"Everything" file search software: open files in r

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

"Everything" file search software: open files in r

Post by *raytc »

I was always an user of locate32 till I discovered Everything.
Everything is the fastest search program on the net.

In the ini file of everything you can indicate TC as file/folder opener.

I added the following lines to my .ini:
explore_folder_command=$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /n,/e,"%1")
explore_folder_path_command=$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /n,/e,/select,"%1")
open_folder_path_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" "$parent(%1)")
open_file_command=$exec("%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" "%1")

No problem till here.

I would like to add another line in order to open file or folder in the right panel of Total Commander so I can choose where to open the folder, in the left or right panel.

Can anyone help me to resolve this problem?
User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4564
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

Hello, raytc.

You are absolutely free to have a glimpse at the TotalCommander Helpfile once in a while. :wink:
totalcmd.hlp wrote:Command line parameters


Total Commander can be called with one or two directories as command line parameters. This will set these directories in one or both of the file windows. This allows you to create multiple icons for Total Commander in progman or the start menu, which start Total Commander in different directories or even with packed files. Furthermore a different ini file than the default wincmd.ini can be specified to allow multiple users on the same machine to have different settings in Total Commander.

Syntax:

totalcmd.exe [/o] [/n] [Drive1:\Directory1 [Drive2:\Directory2]] [/i=name.ini] [/f=ftpname.ini]
or:
totalcmd.exe [/o] [/n] [/L=Drive1:\Directory1] [/R=Drive2:\Directory2] [/i=name.ini] [/f=ftpname.ini]

Parameters:


Drive:\Directory Loads the first directory passed to Total Commander into the left window, and the second into the right window. Directory names containing spaces must be put in double quotes! Always specify the full path name including the drive!
/O If Total Commander is already running, activate it and pass the path(s) in the command line to that instance (overrides the settings in the configuration dialog to have multiple windows)
/N Opens in any case a new Total Commander window (overrides the settings in the configuration dialog to allow only one copy of Total Commander at a time)

/L= Set path in left window
/R= Set path right window
/S Interprets the passed dirs as source/target instead of left/right (for usage with /O). For example, a dir passed with /R= will be interpreted as the target dir.
/T Opens the passed dir(s) in new tab(s). Now also works when Total Commander hasn't been open yet.
/P= Sets the active panel at program start: /P=L left, /P=R right. Overrides wincmd.ini option ActiveRight=.

/i=name.ini Use a different INI file name.ini instead of wincmd.ini to save settings (see also: INI file description).
/F=ftpname.ini Use a different INI file name.ini instead of wcx_ftp.ini to save settings for built-in FTP client.
/d=<x> Delays the start of Total Commander by <x> seconds (meant for the startup folder, if there are problems with other programs, which start at the same time)
/INSTALLDRIVER (Windows NT/2000 only) Install parallel port driver - only needed if you want to use the parallel port connection as a normal user and not as an administrator. Needs to be run as an administrator.

/REMOVEDRIVER (Windows NT/2000 only) Removes the driver installed with the switch /INSTALLDRIVER

The switches are NOT case sensitive.
HTH,
Sven
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

Thank you Sven.
You are free to answer as you think is right.

I've seen the help file and also the wikipedia page with all the command line parameters but I suppose my question was not good formulated.

In the right click explorer menu you can't add two times this command:

open_file_command=$exec("%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" "%1")

So I don't know how to formulate the new commands with the /R parameter.
(I would like to have the possibility to open a file/folder in the left or the right panel)
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3912
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

I use:

open_folder_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /t /o /r="%1")

This opens it in a new tab on the right. You see the syntax.

Everything can't index drives accessed by UNC shares
which is a big disadvantage compared to locate32.
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

Thank you Horst.Epp.

Isn't is possible to have both commands (left and right panel)?

open_folder_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /t /o /r="%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("c:\Program Files\totalcmd\TOTALCMD.EXE" /t /o /l="%1")

I tried to test somewhat without success.
User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4564
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen »

Good evening, raytc.

Sorry for incorrectly assuming you had not found or not bothered to check the T.C. online help. :oops:

As your question is more about how to do it inside Everything than about the T.C. commandline options, Horst.Epp's reply is really more helpful than mine.

Kind regards,
Karl
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3912
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *Horst.Epp »

raytc wrote:Thank you Horst.Epp.

Isn't is possible to have both commands (left and right panel)?
....
I tried to test somewhat without success.
Use the explore_folder_path_command for this purpose.
There is no need for the Microsoft explorer because you are using TC
This way you have both version available.
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

@karlchen, no problem, thank you for your message :)

@Horst.epp,

Why didn't I thought about the explore folder path :)
Thanks.

Just one question left:
If I right click on a file in "everything" and click "explore path" or "open path", the file is not selected in Total Commander.
This is difficult if a directory has many files.
Do you know how to select the file?
User avatar
ZoSTeR
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 920
Joined: 2004-07-29, 11:00 UTC

Post by *ZoSTeR »

If I right click on a file in "everything" and click "explore path" or "open path", the file is not selected in Total Commander.
Make sure you don't use the $parent() function.
Total Commander also tries to interpret any file that is passed via command line as an archive.
So if you pass e.g. /t / o /r="C:\Test.zip" you'll actually end up inside that archive. This can lead to some unexpected behavior with some packer plugins.
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

Thank you ZoSTeR,

The $parent() function was the problem.

Thanks to everyone in this thread. :)
TC 9.51 (x64) - win10
User avatar
Phred
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 312
Joined: 2009-06-16, 15:24 UTC
Location: SEAu

Everything

Post by *Phred »

I'm interested in how to make more use of David Carpenter's seminal program Everything preferably from within TC itself.

I understand that raytc is asking about how to use Everything to drive TC - but is there a way to invoke Everything from within TC?

Yes, a simple button would work, but can Everything be more deeply integrated into TC? I'm imagining that Everything would pop up as the Search function with Alt-F7. Yes, the standard Search would still need to be available to address URLs.

_ ______________ _
If anyone could confirm that the above command lines are ones that go inside Everything's ini file then I'd be grateful.
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

I totally agree Phred.
Would be beautiful to search folders/files within TC using Everything.
Everything is much much quicker as TC search.
TC 9.51 (x64) - win10
jjk
Member
Member
Posts: 179
Joined: 2003-07-03, 10:41 UTC

Post by *jjk »

Hello raytc

Have you tried the FSE plugin for TC here ?
Before supported only Locate, now supports Everything also since version 1.18.
raytc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 2004-06-28, 11:03 UTC

Post by *raytc »

jjk wrote:Hello raytc

Have you tried the FSE plugin for TC here ?
Before supported only Locate, now supports Everything also since version 1.18.
Yes, I did but did not like it and uninstalled it.
Last edited by raytc on 2009-07-24, 09:30 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo »

raytc wrote:Thank you ZoSTeR,

The $parent() function was the problem.

Thanks to everyone in this thread. :)
So, what are the final settings to add to the Everything.ini then?
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license
Post Reply