This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Registry plugin: Bugs
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jvh
Member
Member


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2karapuz79

When I set the custom column "writedate" manually e.g. [=<fs>.writedate] there is no output to file window - field is still empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, right now I can only test on TC 7.03 and some of the statements below may not apply to latest TC, but:

2petermad
Have you tried using [=tc.Änderungsdatum] instead, same as TC does for default columns? Using <fs> one clearly does not work at all (no dates are shown in file panel) no matter what language is used (writedate or translated version).

2jvh
Even if you use [=<fs>.WhateverLanguageHere] the date column stays empty, so why are you using <fs> version at all?

Or you are talking only about the (menu item) / (column title) translation and do not care about actual dates?
_________________
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7767
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
2petermad
Have you tried using [=tc.Änderungsdatum] instead, same as TC does for default columns? Using <fs> one clearly does not work at all (no dates are shown in file panel) no matter what language is used (writedate or translated version).


I hadn't even noticed that the [=<fs>.writedate] column is empty in the file panel - so that is another bug.

The bug I am talking about is simply this:
1. Open the Registry "folder" in Network Neigbourhood.
2. Right-click on the column header bar.
3. Click on "Configure this custom columns view...".
4. Click on the [Add columns} button.
5. Click on the [+] button.
6. Click on <FS>
7. Now you see four options - when for example TC is run in German they are: Typ, Größe, writedate and Wert - this is the first part of the bug I am talking about - writedate should have been translated to Datum.
8. Click writedate and click <default> (<Voreinstellinung>)
9. The Caption field is now filled out with writedate it should have been Datum and the Field contents is filled out with [=<fs>.writedate] it should have been [=<fs>.Datum] - this is the second part of the bug.

And then of course [=<fs>.writedate] should be made to work - otherwise remove it - it is confusing with a column that doesn't work.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.20rc1 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b3 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jvh
Member
Member


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2karapuz79
Quote:
translation bug

I am working on Czech translation and I found the same problem as petermad - string "writedate" isn't translated.
File "Registry.lng" can be modified like this:
date=Datum 1 (refers to [=tc.writedate])
writedate=Datum 2 (refers to [=<fs>.writedate])

The translation then works but it is undocumented feature and I don't know if this does not affect any function of your plugin.

Quote:
Even if you use [=<fs>.WhateverLanguageHere] the date column stays empty, so why are you using <fs> version at all?

Well, because there is such possibility and it looks like a bug when the field stays empty.
I agree with petermad - if this field doesn't work it is better to remove it to avoid further misunderstandings. Or/and if it should show the same value as [=tc.writedate] than there is no need to have two same fields for the same value. Of course, removing "writedate" field solves also "translation bug".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karapuz79
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2012
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like a many year old issue, I will simply remove that custom field.
_________________
TC 8.01RC4 x64, Win7 x64 SP1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if the key have a "/" character the plugin not is able to export it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why i'm not able to view this key:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Capture
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 3350
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Why i'm not able to view this key:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\MMDevices\Audio\Capture

This key is available in the 64-bit registry only .

You have to enable the access at Properties of "Registry" plugin entry.
_________________
#5767 Personal license
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peter
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 1822
Location: Schweiz

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Win 10 x64, TC 8.52 32 bit, Plugin Registry 5.2 2012

I have problems with renaming keys - I get the message:

Code:
Error: Can not write to \\Registry\..\Parent-key-of-the key I want -to rename
The filename contains invalid characters or remove the write protection

But I can
- rename it with Regedit
- use the key with other software
- create new keys...
- modify, create, rename, ... all entries with the plugin

Only this one feature has problems. Can it be confirmed by another user?

Peter
_________________
TC 9.0a / #266191
Win 7 x64 / Win 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6044
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Peter
Well, it's likely that there are some invalid characters in the name of that key. You can try recording the action and its result with Process Monitor. Maybe that helps finding the culprit.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Peter
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 1822
Location: Schweiz

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
2Peter
...are some invalid characters in the name of that key....


Thanks Dalai
but it is not Sad - also after new installation.

I went to \\\Registry\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\

- F7 - create key "123"
- Shift+F6 - rename "123" to "123x": error . After error message the new, but empty key "123x" appears.
- Delete 123 and 123x - no problem.

Strange ....


EDIT:
Here is the extract from ProcMon, filtered to "Path contains 123":
Code:
RegOpenKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   Desired Access: Enumerate Sub Keys
RegSetInfoKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   KeySetInformationClass: KeySetHandleTagsInformation, Length: 0
RegCloseKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   
RegCreateKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123456789   SUCCESS   Desired Access: Read/Write, Disposition: REG_CREATED_NEW_KEY
RegOpenKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   Desired Access: Read/Write
RegCloseKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   
RegCloseKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123456789   SUCCESS   
RegOpenKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   Desired Access: Enumerate Sub Keys
RegSetInfoKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   KeySetInformationClass: KeySetHandleTagsInformation, Length: 0
RegCloseKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123   SUCCESS   
RegCreateKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123456789   SUCCESS   Desired Access: Read/Write, Disposition: REG_OPENED_EXISTING_KEY
RegCloseKey   HKCU\SOFTWARE\123456789   SUCCESS   

_________________
TC 9.0a / #266191
Win 7 x64 / Win 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 6044
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2Peter
That's a really strange problem you got there. Maybe some overprotective anti-virus software or internet security suite? You can also try starting with a new installation of this plugin, i.e. rename the existing plugin directory and reinstall it from the plugin archive. Maybe there's some errors in the plugin's settings file and/or language file; I remember that the plugin is quite touchy when it comes to its language files.

Regards
Dalai
_________________
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Peter
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 1822
Location: Schweiz

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dalai wrote:
2Peter
...Maybe some overprotective anti-virus software or internet security suite?...
Yes, maybe. The company uses G-data, and there were already some strange reports (alerts with no entry and so on ....)
I just stopped the anti-virus and used with English language - watching the dialogue it seems that it tries to move the "parent-key" of the key that I want to rename ...

Maybe it has problems with Win 10 - the plugin ist already some years old.

Thanks Dalai, I will have to live it...
_________________
TC 9.0a / #266191
Win 7 x64 / Win 10 x64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1111
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2karapuz79
The plugin crashes with following errors:
Code:
---------------------------
Total Commander 9.0a
---------------------------
Exception in registry.wfx:FsGetFileW!
Access violation at address 037E17A3. Write of address 0384D000
Windows Vista SP2 6.0 (Build 6002), base: 00400000

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
037E17A3
004532B8  004540A0  0045423E  0045402F  005A15D9  004532B8
004540A0  0045423E  0045402F  005A15D9  004026B8  >00448D51
00426AE0  0044983E  00426AE0  00448DE3  00426AE0  00402249
00417F38  00426AE0  0044983E  00426AE0  00448DE3  00426AE0
00402249  00417F38  00448D51  00426AE0  0044983E  00426AE0
00448DE3  00426AE0  00402249  00417F38  00448D51  00426AE0
0044983E  00426AE0  00448DE3  00426AE0  00402249  00417F38
00426AE0  0044983E  00426AE0  00448DE3  00426AE0  00402249
00417F38  00426AE0  0044983E  00426AE0  00448DE3  00426AE0
00402249  00417F38  0044052F 
Raw:
0042FFFE  0044005A  004532B8  004540A0  0045423E  0045402F
005A15D9  004065EB  005A16AE  005C0063  0042C254  004532B8
004540A0  0045423E  005A15D9  004065EB  005A1506  005F185D
0041E76F  0041E793  00450D60  00453805  004532B8  004540A0
0045423E  0045402F  005A15D9  004065EB  005A1506  005C0063
0053005A  005C0052  00450D60  00453805  00403707  004023EF
004532B8  004540A0  0045423E  0045402F 
Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Да   Нет   
---------------------------

and the following one:
Code:
---------------------------
Totalcmd tool
---------------------------
Access violation at address 76E69D69. Read of address 000DC35F.
---------------------------
ОК   
---------------------------
during the search in \\\registry\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\ for some word using Find Text option of Total Commander Find Files.
I've sent the additional details to support email mentioned in plugin ReadMe, the mail subject is Registry WFX error terminated separate search instance.

Reproduced using versions 5.0 and 5.2 of Registry plugin on 32-bit Vista.
_________________
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Plugins and addons: devel.+support (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group