Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply

Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Yes
341
63%
No
137
25%
I don't care
65
12%
 
Total votes: 543

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2003-11-18, 23:27 UTC

For many years, F2 has been the key for refreshing the current directory in Total Commander, while Shift+F6 was used for renaming. It was used before Explorer was released. But now many people only know Explorer, and miss F2 for renaming. While this can be changed via Configuration - Misc, not all users know this. Some users have suggested to make F2 the default.

Therefore should F2 become the default for renaming in addition to Shift+F6? For refreshing a dir, Ctrl+R has been available also for many years.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2003-11-19, 00:58 UTC

I think that would be a great idea. Is there any way to add the F2 button to the bottom with the rest of the buttons now?

User avatar
Coco
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 223
Joined: 2003-02-07, 13:35 UTC
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by *Coco » 2003-11-19, 06:40 UTC

Personnally I don't care as I only use CTRL+R for refresh and Shift+F6 for the rename.

Boofo,
No but you can add it to the tool bar on top.
Alain

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2003-11-19, 06:42 UTC

Coco wrote:Personnally I don't care as I only use CTRL+R for refresh and Shift+F6 for the rename.

Boofo,
No but you can add it to the tool bar on top.
That's what I thought, but I was hoping, anyway. ;) It might be nice to have the ability to add buttons if we want to, though.

User avatar
tombik
Member
Member
Posts: 155
Joined: 2003-02-10, 21:19 UTC
Location: Berlin

Post by *tombik » 2003-11-19, 08:41 UTC

Hi!

I think i did not use this "Alt+F4" button since i bought TC 5 years ago.
Changing this button to "F2 RENAME" would be very nice.

Tombik

User avatar
Coco
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 223
Joined: 2003-02-07, 13:35 UTC
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by *Coco » 2003-11-19, 08:59 UTC

For information you can use the left shift + click on the F6 move button to do the rename.
Or even a simple click on the file like in the explorer.
Alain

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2003-11-19, 09:06 UTC

Coco wrote:For information you can use the left shift + click on the F6 move button to do the rename.
Or even a simple click on the file like in the explorer.
Thanks for the info. ;)

I use the mouse more than the keyboard, so a button would be nice also. ;)

User avatar
Flint
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3159
Joined: 2003-10-27, 09:25 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Post by *Flint » 2003-11-19, 11:34 UTC

As for me, F2 can be used for renaming, but not as default button for it. I think, it would be better to make an option - if one can use F2 for refreshing or for renaming. Now I use Shift+F6 and try to use it while renaming in Explorer ;) Maybe, F2 will be more convenient.
Flint's Homepage: Full TC Russification Package, VirtualDisk, NTFS Links, NoClose Replacer, and other stuff!
 
Using TC 9.21rc1 / Win7 x64 SP1, Win10 x64

User avatar
Coco
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 223
Joined: 2003-02-07, 13:35 UTC
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by *Coco » 2003-11-19, 13:21 UTC

Hi Flint,

You can already reassigned the key via the option to wathever you want then it's not necessary to add an option (at least I think)
Alain

waelder
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: 2003-02-11, 13:13 UTC

Post by *waelder » 2003-11-19, 16:26 UTC

Please keep in mind:
with some notebook keyboards ctrl+r is a two-handed keystroke.

User avatar
fabiochelly
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 594
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:03 UTC
Location: Vincennes, France
Contact:

Post by *fabiochelly » 2003-11-21, 19:04 UTC

Personaly, I use F2 to rename and F8 to refresh (CTRL is enough to delete).
I voted YES and I think it would be better for the beginners (many stop using TC a few minutes after trying it for stupid reasons like this one)
Last edited by fabiochelly on 2003-11-21, 19:35 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Fabio Chelly.
#60241
Lorsqu'on s'occupe d'informatique il faut faire comme les canards...
Paraître calme en surface et pédaler comme un forcené par en dessous

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2003-11-21, 19:14 UTC

fabiochelly wrote:Personaly, I use F2 to rename and F8 to refresh (CTRL is enough to delete).
I voted YES and I think it would be a better way to keep beginners with TC (many stop using TC a few minutes after trying it for stupid reasons like this one)
Alot of beginners are mouse users, too. That would be another reason to make a button for it at the bottom, too. I, myself, use the mouse more than the keyboard most of the time.

User avatar
CADweazle
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 296
Joined: 2003-04-03, 09:10 UTC
Location: Freiburg i.Br. Deutschland

Post by *CADweazle » 2003-11-21, 22:43 UTC

I always used CTRL-R for refresh and found myself sometimes trying to press F2 for renaming, but was too lazy to change the configuration :).
Cheer up, Karl

User avatar
pdavit
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: 2003-02-05, 21:41 UTC
Location: Kavala -> Greece -> Europe -> Earth -> Solar System -> Milky Way -> Space
Contact:

Post by *pdavit » 2003-11-22, 09:38 UTC

If Christian we go down that road then a whole list of shortcuts must be changed. F5 for refreshing and not for copying and so on...

TC is a completely deferent and completely customizable (to some extend) tool so why bother?...

There are more important features to be added and/or tweaked.
"My only reason for still using M$ Window$ as an OS is the existence of Total Commander!"
Christian Ghisler Rules!!!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36354
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2003-11-23, 10:54 UTC

Ctrl+R already exists for refresh, so changing F2 to rename should be no problem without changing any other shortcuts, right?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply