Launch "compare by content" from another program

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: Hacker, petermad, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
njd
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-05-21, 05:53 UTC

Launch "compare by content" from another program

Post by *njd »

Hi,

I would like to launch "compare by content" from another program (perforce). Is there any command that i can invoke from outside TC ?

Thanks,

NJ[/code]
User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

Post by *versalzen »

it would be more freedom if it were like this:

a single button for: start an external program for the left file.

a single button for: start an external program for the right file.

a single button for: start an external program for the left+right file.

additionally,
the definition of external programs could be very complex.

ie.
by extension
by name (with patterns)
by a list (manually defined by the user)
etc...

i support this :-)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 13142
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker »

versalzen,
I think you are talking about something completely different. ;)

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 16030
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

I think you are talking about something completely different.
I think so too.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1391a
TC 3.60b4 on Android 6, 13, 14
TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
versalzen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 670
Joined: 2003-09-16, 11:52 UTC
Location: kölle, linksrheinisch.

Post by *versalzen »

Hacker wrote:versalzen,I think you are talking about something completely different. ;)
now, that it read my and the first post again, i have to admit that you're correct ;-)

but anyhow, a good idea (my one)
Was nützt der Löffel für die Weisheit, wenn man zu weit vom Suppentopf entfernt sitzt?

Mario
StatusQuo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: 2007-01-17, 21:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *StatusQuo »

njd wrote:I would like to launch "compare by content" from another program (perforce). Is there any command that i can invoke from outside TC ?
Using TCStartWithCommand (*)
it could be as simple as this (e.g. in a batch file, using %1 and %2 for the paths)
to place the cursor left + right on the two specified files and then call the internal "Compare by content" tool.

Code: Select all

TCStartWithCommand.exe /O /T /P=L /L="d:\path\file1.ext" /R="d:\path\file2.ext" /X=cm_IntCompareFilesByContent

Unfortunately this way TC ignores the selected file in the inactive panel :(
and always compares the file selected on the left (active) panel against itself.
The same is the case when using just

Code: Select all

TCStartWithCommand.exe /O /X=cm_IntCompareFilesByContent
...without changing the cursor positions.

If the two files are marked (using space) before calling cm_IntCompareFilesByContent it works without a problem.
I guess a workaround (marking the files before calling compare) could be done using another script, having up to 3 external files in use for this function (+TC +Compare)...

Does somebody have an idea, why this is or even have a solution / workaround?


(*) TCStartWithCommand:
(german thread with current download link - for some english threads please search the forum for "TCStartWithCommand")
For installation just copy TCStartWithCommand.exe into TC's program directory.
Who the hell is General Failure, and why is he reading my disk?
-- TC starter menu: Fast yet descriptive command access!
Post Reply