Page 1 of 2

[REQ] Lister: triple click to select whole line

Posted: 2006-11-23, 19:00 UTC
by TW
this is what i am missing. it would be very convinient to select the whole line (text) when triplr clickin on it. i know this from test editors, eg textpad.

if this is already possible... even better, just let me know. :D

thnx!

Posted: 2006-11-23, 20:01 UTC
by icfu
Support!

Icfu

Posted: 2006-11-23, 23:06 UTC
by Stitscher
Nice idea. Support.

Stitscher

Posted: 2006-11-23, 23:37 UTC
by StickyNomad
Yes, would be handy indeed!

Posted: 2006-11-24, 08:20 UTC
by gbo
Support.

It would also be nice to have this feature in Compare by content in edit mode (2 clicks select word; 3 clicks select whole line).

Both !

Posted: 2006-11-24, 19:06 UTC
by Clo
2gbo

:) Hi Gil !

• I support too, both in Lister and in Compare.

:mrgreen: KR, Cordialement,
laude
Clo

Posted: 2007-03-07, 22:45 UTC
by Alextp
It would also be nice to have this feature in Compare by content in edit mode (2 clicks select word; 3 clicks select whole line).
Implemented in Universal Viewer 1.5.9.2...

Posted: 2007-03-23, 17:48 UTC
by Alextp
OK. I decided to help Christian with this.

2Christian: here is the sample TPanel with triple click event. It's handled and message "double/triple click" is displayed when you test.

Code: Select all

unit Test3Click;

interface

uses
  Windows, Messages, SysUtils, Classes, Graphics, Controls, Forms, Dialogs,
  ExtCtrls;

type
  TForm1 = class(TForm)
    Panel1: TPanel;
    procedure Panel1DblClick(Sender: TObject);
    procedure FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
    procedure Panel1MouseDown(Sender: TObject; Button: TMouseButton;
      Shift: TShiftState; X, Y: Integer);
  private
    { Private declarations }
    F2Click: boolean;
    F3Click: boolean;
    F3Time: DWORD;
  public
    { Public declarations }
  end;

var
  Form1: TForm1;

implementation

{$R *.DFM}

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
  F2Click:= false;
  F3Click:= false;
  F3Time:= 0;
end;

procedure TForm1.Panel1DblClick(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Panel1.Caption:= 'Double click';
  F2Click:= true;
  F3Click:= false;
  F3Time:= 0;
end;

procedure TForm1.Panel1MouseDown(Sender: TObject; Button: TMouseButton;
  Shift: TShiftState; X, Y: Integer);
begin
  if F3Click and
    (GetTickCount-F3Time <= GetDoubleClickTime) then
    begin
    Panel1.Caption:= 'Triple click';
    F2Click:= false;
    F3Click:= false;
    F3Time:= 0;
    end;

  if F2Click then
    begin
    Panel1.Caption:= 'Double click';
    F2Click:= false;
    F3Click:= true;
    F3Time:= GetTickCount;
    end;
end;

end.

Kind

Posted: 2007-03-23, 22:44 UTC
by Clo
2Alextp

:) Hello Alexeï !

• You kind boy ! :D

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo

Posted: 2007-03-24, 07:29 UTC
by Alextp
Clo
Clo, I'm 29. :)

Posted: 2007-03-31, 19:01 UTC
by Dark One
while not aggressively against it, i find that option quite unnecessary. you can easily select a line by dragging (with lmb) from beginning of the line to the beginning of the next one (yes i know you all knew that). i'd hate to see lister bloated with shortcuts for all kinds of actions.

Posted: 2007-03-31, 19:16 UTC
by Alextp
2Dark One
I not agree.

I find it very useful: 1. with very long strings (larger than Lister width), 2. in Hex mode - there you cannot see begin/end of line (easily).

ONlY ?

Posted: 2007-03-31, 21:51 UTC
by Clo
2Alextp

:) Hello Alexeï!
Clo, I'm 29. :)
• ONLY ? :D

• OK, “You kind guy¦man”
…2. in Hex mode - there you cannot see begin/end of line (easily).
• Most certainly… But a Little Bird told me that it doubts that this be added in Lister for hexa:roll:

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo

Posted: 2007-03-31, 22:24 UTC
by Hacker
Alextp,
2Dark One
I not agree.

I find it very useful: 1. with very long strings (larger than Lister width)
Well, as Dark One pointed out, you just have to drag the cursor vertically from the beginning of the line to select to the beginning of the next line, just below.

Roman

Posted: 2007-03-31, 22:32 UTC
by Alextp
Hacker
Dark One pointed out, you just have to drag the cursor vertically from the beginning of the line to select to the beginning of the next line, just below.
Well you cannot do this if the beginning of the line is scrolled out of left border. Triple click is useful here.