This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? 
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cannot modify install.inf - zip error returned
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:47 am    Post subject: Cannot modify install.inf - zip error returned Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm trying to modify install.inf - (inside latest exe - tcmd756a.exe) to my needs.
Using CTRL+pgdown - adding wincmd.ini + wincmd.key and modifying install.inf)

However repacking the exe-fil fails.


(Windows title - Error Creating ZIP!)

Error Text: ZIP file contains errors or has unknown format, cannot change!

Can anyone help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
white
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 2020
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tcmd756a.exe is digitally signed to ensure the software comes from Ghisler and to ensure the file is not tampered with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sure looks that way

Previously it was possible - Christian Ghisler himself gave the directions how to change install.inf inside the exe-file.

(Tried to post 2 links - but am not allowed - yet)

It was even possible in version 7.55 - where I was able to add my license-key, my wincmd.ini and edit the install.inf...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:
http://ghisler.fileburst.com/addons/sfxhead_installer.zip
2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
white
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 2020
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steyrs wrote:
It was even possible in version 7.55 - where I was able to add my license-key, my wincmd.ini and edit the install.inf...

Interesting. You can change:
tcmdr650.exe
tcmdr651.exe
tcmdr652.exe
tcmdr653.exe
tcmdr654.exe
tcmd654a.exe
tcmdr700.exe (unsigned version, originally released)
tcmd750.exe
tcmd750a.exe
tcmd755.exe
tcmd755a.exe

You cannot change:
tcmdr655.exe
tcmd655a.exe
tcmdr656.exe
tcmdr657.exe
tcmdr658.exe
tcmdr700.exe (signed version)
tcmdr701.exe
tcmdr702.exe
tcmd702a.exe
tcmdr703.exe
tcmdr704.exe
tcmd704a.exe
tcmd756.exe
tcmd756a.exe

Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christian wrote

Quote:
You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:
Link removed - cannot post yet
2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"


Excellent Christian - Thank you! I will try that.

White wrote:
Quote:

Interesting. You can change:
tcmdr650.exe
tcmdr651.exe
tcmdr652.exe
tcmdr653.exe
tcmdr654.exe
tcmd654a.exe
tcmdr700.exe (unsigned version, originally released)
tcmd750.exe
tcmd750a.exe
tcmd755.exe
tcmd755a.exe

You cannot change:
tcmdr655.exe
tcmd655a.exe
tcmdr656.exe
tcmdr657.exe
tcmdr658.exe
tcmdr700.exe (signed version)
tcmdr701.exe
tcmdr702.exe
tcmd702a.exe
tcmdr703.exe
tcmdr704.exe
tcmd704a.exe
tcmd756.exe
tcmd756a.exe

Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.


Thanx White - Nice list - great overview! Very Happy

Great forum by the way - quick answers, and great help
TC is one of the best tools ever - can't live without it - use it every single day!
_________________
Personal License: 109213


Last edited by steyrs on Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am    Post subject: Mission accomplished Reply with quote

I have now tried the suggestion from Christian.

Works perfectly (as expected) Wink

Thanx!
_________________
Personal License: 109213
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
white
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 2020
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

white wrote:
Unless you use an older version of TC (< TC 7). Then you can change all files.

Seems this issue has been raised before. See Cannot modify TC7 installation package. In that thread Christian Ghisler wrote:

ghisler(Author) wrote:
This happens because the EXE is signed (including the ZIP part). Changing the archive would break the signature, therefore it's not supported by TC.

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Signing an EXE patches the EXE headers with the offsets of the signature. You cannot use it unsigned any more.

However that does not explain why it does seem to work fine when using other programs or when using older TC versions. It also does not explain why current versions of TC can change certain digitally signed installation packages and others not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
steyrs
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

White wrote:

Quote:

However that does not explain why it does seem to work fine when using other programs or when using older TC versions. It also does not explain why current versions of TC can change certain digitally signed installation packages and others not.


You've got a point White!
Guess the only one who can really answer that is Christian..
_________________
Personal License: 109213
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubleingram
New Member
New Member


Joined: 21 Aug 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:45 am    Post subject: Plase provide an advise Reply with quote

I am sorry, but I don't get it, could you please decribe/explain how to do it (for stupid like me)? I need an unattended instalation, but the install.inf files cannot be simply edited, because of the package "signature".

Thank you in advance


ghisler(Author) wrote:
You need to:
1. Get the installer SFX EXE:

2. Unpack new sfxhead.sfx file to TC dir
3. Unpack the installer
4. Add your files
5. Create new ZIP with option "self-extracting"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

5a. before you click OK in the "pack" dialog, click on "configure". Then set the "Internal zip compression" to "other" and 0 (zero compression).

Why? The installer cannot actually unpack zip. Instead, it looks inside itself for the inf, cab etc. files and reads them uncompressed from itself.
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
piotrnawrocki
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have done everything as mentioned in the instruction and it doesn't work.
After the new exe file is created and I launch it UAC shows up, I click OK and then nothing happens. What may be the cause of this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 7.x installer uses a different method than the 8.5x installer. Which installer do you want to modify exactly?
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
piotrnawrocki
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use newest available 8.52 64-bit if I correctly remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 34726
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to follow the guide in the Wiki. Modifying the exe directly will not work because it is digitally signed.

http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php/How_to_make_installation_fully_automatic%3F
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> TC7.56(a)/7.57 bug reports (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH

Using phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group