TC 8.0 beta 2: AV on Del when FTLed dirs size counted

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

TC 8.0 beta 2: AV on Del when FTLed dirs size counted

Post by *DrShark » 2015-11-05, 16:49 UTC

Original version of TC where the bug happened a long time ago is 8.0 beta 2. But I have to say that I can't currently reproduce the bug in TC 8.52a on some test set of files and folders, however since I don't have access to the environment where it appeared I can't be sure it has been fixed.

To reproduce:
1. Using Find files, find a lot of (hunderds, maybe thousands) of empty folders (not sure if they originally had empty subfolders).
2. Press Feed to listbox
3. Press Alt+Shift+Enter to count dirs size.
4. While size still counting, try to delete them
(I don't remember exact way of deleting, like pressing Del or Shift+Del or D&D to F8 button... so it may be a difference here)
5. Access violation appears:

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Total Commander 8.0Я2
---------------------------
Access violation at address 006854E0. Read of address 00000034.
Access violation at address 006854E0. Read of address 00000034
Windows Vista SP2 6.0 (Build 6002)

Please report this error to the Author, with a description
of what you were doing when this error occurred!

Windows exception: C0000005
Stack trace:
006854E0
4451E9  443B53  445F1A  445095  4235A4  4451E9
445B66  4235A4  445127  4235A4  637C28  443C15
445B66  >4235A4  445127  4235A4  428C70  428D08
6CD77F  
Raw:
5DDA7A  6B0071  445095  4235A4  4235A4  445095
4235A4  445EDF  443C15  445E35  435465  4451E9
443B53  445F1A  4463B9  443C15  445E35  425280
445095  4235A4  445EDF  443C15  445E35  435465
4451E9  445B66  445B89  4235A4  445127  4235A4
637C28  402E36  443C15  445E35  425280  4451E9
445B66  4235A4  4235A4  445127  4235A4  428C70
428D08  428EC2  6CD77F  
Press Ctrl+C to copy this report!
Continue execution?
---------------------------
Да   Нет   
---------------------------
I can't also remember if some custom columns had been present that time, like DirSizeCalc with OnDemand field.
So it's interesting to know, if it's possible to say from the error message, can or not this access violation be caused by plugin.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36425
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2015-11-09, 09:53 UTC

Could you post a report for TC 8.52a too, please?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1111
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Post by *DrShark » 2015-11-09, 14:01 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:Could you post a report for TC 8.52a too, please?
Done: http://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=43022
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Post Reply