This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Should F2 become the default for renaming?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Should F2 become the default for renaming?
Yes
62%
 62%  [ 340 ]
No
25%
 25%  [ 137 ]
I don't care
11%
 11%  [ 65 ]
Total Votes : 542

Author Message
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 1950
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Balderstrom wrote:
I wonder if anyone actually uses the Function Toolbar?

You would be surprised to see how many "mouse people" use that Smile
_________________
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2148

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey! I am resemble that remark!

Of course it's an AutoHotkey'ed tripped out Logitech MX-518

That puts CTRL,SHIFT,DELETE at my mousy fingertips (and other keys depending on the current active window/program).
_________________
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7776
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Balderstrom
Quote:
Shift+F2 also has an odd function that I haven't noticed before --> "select all in both panes".

Default action for Shift+F2 is Compare Directories (cm_CompareDirs) - a very useful command, which also exists in an extended version: cm_CompareDirsWithSubdirs
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2148

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ petermad oh, hehehe: well when the directories are nothing at all alike, it looked like select all in both panes Wink

Yes, I have cm_CompareDirs on my IconBar... had missed the cm_CompareDirsWithSubdirs though - thanks.
_________________
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Zamolxis
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,

Sorry to not read through all 9 pages of comments, to see all arguments listed and check if Christian took a decision on this or not yet. But I see the poll results and the comments on the first page, which probably pretty much give the main arguments for one option or another. I'll add my support for the change, with some comments on those posts:

Coco wrote:
For information you can use the left shift + click on the F6 move button to do the rename.
Or even a simple click on the file like in the explorer.

L-Shift + Click on F6 button is probably more annoying than Shift+F6 (for a keyboard user like me): right hand now has to use the mouse, and not for just a click, but now I also have to go to that F6 button. As I work with 22"+ screens, that may mean I'll have to move the mouse on a distance that may be longer than the size of my mouse pad, if my pointer was somewhere close to the upper corners of the screen. With screens getting bigger and bigger, I believe applications should avoid developing frequently used buttons all around their interface. Personally, the TC bottom buttons served me only as Info-reminders for very useful functions of my F-keys, in my first months of TC usage.

By "simple click" I guess you refer to the 2nd L-click. The problem with that, is that it can accidentally turn into a double-click. I had that happening a few times for some files which were opened by default by an image editor. Oh, the horror - I had to wait like minutes, until the application opened, loading all its extensions & stuff. What would be useful, instead of a 2nd L-click, would be a LClick+Hold (I actually ran into this thread browsing the forum to see if that was already suggested).

pdavit wrote:
If Christian we go down that road then a whole list of shortcuts must be changed. F5 for refreshing and not for copying and so on...

TC is a completely deferent and completely customizable (to some extend) tool so why bother?...

For this reason:
fabiochelly wrote:
I voted YES and I think it would be better for the beginners (many stop using TC a few minutes after trying it for stupid reasons like this one)

I know several tech-oriented guys (working in hardware and software support), who rejected TC because they mastered all secrets of Explorer, while TC made them uncomfortable, partly also because of the different hotkeys.

We shouldn't copy all hotkeys from Explorer, but it doesn't hurt to analyze sometimes which are the most needed functions, and "sacrifice" tradition for practicality.

I guess it depends on the user. I happen to need/use Rename quite frequently. And it was very annoying when I had to use the Click+wait+Click method, until I discovered the possibility to customize it. Strangely, I went intuitively for F2, even though I didn't know it was used in Explorer as well. I guess I went for it, after testing that "nothing" happens if I press it (I didn't know about its Refresh function, and I guess there was nothing to refresh), so I thought it was an unused key. It's only from this thread that I first found out what F2 is default for.

But while very much used in internet applications, Refresh is a function rarely needed in a file manager (again, depends on the user maybe). We don't need to move it to F5 - Copy is too frequently used to be changed, plus the bottom button will always remind the user what it stands for, to not confuse it with F5 in other applications. But we have other options:
- keep it F2, but only if no file is selected (e.g.: if we are on the root line, so we can click there or press Home, then F2)
- change it to a key combination of F2 and Shift, Ctrl or Alt (if not already used)
- if not already used, it could also be a combination of F5 and Shift, Ctrl or Alt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
TCFan404
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My opinion is that a 1 key refresh is great, I don't care which key is it as long as it exists, I can adapt, F11 & F12 has no use AFAIK, and F10 and F9 are kinda of the same as 'ALT' key in Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThiefMaster
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

F2 renaming and F5 refreshing would be great - it's pretty much the default on Windows systems.. not only in Explorer.
For example, all browsers etc. also use F5 to refresh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Robert Borkowski
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't care for F2 (only use Ctrl+R) as long as F5 is for copying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrizoo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ThiefMaster wrote:
F2 renaming and F5 refreshing would be great - it's pretty much the default on Windows systems.. not only in Explorer.
For example, all browsers etc. also use F5 to refresh.


agreed.
F2: renaming
F5: reload

this is standard Windows behaviour.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HolgerK
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 4804
Location: Europe, Aachen

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<Ctrl+R> to refresh a view is also a standard Window hotkey. Wink

Regards
Holger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chrizoo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HolgerK wrote:
<Ctrl+R> to refresh a view is also a standard Window hotkey.

yes, partially. But on quite a few applications CTRL+R is also the hotkey for REMOVE (i.e. delete). Example given: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mp3tag

Therefore CTRL+R contributes to confusion IMO.

(But as keys are configurable, the whole question is a non-issue anyway).


Last edited by chrizoo on Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nxqd3051990
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree on F2: rename , F5: refresh

I do know people use totalcmd like the old and legend move.
But the standard is just fine Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HolgerK
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 4804
Location: Europe, Aachen

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And F4 to edit the path?
Come-on guys!
This poll is about changing the default key for one single function and not about a complete different hotkey layout. Twisted Evil

Regards
Holger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2148

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What would likely be useful is a new type of Master-Hotkey, for the many related commands that get invoked when using modifier keys (Shift,Ctrl,Alt).

e.g. if F5 was internally assigned MasterHotkey status for Copy. Then if you assigned another key as the MasterHotkey Copy all the related Modifier key functions would get automatically assigned.

Off the top of my head, it's primarily the Function keys that are grouped as such.

I don't agree with changing the default, but if my proposed MasterHotkey was utilized it would make it very easy to repurpose any of the F-Keys or others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chrizoo
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Balderstrom, can you explain this by way of an example? Sounds interesting, but I'm not sure I understood what you meant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 9 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group