clear history command

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Should there be a 'clear history command' to clear the history without editing wincmd.ini by hand?

Yes, it would be very useful.
68
73%
No, I'm glad that TC always remembers my commands etc.
12
13%
I don't know, but if it has to be optional.
13
14%
 
Total votes: 93

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

clear history command

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-04, 00:23 UTC

I made a feature request for a clear history comand and was forced to start a poll about it.

Sometimes I want to clear command line history as well as last searches and all tabs etc. e.g. when I want to create a new 'moveable' TC on CD (or USB STick etc.) or when I want to share my installation with a friend.

Now I have to open wincmd.ini and delete the entries in each section manually.

A cm_ClearHist could open a dialog with tickboxes for
- Commandline History
- Searchname
- SearchIn
- Searchtext
- Selection
- renameTemplates
- right path
- left path
- searches
- rename
- lefttabs
- righttabs

so one could select the sections to clear at once.

What do you think about it ?

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Clarification---

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-04, 00:43 UTC

2Sheepdog
:) Hi Stefan !
I don't know, but if it has to be optional.
• Hum… Rather : I don't know, but "Yes" if it has to be optional. ???

:mrgreen: FR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Clarification---

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-04, 01:00 UTC

2Claude
Clo wrote:
I don't know, but if it has to be optional.
• Hum… Rather : I don't know, but "Yes" if it has to be optional. ???
It was just my interpretation of "I don't care' because as a command can be used or not - it makes no sense to make it optional.

It was according to postings depending new features where always at least one says 'it has to be optional' :lol: .


greetings from Berlin

Stefan
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
robinsiebler
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 460
Joined: 2003-03-05, 21:04 UTC

Post by *robinsiebler » 2004-06-11, 17:48 UTC

I've been complaining about this for at least the past year or two.
Robin L. Siebler
Personal License #13949
------------------------------
"Bother", said Pooh, as he deleted Windows

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1968
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2004-06-29, 09:09 UTC

robinsiebler wrote:I've been complaining about this for at least the past year or two.
maybe a new Ultra tool can help you to get rid of this complaining forever 8)
no more details :lol: :lol: :lol: :wink:

Author of Ultra TC Editors

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

To complement that---

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-29, 16:05 UTC

2Sheepdog
:) Hello Stefan !
¤ To complement that feature, I thought that the actual command cm_ClearCmdLine might be changed, in order it removes really the current command-line contain from the list.
* A small dialog-box to confirm and an "Apply" button should do the trick.
* Isn't always necessary to clear the whole command-line historical, but only to remove some entries from it.

:mrgreen:  V G
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-07-08, 19:47 UTC

As long as @ghisler donsn't implement this feature you can use Ultra History Cleaner of ts4242.

Edit by mod, new URL: http://utceditors.totalcmd.net/ (thx to pol098 for notice)


sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1968
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2004-07-19, 10:02 UTC

Sheepdog wrote:As long as @ghisler donsn't implement this feature you can use Ultra History Cleaner of ts4242.


sheepdog
This is the correct link for my program :)

thank you

Author of Ultra TC Editors

Vatchy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2003-12-03, 19:37 UTC
Location: South Carolina, USA

Re: clear history command

Post by *Vatchy » 2005-01-12, 19:18 UTC

I think that that is a great idea - or you could just delete wincmd.ini and let TC recreate it. I like the idea of selecting what history needs to be deleted.
Sheepdog wrote:I made a feature request for a clear history comand and was forced to start a poll about it.
sheepdog
Whoever held that gun to your head to force you to start this poll ought to be shot! :lol:

User avatar
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 700
Joined: 2005-02-08, 22:59 UTC
Location: NL
Contact:

Post by *Sam_Zen » 2005-03-01, 03:35 UTC

I withdraw my vote for implementation in TC of the history cleaning.
This app of ts4242 does the job just fine. Also because it's a function that's not normally needed in a daily routine.

HAL 9000
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:05 UTC

Post by *HAL 9000 » 2009-10-20, 21:28 UTC

Hm, so many years ago, and nothing to find about a ClearHistory in the actual version of TC :-(

I'm just coming from WinCmd 5 to TC 7.5, and miss this feature! The WinCMD forget his history (Alt+Down) when you are closing the tool. But now, anything is saved. I think its a little work to implements a funktion with one Checkbox in the programm-options, which clear all historys after closing the prog. Isn't it? Please! :)

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom » 2009-10-20, 21:34 UTC

Yer prolly best off redirecting History items you don't want to be restored to their own .ini file.
Then use a .cmd/.bat file to start TC:
DEL "C:\Location\of\TCHistory.ini"
START "" "%ProgramFiles%\TotalCMD\TotalCMD.exe"
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.

User avatar
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 772
Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by *Vochomurka » 2009-10-21, 06:20 UTC

This "cleaning" can be easily done with any scripting language (PP, VBS, AHK...); no need to bother Mr Ghisler and to enlarge the application size. Voted for "No"

User avatar
Stance
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: 2005-03-29, 06:26 UTC

Post by *Stance » 2009-10-21, 13:06 UTC

Vochomurka wrote: no need to bother Mr Ghisler and to enlarge the application size.
In my opinion cleaning the MRU-Lists and wiping out the traces is a core-function of a File-Manager and shouldn't be transferred to a 3rd party program.

For the developer it means little work, but for some users is privacy the most precious good.

So I have voted for: Yes, it would be very useful.

User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom » 2009-10-21, 13:11 UTC

But the file size might get bigger, Stance, and 3 people using Win 3.1 might not be able to run total commander. File size of the binary is more important than features.

Post Reply