Page 1 of 1

cm_GoToTop/cmGoToBottom

Posted: 2007-07-03, 10:42 UTC
by now
It would be great if the “commands” run by Home and End could be bound to other keys as well, as I don’t have a Home key on my keyboard.

Re: cm_GoToTop/cmGoToBottom

Posted: 2007-07-03, 13:09 UTC
by karlchen
now wrote:It would be great if the “commands” run by Home and End could be bound to other keys as well, as I don’t have a Home key on my keyboard.
Home=Pos1 (like on my keyboards as well)?! :wink:

Yet, you can assign hotkeys which you like better to those two commands by going to Configuration => Options => Misc => Redefine hotkeys (keyboard remapping).

HTH,
Karl

Re: cm_GoToTop/cmGoToBottom

Posted: 2007-07-03, 14:33 UTC
by now
karlchen wrote:Home=Pos1 (like on my keyboards as well)?! :wink:
I don’t understand; what’s Pos1?

On my keyboard, I’ve remapped (in hardware) the Home key to Escape.
karlchen wrote:Yet, you can assign hotkeys which you like better to those two commands by going to Configuration => Options => Misc => Redefine hotkeys (keyboard remapping).
Yes, but the problem is that there’s no command for going to the very first or very last entry in the list that you can map a hotkey to. There is a command called cm_GoToFirstFile, but that goes to the first file in the list, which isn’t the same things as the first entry (think folders).

Posted: 2007-07-03, 14:40 UTC
by StickyNomad
2now
what’s Pos1
It's the caption of the 'home'-key on german keyboards.

btw, your keyboard has an interesting design. Must have felt quite strange to use this exotic ergonomical layout for the first time... :wink:

Posted: 2007-07-03, 15:41 UTC
by karlchen
Hi, now.

Riiight, I see. :oops:

There seems to be no internal cm_-command like "cm_GoToTop" or "cm_GoToBottom". Instead "Home" and "End" may be "hardwired". So little chance of assigning different keys.
Hm, maybe you will have to wait for someone to come up with an AHK script ... (Which would not be a TC internal solution and which you may like or dislike.)

Karl
--
Still confused by the looks of your keyboard. :?

Posted: 2007-07-03, 21:21 UTC
by icfu
It would be great if the “commands” run by Home and End could be bound to other keys as well, as I don’t have a Home key on my keyboard.
There are no "commands" for Home and End key in TC. Home and End are standard keys for Windows listboxes, so you don't have a problem with TC but with your keyboard spaceship and Windows.

AutoHotkey is your friend:

Code: Select all

!spaceship_key_7_of_9::SendInput, {Home}
The hotkey section in the AHK help file is pretty easy to understand, so you won't have any problems to assign a hotkey of your choice.

Icfu

[OT]

Posted: 2007-07-03, 21:38 UTC
by petermad
[OT]
It seems it isn't any "Advantage" using that keyboard ;-)

Posted: 2007-07-04, 07:19 UTC
by now
To everyone interested in the keyboard: it’s awesome. It saved my hands. I’m not exaggerating. Without this keyboard I wouldn’t be working with computers today. So if you are having tingling sensations in your fingers, or your fingers get cold and/or hurt after long sessions at the computer, look into investing in an ergonomic keyboard like this one.

About Home/End: Yes, I realize that there’s no command available, and that Home/End are probably just implemented by Windows LISTBOX control. I was hoping we could add commands for triggering these events.

About AutoHotkey: Here’s what I currently use:

#IfWinActive ahk_class TTOTAL_CMD
!PgUp::SendInput {Home}
!PgDn::SendInput {End}
+!PgUp::SendInput +{Home}
+!PgDn::SendInput +{End}

It works, but I’d prefer to have this set up in Total Commander.

Hm, it would probably make sense (if this got added) to also add commands for other things, like what PageUp and PageDown do. Perhaps it’s getting a bit out of hand at that point, though.

Another idea I had for a command was cm_GoToMiddle, which moves the “cursor” to the middle-most entry of the currently visible entries in the file list.