Page 1 of 2
[wish] copy/move without "nag"screen
Posted: 2009-04-13, 14:15 UTC
by schmock
when i add a button to the menu bar with the internal command copy/move, then there is no option to invoke these operations (by pushing the button) without being disturbed by this intermediate window that pops up:
Image:
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/622/clipboard1m.jpg
i would like to see an option to disable the window and be able to copy/move instantly.
cheers
Posted: 2009-04-14, 14:48 UTC
by Vochomurka
1) Create batch file (say, silcopy.bat):
2) Create TC button calling silcopy.bat (just by dragging this file to a button bar);
3) Specify parameters %P %N %T for this button.
4) Put the cursor on a file to be copied to another panel;
5) Press the new button;
6) Enjoy.
Posted: 2009-04-14, 14:56 UTC
by schmock
?
besides it doesnt work,
i dont want to use a workaround like the prompt for using a simple copying (and popping up a dosbox everytime, not showing progress etc.) but TC!
Posted: 2009-04-14, 16:14 UTC
by Vochomurka
It DOES work. Be careful and attentive. The button must be like this:
Command: c:\dir\silcopy.bat
Parameters: %P %N %T
Note the spaces between parameters. There must be three of them.
To shut down the DOS box, try using "ctty nul" and "ctty con" commands. Their use can depend on the operating system. In Win2K I have NO DOS windows at all with the above one line code.
Another way to solve your problem is a script. The algorithm is:
1) Run cm_Copy command by sending message to the TC window;
2) Find a handle of the "copy" window;
3) Find a handle of the OK button (child window);
4) Send a message to "press" the said button.
Good luck
Posted: 2009-04-14, 16:25 UTC
by schmock
Vochomurka wrote:
1) Run cm_Copy command by sending message to the TC window;
2) Find a handle of the "copy" window;
3) Find a handle of the OK button (child window);
4) Send a message to "press" the said button.
no idea how to do this.
Posted: 2009-04-14, 17:06 UTC
by Vochomurka
If my batch works, no need to write a script. If it does not,
there are some ideas about scripting...
Posted: 2009-04-14, 17:13 UTC
by schmock
thanks for trying to help, the batch does not work.
but anyway i want to see a progress bar in TC while copying so that would be useless anyway, right?
Posted: 2009-04-14, 17:57 UTC
by Vochomurka
No idea why it doesn't. Try adding to the batch code:
After running the batch the new a.rep file must appear in the source directory. Read this file to learn the failure cause.
Yes, you are right about progress bar. Although you can find many programs that create progress bars (also skinned). By the way, PowerPro can create a progress bar, too.
Posted: 2009-04-14, 19:21 UTC
by schmock
no thanks, this is not the solution i am looking for.
new programs for just disabling the copy/move window?
i wait until TC will have this option, still cant believe that it doesnt have it..
Posted: 2009-04-19, 17:23 UTC
by schmock
the same pls for the unpack dialog/window.
just push a button and the file(s) marked are unpacked to the same directory without need for intervention.
Posted: 2009-04-19, 19:14 UTC
by Vochomurka
It can be also programmed with both batch file and script, but all of them need to know:
1) full path to the packer;
2) key(s) the packer uses to extract files;
3) the same, to work with file lists (if it can).
It's easy to write a simple batch file like this:
Code: Select all
c:\packers\mypacker.exe %1%2 -e -l%3 %1
Button parameters are %P %N %L
DON'T USE THIS CODE DIRECTLY, REPLACE FILE NAMES AND PARAMETERS FIRST!
As to me, I find both these tasks futile because I prefer to use the mouse drag'n'drop.
Posted: 2009-04-19, 19:23 UTC
by schmock
Vochomurka wrote:As to me, I find both these tasks futile because I prefer to use the mouse drag'n'drop.
me too, but i am on a laptop and moving files via dragndrop when NC-behavior is enabled (RMB=select) you have to click both Mbuttons to get the move [-]. and moving is 99% of what i do vs copying. so not really easy on a notebook.
Posted: 2011-03-05, 16:05 UTC
by Pinger
hello
i just registerED to reply this topic
definitely i would like to see such a feature in total commander - the unstopable mode like in unspoppable copier program
i use total commander to move may files thru many drives (thru F2) - and the nag "and are you really want to move file with system attribute?" after three hours of my abset in home is jus t horror for me
please include unstoppable copy/move mode in TC

Posted: 2011-03-05, 21:01 UTC
by Balderstrom
@Pinger different issue I believe.
Config | Misc
[√] Overwriting/Deleting hidden/system files
Uncheck option.
Interestingly it only pops up the warning when you MOVE a file to overwrite a preexisting file. No such warning when you copy and overwrite...
Posted: 2011-07-23, 16:50 UTC
by schmock
2 years later..