited in functionality.

Maybe others can add their opinions too?

Icfu

Posted: 2006-11-03, 18:49 UTC
by petermad
Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list?
Support+++

I just can't get used to have standard edit boxes not work with Home/End and would prefer them work "as usual"
I totally agree.

Posted: 2006-11-03, 19:07 UTC
by Flint
icfu wrote:Why not use Ctrl modifier for the command list?
Agree, this would seem more logical.

Posted: 2006-11-04, 16:24 UTC
by Hacker
[mod]Moved to TC 7 beta discussion.

Hacker (Moderator)[/mod]

Posted: 2006-11-05, 01:31 UTC
by icfu
Another addition from Clo which is very closely related:
http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=100972#100972

He proposes the usage of Shift in command box to mark more than one command for copying to clipboard.

Icfu

Posted: 2007-06-17, 11:08 UTC
by icfu
Has this been discussed in the beta test? Nothing has changed, so AHK again... Sad.

This script restores normal editbox functionality:
Home/End will work in editbox when it has focus. With pressing Ctrl you can still jump to start/end in the command list.

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class TCmdSelForm
Home::
Remapped := "^{Left}"
Original := "{Home}"
Gosub, Check
Return

End::
Remapped := "^{Right}"
Original := "{End}"
Gosub, Check
Return

Check:
ControlGetFocus, Focus
If (Focus = "TEdit1")
  Send, %Remapped%
Else
  Send, %Original%
Return
Icfu