This forum uses cookies. Click X button to hide this message. What is stored? / Privacy
Total Commander Forum Index Total Commander
Forum - Public Discussion and Support
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Your name on the title bar!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) Printable version
View previous topic :: View next topic  

What's your thought over having your name displayed on TC's title bar?
- I like it and I don't want to see any change whatsoever!
15%
 15%  [ 47 ]
- I don't like it at all; get rid of it!
14%
 14%  [ 44 ]
- The best approach is to make it optional/configurable.
45%
 45%  [ 136 ]
- I'm not a fan but I respect and understand the licensing implications.
9%
 9%  [ 28 ]
- I don't really care to be honest!
14%
 14%  [ 42 ]
- Other (please make a post)
1%
 1%  [ 3 ]
Total Votes : 300

Author Message
sekular
Member
Member


Joined: 02 Jul 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:32 pm    Post subject: Remove real name from title bar Reply with quote

Seriously.

I have brought this up before and so have many people before me. It is simply not acceptable to have such a massive data leak in the OS that you are using. I do not use my real name anywhere, but if i want to use totalcmd legitimately i am forced to have my real name in the title bar. For so many reasons this is a massive security problem.

I request that you remove the real name in the title bar at the next update.

There is no rational reason to have such a big data leak.

Why not replace it with the word "registered"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 2869
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:30 am    Post subject: Re: Remove real name from title bar Reply with quote

I would call this as a liitle bit paranoid Very Happy
I'm shure that your real name is stored on many places of your PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: Europa

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:51 am    Post subject: Re: Remove real name from title bar Reply with quote

sekular wrote:
Why not replace it with the word "registered"?


Please search the forum. There is the answer already posted often.




 
_________________
Begegnen sich zwei Erden, sagt die Eine zur Anderen: "Mir geht's echt schlecht. Ich habe Homo sapiens!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ghost Dog
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 Mar 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I vote for having an option to not have your name displayed all the time in the title bar.

I didn't think it would bother me, but it does. It is very annoying.

(Not to mention the fact that I have a "non-ASCII"/"UNICODE" name, so, technically, it isn't even my name I'm looking at right now, but hopefully Christian is working on it.)


Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guillaume
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2003
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just imagine the possibilities improving functionality if it could be customized Cool Embarassed
Quote:
TC^ - LeftPaneFolder | RightPaneFolder
(^ = running as Administrator, is is the case right now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
giulia
Member
Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2013
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi
i voted yes , but can i add my name only or another title to the in the title bar?
thanks
_________________
Total Commander 's lover
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Twilight
New Member
New Member


Joined: 25 Nov 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just made an account to share this.

The name in the title bar is the only reason I haven't registered Total Commander yet. It's just not an option having my real name on the screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sob
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 903

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you otherwise like and use the program, you can still do the right thing, send author some money, and then not use the licence key, if you hate seeing your name that much. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also register to the name of your company, institution, University etc. where you work or study...
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rilley
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Can I buy the license on company and the license to be registered as company but in the title bar to show different name?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 35455
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, just use the reseller/gift order page:
https://www.ghisler.com/resellkey.htm

Enter the end user in the fields at the bottom ,"Additional Information ", and the reseller address in the fields at the top, "Billing Information".
_________________
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rilley
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Thank you for your response.

I also want to ask, if I buy the license, it will also work with older versions of TC?

For example for 32bit Total commander versions:

8.52
7.04a

?

EDIT: After some research I found https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=49147&highlight=licence+license but I want to confirm

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
petermad
Power Member
Power Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 7665
Location: Valsted, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2rilley
The licence key was changed from 128 bytes to 1024 bytes in january 1997 from TC 3.01, but since then it has been unchanged.
_________________
#524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.12 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 64bit. TC 2.91b2 on Android 6.0

Get Extended Total Commander Menus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Total Commander Forum Index -> Total Commander Polls (English) All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Imprint/Impressum: This site is maintained by Ghisler Software GmbH
Privacy Policy | Datenschutzerklärung | Politique de Confidentialité

Using phpBB © phpBB Group