BUG: TC 7.02a going "poof" upon right-click

This forum contains bug reports from previous beta tests - the issue has remained unresolved, either because it couldn't be reproduced, or couldn't be prevented/fixed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4545
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen » 2008-04-22, 07:51 UTC

Hi, ibauer.
The only difference between a crashing configuration and non-crashing one is ...drumroll... language setting! If I use the Czech translation (the one that ships with the official installer), TC keeps vanishing shortly after right click, but when I change the UI language back to the stock English, I can no longer see the TC vanishing!!!
<Speculation>

As a rule translated string in most languages tend to be longer than the original English text (this is true for German as well, not just for Czech).
So I would not be too amazed if 1 line inside the Czech language file or several lines exceeded the maximum length of internal T.C. string buffer(s) thus causing a buffer overflow.
On the other hand, buffer overflows should not be a real problem inside Delphi unless some C-like string functions are used.
Well, I guess I better leave it to Christian to answer your question. :wink:

</Speculation>

Karl

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36500
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2008-04-22, 09:53 UTC

Unfortunately I cannot reproduce this problem with Czech on Windows XP. I tried it like this:
1. In Regional and Language Options on the last tab, I set Czech as the language for non-Unicode programs
2. XP restarts
3. Start TC with parameter /i=c:\test.ini
4. In the opening configuration dialog, I choose "Czech" as the language and click on OK
5. Right click on JPG file, wait one minute - nothing happens
6. Click on "Properties" in the menu - TC shows properties dialog

So my questions are:
1. Do you get this just with the Czech language file, or also with any other like German or French
2. Do you get this with a fresh ini file where ONLY the language is changed? Or are there some other changes needed?
3. Do you use XP 32-bit or 64-bit? I tried it on both...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8055
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2008-04-22, 17:42 UTC

I just tried with the Czech language file (Windows XP still under Danish locale though) - and I have no problems with the right click menu.

Perhaps ibauer's wcmd_cz.lng file is corrupt - mine has a md5 checksum of eed30c3417353dd5552939b8ccc9f445
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Same OK

Post by *Clo » 2008-04-22, 18:48 UTC

2petermad

:) Hello Peter !

• Same test here, no problem.
- I get the checksum as MD5 :

eed30c3417353dd5552939b8ccc9f445 *WCMD_CZ.LNG

so, the same…

:mrgreen: Fr
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-22, 19:15 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:1. Do you get this just with the Czech language file, or also with any other like German or French
I'm able to reproduce the issue with almost any language other than English. I have tried to use German, French, Polish, Danish, Italian and with any of these the TC just goes silently away.
ghisler(Author) wrote:2. Do you get this with a fresh ini file where ONLY the language is changed? Or are there some other changes needed?
I get this with a fresh INI file, the language is the only thing I changed.
ghisler(Author) wrote:3. Do you use XP 32-bit or 64-bit? I tried it on both...
32-bit Windows XP Professional SP2 with the latest patches and updates installed.

Today, I've spent some time playing with my computer settings and found something really weird. This issue only happens if there is a font smoothing (a system-wide setting) set to ClearType. As soon as I change it to "Standard" or disable the font smoothing at all, TC works just fine even with all those languages. Weird, isn't it?

When this issue happens and I do a right click, the TC does not vanishes immediately, but there is about one or two second delay after which it appears to me that something does invalidate TC main window area thereby causing entire window to erase background and repaint itself (I can see a well known flash effect). At this time, TC goes away.

Someone in this thread (Karl?) mentioned that TC is written in Delphi. Well, I'm Delphi developer myself and I'm having similar issue (the main window flash effect) with every new projects created in RAD Studio 2007 (Delphi 2007 for Win32), when MainFormOnTaskBar property of TApplication is set to True. It's enough to create an empty form with just one TLabel control on it and when run, the main form will repaint itself after a second or two and the text of the label becomes somehow distorted. I think it's not just a coincidence and I actually believe these issues are somehow related, which suggest that there is something wrong with my system.

Oh, well. :cry:
Ivo Bauer

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-22, 19:18 UTC

petermad wrote:Perhaps ibauer's wcmd_cz.lng file is corrupt
I wish it was, but it isn't. I've just checked and your md5 sum matches the mine. But thanks for your response anyway.
Ivo Bauer

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8055
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2008-04-22, 20:35 UTC

I tried enabeling ClearType, but I still can't reproduce the bug - are you using Windows Classic theme or Windows XP theme?
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.21a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit and TC 2.92b1 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-22, 20:49 UTC

petermad wrote:I tried enabeling ClearType, but I still can't reproduce the bug - are you using Windows Classic theme or Windows XP theme?
Windows XP theme, but I have just tried to switch over to Classic theme, restarted the computer and I can reproduce it here too. Then I disabled the font smoothing again (while the Classic theme was active), restarted the computer just to be sure and TC suddenly started to work fine, no more vanishing whatsoever.
Ivo Bauer

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

By there…

Post by *Clo » 2008-04-22, 21:24 UTC

2ibauer

:) Hello !

• Here, the font smoothing is always disabled and sorry, I can't even test with it "On"
because that brings a huge mess in the PC, all becomes slow the hell making the machine unusable…
- Thus, there is a hitch by there I guess, under some conditions
(i.e. hardware : Onboard GC here with shared memory etc.) … XP-Pro SP1 (French-English)

- BTW :  I'm not a programmer, but I can say you that currently TC is compiled with (patched) Delphi 2:roll:

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Re: By there…

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-22, 21:36 UTC

Clo wrote:Here, the font smoothing is always disabled and sorry, I can't even test with it "On" because that brings a huge mess in the PC, all becomes slow the hell making the machine unusable
How old is your PC, then? Mine is a slightly over 2 years old and I can't say that it's having any problems with the font smoothing. Performance wise, that is. :wink:
Clo wrote:I can say you that currently TC is compiled with (patched) Delphi 2:roll:
Just out of curiosity, how do you know that?
Ivo Bauer

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11041
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2008-04-23, 08:13 UTC

ibauer,
Just out of curiosity, how do you know that?
The author has stated it a few times.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Not so old…

Post by *Clo » 2008-04-23, 14:01 UTC

2ibauer

:) Hello !

• My PC is a machine I rebuilt three year ago about with an Intel™ MB, CPU @ 2.4 GHz… It isn't a museum piece really :P
- But I've only 512 MiB RAM, and even if I don't waste it, avoiding 50 APPs open at the same time, it's a bit insufficient…
- And yes, all the ”smooth” Win thingies trouble the PC running here.

:mrgreen:  KR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

jvh
Member
Member
Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-07-20, 12:28 UTC

Post by *jvh » 2008-04-24, 10:53 UTC

2ibauer

Hello,

I can't reproduce the bug with the Czech language.

Which fonts do you use in TC (Configuration->Fonts) and on desktop?

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-24, 11:51 UTC

jvh wrote:I can't reproduce the bug with the Czech language. Which fonts do you use in TC (Configuration->Fonts) and on desktop?
TC uses the default fonts as I start it with the fresh INI file (Microsoft Sans Serif and MS Sans Serif both sized at 8 pt.). In Windows XP I use the default theme fonts - Tahoma 8pt.

I have Googled a bit and found that I'm not alone who experiences some problems related to ClearType font smoothing in conjunction with nVidia graphics boards. Unfortunately I can't find a solution. The temporary workaround for me now is to disable the font smoothing system wide.
Ivo Bauer

ibauer
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 2007-12-31, 14:55 UTC
Location: Trutnov, Czech Republic

Re: Not so old…

Post by *ibauer » 2008-04-24, 11:52 UTC

Clo wrote:But I've only 512 MiB RAM
Ouch! :shock:
Ivo Bauer

Post Reply