QuickSearch eXtended

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Hacker, Stefan2, white, sheep

Post Reply
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: I use TextSearch plugin with QuickSearch Extended

Post by *Samuel » 2017-05-11, 23:22 UTC

qweewert wrote:I use TextSearch plugin with QuickSearch Extended
Why in branch mode plugin re caching on each symbol?
TC does not communicate much with the DLL tcmatch.dll which QuickSearch Extended implements. There is no nice way to detect folder changes. There is a simple rule: You get a file name and a filter text and you return match or no match. Currently I detect folder changes by comparing the folder 2 subsequent files are in. If there is a difference I assume a folder change. Each folder change triggers recaching wdx strings. (a feature to refresh the cache that otherwise would grow big and would probably be outdated)

I will consider a never forget option for the future.

AquaBall
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2014-03-26, 18:31 UTC

Re: AdditionalUserInterface without captions

Post by *AquaBall » 2017-05-14, 11:33 UTC

Samuel wrote:1) The not ("!") is intended to negate the whole search. "!jpg ma" means any file without "jpg" or without "ma".
To find "ma", but no Images you could try some ugly RegEx like: "?ma ([a-ik-z]..$|.[a-oq-z].$|..[a-fh-z]$)".
Oh, Goodness! I think I quit! :-) (though: THX)
Samuel wrote: 2) You need this arrow: Image: https://picload.org/image/rcpwpdrr/gui.png
Install seems didn't work properly. (I think some dll wasn't copied, even though TC installed automatically.) So all buttons were just empty.
After reinstalling (manually), the buttons did appear correctly. Problem solved.

Nevertheless your image is not the same as in the help-doc. (Which - in connection with empty buttons - confused me still more.)

AquaBall
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2014-03-26, 18:31 UTC

Little glitch with "abc" #or# "cde"

Post by *AquaBall » 2017-05-14, 11:57 UTC

(Just info. I can handle it, but maybe one can explane or change it.)

Serching for all "pdf" or "img" I should use "|" (=or) and type:

Code: Select all

pdf|img
But while typing it, only files including "pdf" appear. (Further nothing more changes.)

Workaround I'm using: (Strange, but true!)
      I have to delete and retype the last letter ("g"), so results appear as expected. (... all PDFs and IMGs)

(Same for 3 or more "|"-options.)

Is this a small bug?
(As told, I can handle it.)

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Little glitch with "abc" #or# "cde"

Post by *Samuel » 2017-05-14, 18:01 UTC

AquaBall wrote:But while typing it, only files including "pdf" appear. (Further nothing more changes.)

Is this a small bug?
Use the option "Allow input leading to empty results" in the options.
AquaBall wrote:Nevertheless your image is not the same as in the help-doc. (Which - in connection with empty buttons - confused me still more.)
You should refer to the option "show in one row" (the additional user interface).

AquaBall
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2014-03-26, 18:31 UTC

Re: Little glitch with "abc" #or# "cde"

Post by *AquaBall » 2017-05-16, 08:24 UTC

Samuel wrote:Use the option "Allow input leading to empty results" in the options.
Nice. Now its working. (After restart.)
But I'm not sure, if I like this option. Any typo needs to be watched.
Wheras other option shows me the "last valid string".
I think I like better my "editing procedure".

Though for "second" argument the option seems to be like "allways on".
I can't type "pdfffff", but I can type "jpg|pdfffffff"
And honestly: I don't understand, why this behaviour. (Might be difficult to implement?)

Samuel wrote: You should refer to the option "show in one row" (the additional user interface).
Ah! Thx!
Now it looks familiar.

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Little glitch with "abc" #or# "cde"

Post by *Samuel » 2017-05-16, 10:39 UTC

AquaBall wrote:Though for "second" argument the option seems to be like "always on".
I can't type "pdfffff", but I can type "jpg|pdfffffff"
With this option TC prevents the next char to be written if it leads to an empty search result. "pdff" is not found, so it prevents the input. However "jpg|pdff" results in all jpg files, so no need for TC to prevent input. This setting of TC was not meant to use or syntax.

AquaBall
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2014-03-26, 18:31 UTC

Post by *AquaBall » 2017-05-16, 17:16 UTC

The explanation seems reasonable ...
but not intuitive "right".

I would expect the same behavior on 2nd position as on 1st position.
(though I "understand" the explanation.)

If "pdfff" can't be typed on Pos 1, so I would appreciate it can't be typed in Pos 2 neither.

Nevermind.
I do not mean to criticise! (It's just a suggestion ;-) )
I like the tool and found my workaround.

#closed# (to me)

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Samuel » 2017-05-16, 18:31 UTC

AquaBall wrote:The explanation seems reasonable ...
but not intuitive "right".

It's just a suggestion ;-)
The limit is TC for now.

nrjohnstone
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-06-01, 07:34 UTC

Post by *nrjohnstone » 2017-06-01, 07:37 UTC

With regards to the hanging searches in Windows 10 Creator, I can confirm that for me the hanging disappeared once I set the gui to 0

[gui]
override_search=0

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Samuel » 2017-06-01, 07:45 UTC

nrjohnstone wrote:With regards to the hanging searches in Windows 10 Creator, I can confirm that for me the hanging disappeared once I set the gui to 0

[gui]
override_search=0
You can try if the update 2.2.6 solves it with GUI activated.

Olfert
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2006-05-17, 10:55 UTC

tcmatch.exe: "Could not close..." - possiple bug?

Post by *Olfert » 2017-10-10, 08:00 UTC

I keep getting this popup a lot when I run multiple instances of TC (v9.0a):
"tcmatch.exe: Could not close the previous instance of this script. Keep waiting?"
Image: http://i63.tinypic.com/2a0nkly.png

If I answer "ja/yes" it pops up again in a few seconds - if "nej/no" all seems to work ok, but I'm afraid something is not right...

Message from moderator

This and the next two posts were appended from the thread tcmatch.exe: "Could not close..." - possiple bug?

Hacker (Moderator)

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8109
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2017-10-10, 08:13 UTC

Well, tcmatch.exe is not a part of TC...

I suppose it is a part of QuickSearch eXtended so you should report this problem in that topic.

Olfert
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: 2006-05-17, 10:55 UTC

Post by *Olfert » 2017-10-10, 08:43 UTC

Oh I see ... some leftovers from a previous installation .... maybe it's time for a complete fresh install ;)
Thank You anyway :)

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2017-10-18, 09:59 UTC

Latest versions of QSX can crash TC if large part of text is being pasted (certainly twice) in Quick Search filter.

To reproduce:
0. My Quick Search is in Quick filter mode, not sure whether it's required.
My tcmatch.ini:

Code: Select all

[general]
simple_search_activate_char=
regex_search_activate_char=?
leven_search_activate_char=<
srch_activate_char=*
preset_activate_char=>
simple_search_match_beginning_activate_char=^
and_separator_char=" "
or_separator_char=|
wdx_separator_char=/
negate_char=!
case_sensitive=0
allow_empty_result=1
filter_files_and_folders=3
match_beginning=0
use_pinyin=0
use_korean=0
[wdx]
debug_output=1
wdx_cache=1000
[gui]
override_search=1
invert_result=0
one_line_gui=1
show_presets=1
1. I tried it in
\\\registry\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\
location. There's a note on Registry FS-plugin below.
2. Copy following to clipboard

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\InternetShortcut\CLSID]
@="{FBF23B40-E3F0-101B-8488-00AA003E56F8}"
3. Paste it into QuickSearch with QSX installed.
In previous QSX verions it crashed after ""{FBF" part pasted, but latest version seems to just stop pasting at "CLSID]" correctly.
4. Select all pasted text with Crtl+A.
5. Paste Clipboard content again, better by calling text field context menu Paste item, though it may also may crash with Ctrl+V. Following error appears:

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 9.10RC2
---------------------------
External exception E06D7363.
External exception E06D7363
Windows Vista SP2 6.0 (Build 6002), base: 00400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: E06D7363
Stack trace:
76D0FDB6
00427172  00466D12  00449BFA  0044A58E  00427172  00449B30
00427172  00449A86  00427172  0044A58E  00427172  00449B30
00427172  00449A86  00427172  00449BFA  0044A58E  00427172
00449B30  00427172  00449A86  00427172  0043645A  00449B30
00427172  0050E7A8  00427172  00449A86  00427172  0043645A
00449B30  0043640F  00436524  0044858D  004484C3  0044A942
0044A58E  >00427172  00449B30  00427172  00449A86  00427172
0043645A  00449B30  00427172  00449A86  00427172  0043645A
00449B30  00427172  0042C8F1  0042C98C  
Raw:
00449A86  005C0052  004C0041  00401491  00401F3B  00401F77
0040203E  0050C962  00449A86  00427172  0044A907  0044858D
0044A85D  00427172  004379CF  00466D12  00449BFA  0044A58E
0044A5B1  00427172  00449B30  00427172  005C0052  004C0041
00449A86  00427172  0044A907  0044858D  0044A85D  00449BFA
0044A58E  0044A5B1  00427172  00449B30  00427172  0044C037
005C0052  004C0041  00449A86  00427172  0044A907  0044858D
0044A85D  004393B6  00449B82  
Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Да   Нет   
---------------------------
Christian's explanation of stack trace:
Christian Ghisler wrote:According to the stack traces, it seems to be crashin inside MatchFileW call - which is in a quick search extension dll like QuickSearch Extended.
Note 1: this crash may also sometimes cause a subsequent crash of Registry FS-plugin:

Code: Select all

---------------------------
error
---------------------------
Crash in plugin Registry.wfx:
External exception E06D7363
---------------------------
ОК   Отмена   
---------------------------
Note 2: there is a constant and significat RAM usage rising goes when clipboard content of step 2 is being pasted to a plugin (and TC is filtering the panel after each new character appears in QS text field).
Note 3: all those RAM used after the string was pasted to QuickSearch isn't cleared if user then cleared the QS text field, and even after following panel refresh, so if TC didn't crash in step 3, there are good chances it will crash with some access violation even if shorter string will be pasted to QuickSearch text field next time.

P.S. Samuel, can you please update QSX on totalcmd.net? Microsoft is constantly updating OneDrive, so currently it's not possible to download QSX from it even using Google Chrome Frame for IE.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Brandenburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Samuel » 2017-10-22, 12:37 UTC

DrShark wrote:Latest versions of QSX can crash TC if large part of text is being pasted (certainly twice) in Quick Search filter.
Couldn't reproduce without the plugin. I do not see the use case.
QuickSearch Extended eventually tries to get file information to determine if it is a file or folder. It shouldn't try this when the path starts with "\". I can't imagine another reason for it to slow down the or take resources.
DrShark wrote:P.S. Samuel, can you please update QSX on totalcmd.net? Microsoft is constantly updating OneDrive, so currently it's not possible to download QSX from it even using Google Chrome Frame for IE.
Downloading worked fine in IE and FF here.

Post Reply